We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited all needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #387 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suited all needs”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on business for 3 nights in July. Got upgraded to executive room upon check-in, which was nice. Egle welcomed me pleasantly and processed my check-in efficiently.

The room was up to standard and had the usual amenities. However, what was strange was that the minibar was empty and there was a sign saying that if you want it stocked up you have to call. Not very convenient if you arrive late at night.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sway_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    1,202
    541
    158
    70
See reviews for
528
846
175
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very sadly first impressions are so crucial and can temper a whole experience. I say sadly because the receptionist who not only failed to smile, assist or offer help in any way was the introduction to what is a lovely looking reception area. This is the first time i have ever encountered a non helpful receptionist in a hotel and it was a contrast with the rest of the staff i encountered. This was followed by a sharp intake of breath for a £7+ small glass of wine. Yes I know it's London etc etc but really!
I attended a conference the following day and the conference suite was superb, a great setting, well resourced. It was a shame they ran out of food at the buffet...but the staff were very helpful and a chicken salad was made and appeared from the kitchen.
Overall, based on my experience I would chose a different place to stay, unfortunately largely based on first impressions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent visit and would love the opportunity to regain your faith in the hotel and discuss your stay in further detail. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional information regarding your stay. I do trust we can regain your confidence in the Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury soon. Once again, thank you for your comments and look forward to being of further assistance.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Great location - v handy for euston, lots of bars etc near bye and a nice walk to many of the London sights and attractions (covent garden, British museum etc)

Like many holiday inns nowadays though, the rooms are very tired; and at this HI also quite pokey. Having said all that, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the communal areas are nice.

On a final note - we stayed here using points; but apart from the obvious perk of free nights, I'm getting a bit fed up that being a platinum member at Holiday Inn doesn't get you much in the way of preferential treatment unlike, say, Marriott.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MancWelshJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What the pub itself perhaps may lack in stylish interiors, it more than makes up in convenience, welcoming staff and great atmosphere, particularly during events and especially during the current world cup. It occasionally becomes a bit of a friendly hub to socialise and watch matches for the German community in London, and often offers German snacks and dishes (cooked by Andreas, the excellent German chef, who is also in charge of the restaurant at HI) to go along with the theme. It's a friendly, relaxed place (and no, you definitely don't have to be German to enjoy football matches or other sports events on the big screen here) for a quiet after work drink or glass of wine outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to give great and impressive service to all our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations within Callaghans. It is always a great atmosphere in there and even more so during the World Cup. We hope you visit us again soon and once again thank you for the kind words of praise.

Kind regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very well situated for Euston and St Pancras and British Museum. Very helpful friendly staff. This is my second stay here. I have never had such fast service arranging a taxi. Really pleasant well appointed and clean rooms. Good buffet breakfast. Good midday and evening food. Good range of wines. Last time I stayed it was for a conference (last month) and the conference facilities here are excellent. This time also a conference but round the corner. Staff very helpful in giving me directions for where I wanted to go. Rather expensive but probably par for the course in this part of London for this standard of accommodation. Only real negative on both stays is the need to close the bedroom windows at night because of noise from people on the street. Will definitely stay again when i need to come to this area.

Room Tip: Any where there is less noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIBloomsburyTeam, Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 28 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your second stay here at the Holiday Inn Bloomsbury.

Friendly and attentive hotel staff, a great location and well maintained facilities make the Holiday Inn London-Bloomsbury the ideal base from which to work and play in the capital.

We are very proud of the efficient service and attentive attitude of our staff provide so I am delighted that this was displayed during your stay.

Please let us know that you would prefer a quieter room when booking in the future and we will do our utmost to accommodate you.

I hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Zoe Murray
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Bloomsbury is a fascinating part of London to stay in: multi-cultural and not far from the West End (Russel Square tube station is just around the corner). The staff at the hotel were all very welcoming and helpful, especially the concierge. The rooms are large but both rooms and bathrooms are in need of some tender, loving care. A particular source of annoyance was the absence of a refrigerator (we were in a standard room) though there had obviously been a refrigerator there at some stage. This smacked of cheapness. Also we had to pay for internet access, although I understand all Intercontinental Hotels of all brands will offer free Wi-fi from 1 July. Despite the negatives I would probably stay there again because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We take all our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the relevant head of department for further follow up action. Your feedback is important to us and will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,
Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
263 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Used ihg points. Good location for Russell Square underground and nearby shops. Bedroom larger than expected but tired. Bathroom needed renewal. Useless air con. Staff at reception took ages to check us in at 11:15pm when we were tired. Holiday inn seem not to be investing in renewing bedrooms and bathrooms which is a shame given we were once very loyal to the brand.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear HolidayGB,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club Members and writing us feedback. I am happy to hear that our location worked for your needs. On the other hand, please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the condition of the bathroom and the air conditioning system may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#335 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#421 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#64 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#293 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Property: Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#294 Family Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
#365 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing