We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful bed quality, poor sleep and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #387 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dreadful bed quality, poor sleep and poor service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I last stayed and reviewed this hotel in January 2014. On that occasion I had a dreadful nights sleep disturbed by noise. The hotel offered me a complimentary night stay to make up for the inconvenience I had encountered, however on several attempts to book in for my complimentary night I was told that I couldn't have the dates I had requested......in the end I gave up.
So when travelling back from holiday I thought I would give the Holiday Inn another go (paid) to see whether things had improved. They have not.
We arrived at 11.15pm after over 12 hours travelling to be given room 531. After getting up to our room, showering, unpacking and getting ready for a good nights sleep we encountered the comedy beds. The mattresses on both beds had springs on one side which had lost all their support. This was the side which people naturally sit on to watch the TV, dress etc but when you lay on the bed the sagging springs caused you to roll off the mattress. The only way to stay on the bed was to cling to the non-sagging side of the bed. Couple this with slamming doors throughout the night and once again we didn't have a good nights sleep.
When we checked out the next day our receptionist asked whether we had had a good stay. When I said we hadn't and explained the problem she went to fetch a Duty Manager. After about 5 minutes a man in a chefs jacket came to reception. He didn't introduce himself but just stood next to me. In the end I asked him whether he was the Duty Manager, which he was. I explained the problem again to which he looked puzzled and said he would have to find someone else. He disappeared into the back office and reappeared this time with the Front of House Manager. At this point the Duty Manager walked off. So now I explained all over again, this time to the Front of House Manager what the problem had been. To say that he was disinterested was the understatement of the year. When I asked him whether, having raised this issue they would not put other guests into this room until they had sorted the problem he grew quite sharp in tone and said that undoubtedly people were sorting the problem as we spoke. I can only sympathise with whoever got Room 531 that night as I doubt whether anything was done to replace the mattresses. He even took my email address and said he would update me on what they had done to sort the problem. Needless to say I am still waiting.
In the end he said he would refund us the cost of our breakfast. WHY??? There had not been anything wrong with our breakfast. So he took off £18 from our bill. Quite how he arrived at this figure is also a mystery as breakfast is £16.95 per person at the hotel. Had we stayed in a Premiere Inn we would have been refunded the cost of our room under their Good Night Guarantee. At least they have confidence in their product.
So, Holiday Inn Bloomsbury, once again you prove you are the bottom of the pile for a good nights sleep, service and quality. Obviously there is no quality checking on bed condition as part of the routine cleaning of the room and I can only assume they are more interested in taking the money than offering quality. I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorksRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMofHotel, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear YorksRob

I am so sorry to read your review, we normally get such great feedback regarding our hotel.

We have let you down and not dealt with it very well at all once you have presented us with the problem. We should have resolved this a lot better.

I really would like to welcome you back for stay and really look after you, it is so important that you have a great impression of not only our hotel but of Holiday Inn.

Could you contact me at matthew.beard@ihg.com as soon as possible so we can discuss it further.

I do look forward to speaking to you very soon.

Kind regards,

Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    1,215
    543
    159
    71
See reviews for
532
854
176
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rooms are a bit small, but the staff was very attentive.
The restaurant was just ok for dinner,but they have a fairly good breakfast.
The best part of this hotel is the location- it is near shopping, transportation and plenty of eating choices.
I would stay here again mainly for the location. Otherwise the hotel is average for London.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin bed room, they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hibl00msbury, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and for your constructive feedback. I am pleased to read you found the location good for visiting all local attractions, the hotel is situated perfectly for this. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury should your travels bring you back to London.

Kind regards,

Matthew Beard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Another weekend in another Holiday Inn! Friendly and relatively speedy check in. Room comfortable and clean. Hotel is a great location close to Russell Square Tube but within easy walking distance of Kings Cross, Euston or St Pancras. Easy walk to Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Oxford Street etc.
Quiet hotel and would return. We didn't use the restaurant but it looked quite nice! We didn't take breakfast in the hotel because, as always, you can get a better and cheaper breakfast a few hundred yards round the corner! The bar staff were efficient and friendly.
In our Queen bedded executive room there was air conditioning and water supplied as well as usual tea/coffee making facilities. As club members we were given Club biscuits when checking in......not sure what the point was.......and a 50% discount of one first drink in the restaurant. The room had just one robe and slippers which seemed a little inadequate for a room for two!

However, we had some quiet nights and enjoyed the location of the hotel and friendliness of the staff.

Tip: Within a few hundred yards of this hotel is the Brunswick Centre..... There are shops and some great places for breakfast. Breakfast for two in these places will likely cost less than a single breakfast in a hotel. We tried Giraffe, Carlucios and Patisserie Valerie........all great for breakfast we found.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel again for our wedding anniversary on a Superbreak package so we got breakfast in with the rate. The breakfast was fine if a little crowded in the restaurant but it was peak holiday time. It's a good place from which to access central London yet still stay in a relatively quiet spot but still have all the necessary shops and other facilities close at hand in the shopping centre adjacent to the hotel, i.e. Waitrose, chemists, restaurants, cafes, cash machine, newsagents, post office and even a hardware shop! The No 91 bus which passes the end of the road goes to Trafalgar Square which of course is within a short walking distance to Leicester Square, Piccadilly, Chinatown and Soho. The Russell Square tube station is just behind the hotel and gives a direct line to Kings Cross and Oxford Circus.
The room is typical Holiday Inn although the bathroom is small but then you don't go to London to live in the bathroom. I had the misfortune to suffer a split lip in an incident in the town and the night manager went out of his way to provide me with ice brought to the room to help reduce the swelling and couldn't do enough to help me. Mention must also be made of the excellent service provided by the desk staff, the concierge and Aleksandra behind the bar. All in all a Hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My partner and I decided to book a last minute weekend to London. I booked this hotel as I have always enjoyed staying in Holiday Inns and the room was a reasonable price compared to other hotels in the city. I had read mixed reviews on here but decided to go ahead as I have only had good experiences with Holiday Inns before. Upon arrival at hotel we dropped our bags off which were placed in the luggage store and then went to explore. We returned just after 2pm for check inn as advised by the hotel. Upon checking in we were told our room was not ready but we were given free drinks vouchers and told to relax in the bar. They told us someone would come and shout us when it was ready. They advised it should be no more than half an hour. We were quite pleased with the free drinks vouchers and went to the bar. Unfortunately at the bar, it took ages to get the drinks we asked for. My partner asked for a bitter shandy. The lady behind the bar put cider into a beer glad followed by like cordial. My partner tried to tell her that she had used cider instead of bitter. She understood and went to use the correct bar tap. She then continued putting lime cordial in with it. My partner told her a bitter shandy has lemonade and she insisted that the cordial was lemonade. My partner said it wasn't and she walked off and had to get someone else to serve us. He arrived and we got our drinks finally. We sat down and waited for 50 minutes. No one came to collect us to say our room was ready. I went up to reception again to ask and they said it was, but no one had came to tell us. We got our room keys and went to collect our bag from the luggage hold. We handed our ticket over to the concierge who went and checked. He emerged 2 mins later asking us what our case looked like. We were quite worried by this but he did locate it in the end. We went to our room and it was smaller than expected but I didn't mind as it is a busy London hotel. I took my shoes off only to find the carpet was wet. I looked down and there was a large wet patch on the floor, covering the main part
of the room where we would be
walking. I rang reception and explained and they said they would send someone up to look at it. A member of housekeeping came in and felt the floor... He said that someone had obviously used too much water on it. He then dried it with a hairdryer. Even though it was dry, the outline was still there the next morning so I am not convinced it was all water. When we checked out we got asked how our stay was. We told them about some of the issues and we got a 'sorry' before paying the bill. I am quite disappointed with this particular stay. It's a shame because it's in a fab location so could be a brilliant hotel. It's 2 minutes from the underground and a tesco express. It took us only a 15 min walk to get to covent garden, which is a straight route and it's so easy to get to from Euston station. The breakfast was also good. Unfortunately on this occasion the room and the service were just not as good as I expected.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotteruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Charlotteruss,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that the breakfast served during your stay lived up to your expectations. On the other hand, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Warm and friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and a good breakfast; all you need from a London hotel.
My advise book a twin room - our teenage children had a significantly larger twin room than our double! plus they loved the 'cook your own pancakes' choice for breakfast, one of a wide range of items on offer in the self service restaurant,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, good twin room, clean, comfortable, quiet. Tea making facilities, no fridge. Free toiletries. Daily room service. Excellent breakfast. Staff efficient, friendly and helpful. Good location. 10 minutes walk to Kings Cross. Few minutes to Russell Square underground station.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KatefromInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#344 of 1,067 in London
2,063 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,022 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,067 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,067 in London
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Property: Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#294 Family Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
#365 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing