We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince William Hotel
Ranked #783 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment, please don't waste your money on staying here.The room that we were allocated was tiny, filthy and cold (this may have been due to the MASSIVE HOLE in the window which was cover up by a plastic wallet).The furniture was broken and falling apart, the table in our room was being held together by a piece of sellotape! There was hair in the shower and sink and to top this off the hot water tap did not work.The conditions of this hotel were so appalling, hence we decided to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    136
    170
    87
    150
See reviews for
86
207
60
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
s'Gravenhage
Level Contributor
224 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Walking into this neighborhood I thought wow.....but arriving at the hotel was a disappointment. It looks old and rundown. The room was very small with just a bed and a tiny table, that's it. Although it was clean everything seemed held together by duct tape and nails. Smallest bathroom I ever saw, bumping your elbows while washing your hair. The breakfast area was literally falling apart, breakfast was toast, jam and a bit of cheese. The drinks were instant coffee and lemonade. The room was against the elevator shaft, lying in bed my head was half a meter away from it. I didn't sleep well with all the noise of the elevator, people talking and lugging suitcases. I won't go back there but if you can't be bothered with comfort and decent standards then this is a cheap location in a good area of London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna630_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel room was very tiny (even for a European hotel room). There was no AC and the fan they gave us was about 6-inch diameter. There were only two working plugs in the room (and one was for the tiny fan), the others were broken/cracked or didn't work. The beds were awful (basically just springs). I put my backpack down on the bed when we got into the room and the whole bed sagged. The light in the bathroom was a heat-light so it added to the heat of the room and lack of ventilation and moving air. We were on the 2nd floor and the lift was broken...so we had to carry our luggage up the hot, narrow, steep steps inside the hotel. Won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is located in one of the nicest areas of London. It is very close to Paddington station ( Zone 1). The rooms are small and not fancy at all.The lift was not working, and we had to carry our luggage to our rooms on the third floor! But if you are planning to stay in the city center and are looking for budget accommodation- this is a good option. The breakfast is so-so.

There are many restaurants/ cafes close to the hotel.The restaurant serving Indian food- right opposite this hotel serves amazing Butter Chicken!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmrutaTilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Absolutely atrocious. I know you get what you pay for (£76 in my case for a single en-suite), but these guys push it to the max, take your money and run away screaming with laughter.

To name but a few things:

* no working lift, a room on the fifth floor and two EXTREMELY heavy suitcases. The unhelpful and surly guy at reception obviously didn't want to give me a hand, not that that made me stop him.
* a shower where the head is immovable and pointed at the side wall rather than the back wall, and where the water filled the tray up to my ankles.
* no hot water in the sink basin and no plug.
* window in the bedroom didn't stay open...on the hottest weekend of the year...great.
* breakfast at 8am on a Sunday when I needed to leave for work at 7.45am...although I can only imagine what hell that would have been anyway!
* one thin pillow with another in the wardrobe with no pillowcase on it.
* one plug point...choose what to use - TV, phone charger, kettle, etc but one at a time.

The one small saving grace was the nice guy who helped me down the stairs with my bags on Sunday morning, other than that I have nothing good to say about this place...keep searching or you will most certainly be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonbeam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Prince William Hotel is a typical small hotel which has been built in an old London town house. Rooms are small and funny shapes and lift may be rickety or not there at all (or not working). We got lucky. Our room was on 4th floor, at the end of the corridor, and lift was working. The room was basic but adequate. Wooden floor was a big plus, water pressure in shower was ok and water was hot enough. Bed linen and towels were clean and changed a couple of times during our 5 night stay. New mattresses would be a big improvement, though...

People at reception and in breakfast room were friendly.

Our room faced the street and as it was quite hot we had to keep the window open during the night. There was quite a lot street noise (ambulance sirens all through the night). The noise didn't wake me but being awake I listened it for a long while and I can well imagine it might disturb light sleepers. We hardly heard anything from corridor or from other rooms.

Breakfast was basic (continental) but we knew that in advance so it was quite ok. The English custom of having tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms is really nice. There are quite many restaurants (Lebanese, Indian, Italian, KFC etc.), several pubs and small shops near the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room near end of corridor, room number ending with 3, 4 or 5. Avoid rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Modest but adequate. Staff friendly & helpful. Breakfast O.K. considering average English prices.
Easy walk to Paddington Station where you can take express train to Heathrow.
Wonderful Indian restaurant directly across street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meryl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Eagle Hotel
#829 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#202 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#728 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#543 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Elysee Hotel
#585 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince William Hotel

Property: Prince William Hotel
Address: 42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #783 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince William Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-century corner period-listed building that combines Victorian and modern design, with all our 49 rooms fully refurbished. Just a few minutes' walk from Paddington tube and train station (with an express service to Heathrow airport), we are less than 5 minutes' walk from Hyde Park and just 2 miles from Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince William
Prince William London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing