We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nye break”
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley House
Ranked #816 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 20 January 2014

rooms clean staff friendly breakfast great clean towels daily and rooms cleaned daily the rooms are very hot which somtimes proves difficult when you are drying your hair then straightening its very frustrating like being abroad wth out aircon as our room 301 was so so small by but it was central to every were so would stay again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ericahigginsbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed as a young couple for 3 nights just before Christmas.

On arrival the man on reception said we hadn't paid, we had and questioned him. He quickly checked and was apologetic, an easy mistake however just something to watch.

The rooms are very basic and clean. We had fresh towels and the room tidied every day. Didn't use the Wifi but our television would only show one channel and even then the signal was blurry.

Rooms were very warm but this was ok seen as it was so cold outside.

The shower was not good at all; either boiling hot or freezing cold - had to be very quick.

Breakfast is included and great value for a budget hotel. Staff were quick and helpful. Warning the breakfast room is tiny!

The location is great, we did all the London sight seeing and tourist attractions by foot each day.

The walls are very thin so you can hear people walking around etc. At night however the hotel seemed to be quiet so there were no problems sleeping.

There was no hold room for our luggage - another man on reception said we could leave it in the waiting room for the day but as it was going to be for 10 hours roughly we paid for the Excess Baggage service at Victoria Station which was very straightforward and not too expensive.

If you just want somewhere to crash each night in the centre of London then this hotel is recommended. Unless we could find another hotel with a cheap price in a great location we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAMANTHAandMITCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were only staying in London the one night, and this place was in a good location, just down from Victoria station. The room we were staying in was like a sauna it was so boiling hot! But it was kind of nice seeing as it was so cold outside. The hotel had free wifi, and included a basic breakfast in the morning which was good. It was very basic, the room was small and the bathroom didn't have towels, but for what we paid it was fine for the one night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gera_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Me and 3 friends stayed in a room for 4 on new years eve 2013/14. The room was basic but very clean. This is not a posh hotel and doesn't try to be. We used it as a base to leave our things and to sleep. We couldn't of asked for much more for what we paid and what we wanted, and with breakfast included, it was fantastic value for money. The central location was ideal for us to see the new year in on the embankment. Only a 5 minute walk from from Victoria station. All 4 of us said we would use the hotel again next time we stay in London. Many thanks to the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjak239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I have been 5 nights in this hotel and everything has been perfect. It's a little bit outdated, but perfectly clean and staff is very helpness and friendly. Full english breakfast is very good.
We have been in a few hotels in the same street, including a few ones of more stars, and Stanley House is without a doubt the best for its price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Juan Antonio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank E. O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#673 of 1,081 in London
533 reviews
Pimlico
easyHotel London Victoria
easyHotel London Victoria
#774 of 1,081 in London
2,146 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#913 of 1,081 in London
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#619 of 1,081 in London
299 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#637 of 1,081 in London
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: 19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #816 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £65 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanley House 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing