We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley Mouse Hotel!”
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley House
Ranked #805 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The room was very small so I suggest this hotel only for few days. The breakfast was not bad. Also the position is a good one, just 10 minutes walking from victoria station. Maybe I'll come back there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank freegene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel is well located for Victoria, my main need. It is all very tired, carpets very old, edge of the bed well worn, mismatched cheap furniture, etc. But it was fairly clean. Single glazing means London noise is not kept out. Breakfast was simple, but quickly served and OK. For £50 I didn't really expect more, so I am not complaining here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank simoncbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

To sum up:
For 320GBP for 4 days in a tripleroom, it really isn't value for money considering the total experience. My tip: Invest a few pounds more and be more comfortable.

Straight to the main points:
- The breakfast which is included, really isn't that good. You get a sausage, which I tested the first morning and never again, a fried egg which is okey, some tomato beans and some toasted bread which after 2 minutes falls together and turns to something that reminds of chewing gum. The jelly is the usual stuff with mostly sugar and a little bit berries. You'll get a cup of coffee or tea as well. But beware, breakfast is included in the price, but it really isn't that good.
- Free WiFi. It was unstable and slow.
- The room. We were a bit early when we checked in, so I forgive that the cleaners didn't make the room ready just yet. But when I asked the receptionist he said the cleaning lady would be fixing the room shortly. We went out for at least 2-3 hours, but when we came back there was still trash on the floor and evidence that somebody had been sleeping in the third bed. As we just were two persons in the room we used the doublebed and didn't do anything about it. But the bathroom was not cleaned either until roomservice the next day.
- The bathroom. I have heard that hotels in London are worse than other major european cities. The bathroom was cold. It had all the elementary facilities in order (hot water, shower, toilet and sink), but it was not nice at all. Not specially clean either like many others users have described.
- The general design of the interior. As I mentioned earlier, if you have low expectations and really do not care if the hotel is cosy and gives you a homey feel, then this works. The hotel is kind of shabby and needs an upgrade.

On the plusside: The location is premium. Couple of minutes from Victoria st. was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocborgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stanley House has an excellent location, just few blocks from Victoria station, and we were able to reach most sights by foot: Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Trafalgar Square, Oxford Street, V&A Museum, Harrods and many more. Our room was very small, and it had just one 120cm bed with two pillows and ONE blanket for two persons. Walls were thin, and carpet seemed old, but what can you expect with this low rate. Didn't like the english breakfast downstairs so went there only once. However can recommend this hotel as it was clean and easy to reach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room Tip: Room was suitable for me and my family. I recommend the Stanley Hotel for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Beata H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#670 of 1,081 in London
532 reviews
Pimlico
easyHotel London Victoria
easyHotel London Victoria
#775 of 1,081 in London
2,145 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#913 of 1,081 in London
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#622 of 1,081 in London
299 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#639 of 1,081 in London
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: 19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £65 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanley House 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing