We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with basic stay”
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley House
Ranked #805 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you are looking for budget room but located strategically, you may choose Stanley House hotel. The room is very basic with comfortable bed but extremely small bathroom. Do not expect for luxury stay for the price you are paying.

We do not mind since we spend most of our time outside hotel where it's very convenience to walk around and with many famous restaurant around the area. There are convenient store right opposite the hotel and Saint Bury behind the street.

Wifi is fast and breakfast provided is basic.

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel, travel light or you shall request for room at ground or first floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank TNW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Stanley House for four nights in May. Based on the reviews we did not expect anything luxurious and when arrived, we were positively surprised. We lived on the top floor and had not problem with the stairs. The room and the bathroom were small, but big enough for our needs. We had no neighbors during our stay, could hear just outside traffic, but it did not bother us so much. We did not try their breakfast, as we did not want to wait in a line for free table down there. We rather went to Costa café at the railway station. All in all, I would say that this is very well located place and for that money we would stay there again when visiting London next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First time, second week of May, was given a quiet small room with shower over
bath tub. One double bed close to radiator..extremely warm at all times. The
room was clean, plenty of closet and storage space. First floor. Good English breakfast. Second time, last week of May, was given a large room with shower and right on street. Window did not have lock, and felt a bit uneasy. Little noisy, but extremely clean with two beds, one double, and one single. Comfortable air (with window open). Some heat which was needed on the rainy days. Management
most helpful and friendly. Only ten minute walk to tubes, trains and buses.
Recommend Stanley House to the budget travelers.

Room Tip: Credit card machine was broken..had to pay cash for room. No a/c so room gets a bit on the warm side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Room Tip: Room 4 is quiet, windows to smaller street, rooms 5&6 have own balcony and facing to Belgrave Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank AnneMari2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

ideal if you are just staying for 1 night or are a solo traveller. Staff are very helpful & friendly, the complimentary breakfast is ok. I do not recommend this Hotel if you have mobility problems as there are a lot of stairs & no lift or porter. The rooms are very tired & dusty & there is a lot of creaking floor boards & pipes making a noise etc. paper thin walls, There is also plug sockets loose & quite dangerous & the shower is laughably small (and I'm only 5ft 6") & the shower head did not work properly. on the plus side The bed was clean, if a little creaky & most importantly Bed Bug Free! it is very near Victoria tube/train & bus station. There is free wi fi & there is a very good selection of tv /sky channels. It is also good value (£57 per couple per night in may 2014) All in all its ok for the budget traveller but not recommended for older people or romantic couples

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfpuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am not sure who rated this before we stayed here but please avoid at all costs. The first room we were given smelled of sewage. At first they went going to allow us to change rooms but I was persistent. There is no elevator so we had to drag our bags up 3 flights of stairs. The room we were finally given had a broken window, stains in the shower, holes in the wall, among other things. We didn't even sleep on the sheets. When I asked for an extra towel, I was given a hard time. There was NO hot water no matter what time of day it was. This is a convenient location strictly for its proximity to Victoria station but that is the only decent thing about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catsai2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#670 of 1,081 in London
531 reviews
Pimlico
easyHotel London Victoria
easyHotel London Victoria
#775 of 1,081 in London
2,145 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#913 of 1,081 in London
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#622 of 1,081 in London
299 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#639 of 1,081 in London
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: 19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £65 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanley House 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing