We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #503 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but small”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent location but miniscule rooms. I had a double room on the top floor. It was clean and comfortable but so small you had to crawl over the bed rather than walk around it and it was claustrophobic. There was no bath, only a shower. Wifi was available at an extra charge. The TV had basic channels plus some films at an extra charge. Despite the fact that they knew I was staying with a young child it came on straightaway to a porn channel. Continental breakfast was average, leathery toast and wet ham. There was a fruit platter which was pretty much empty when I arrived at 7:30am. Next time I wouldn't bother with breakfast, it wasn't worth the money, but I would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    307
    144
    82
    43
See reviews for
113
263
55
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Plus sides: excellent location, very quiet setting opposite a lovely private garden, loads of sights around (Royal Albert Hall, museums, ...), tube station nearby, nice toiletries.

Negative sides: I had a single room so small it was almost silly! Grouting in bathroom was aged & no very nice. The cleaning people did not turn up to the room until 3 pm ... at which point I was back in the room. What on earth? Breakfast was so-so; the staff forgot to bring our toast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellebretagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickM_GH, Public Relations Manager at Grange Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Bellebretagne,

Thank you are choosing to stay with us on your recent trip.

I am sorry to hear that we did not fully satisfy your expectations. We have sent you a private message and would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our group when you next return to London.
I was pleased to read your positive comments regarding the hotel, its location and our toiletries; which are bespoke to Grange Hotels, using only natural oils and are paraben free.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

With kind regards,

PatrickM

Digital Communications Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is an excellent little find and could easily be missed. It is very inkeeping with its history, previously being the home of the Earl of Strathmore!

As you can imagine this gives it a certain character so if you want modern this is not for you. This being said the hotel has undergone a very tastful refurbishment, Its been done very well.

It is a very good cost level for what you get and I would thoroughlt recomend. I have recomended to a colleague and he now wont stay anywhere else which probably says it all.

I have read some negative comments on noise and size of rooms, this is London!! It never sleeps and size is money, so if you want a quiet large room you need to go elsewhere or go VERY EXPENSIVE!

Room Tip: Probably go for the higher side as will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

helped me out with a very fair deal for a last minute booking. staff very freindly and heplful,location perfect for the albert hall,museums etc,comfortable and spotlessly clean room.
how a hotel should be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 156mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Allocated room wasn't ready when we arrived at about 2.30pm, however we were given a family room straight away instead which was more than enough room for us both. Lovely and clean room and bathroom. For a family room there was only a small wardrobe with 10 hangers. In the bathroom there was hardly any room to put our toiletries around the sink. No Wi-Fi in room.
The hotel is in a good position very close to Gloucester Road tube station and the Jubilee line. Best to get an all day ticket for £7.30 each which lets you travel on the tubes or buses within wide zone 1 & 2. Walking distance to the Royal Albert Hall and even Harrods if you feel energetic.
Continental breakfast was provided in our booking, but you can have a cooked breakfast if you wish for £6 extra.
Overall lovely looking hotel, very nice and clean, with attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJHStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice looking hotel, apparently the former London residence of the Earl of Strathmore.Within a 2 min walk of Gloucester road underground station, so really handy.
I drew the short straw in getting a TINY single room - so tiny, it was impossible to sit straight on the loo - how tiny is that ??? Beautifully furnished, but I have honestly never stayed in such a small room.
English breakfast was included and this was fine.
The noise from the nearby main road was loud, despite asking for a quiet room.

Room Tip: 1. Don't get a single room 2. Get a quiet room away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickM_GH, Public Relations Manager at Grange Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Ceb346,

I am sorry to read your comments regarding your guest room. Our rooms do vary in size due to the nature of the building; however after recently refurbishing the hotel, all of our rooms are decorated and furnished to the same high standards.

The hotel is situated on a very quiet street with three aspects: on a one-way residential street facing private gardens and another overlooking a private mews. We are sorry if your considered the location to be noisy.

Thank for sharing your comments with us and we do hope to see you back again soon.

With kind regards,

PatrickM
Digital Communications Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is in a great position. Royal Albert Hall, underground stations and museums are all just a few minutes walk away. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room on the first floor was tastefully decorated and had a lovely modern bathroom. Room was spotlessly clean.Our room was a good size especially for a london hotel. The bar food was good and really well priced but there are also several restaurants and cafés just a short walk away.The hotels location just off a busy road means it's a nice quiet sanctuary from the hustle and bustle. Will definately return when seeing bands at Albert hall and have recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: First floor room on the corner had a duel aspect which made it light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#484 of 1,067 in London
629 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#623 of 1,067 in London
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#361 of 1,067 in London
957 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#394 of 1,067 in London
546 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#364 of 1,067 in London
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing