We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good London hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #510 of 1,088 Hotels in London
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good London hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night with work colleagues and it was very pleasant. Fantastic old room in great taste, the bar was a lovely room but slow service. Room was adequate with a very comfortable bed but the shower could have done with an upgrade. Solid breakfast options were available.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank haggisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    300
    139
    82
    43
See reviews for
112
256
55
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for one night on 5 July 2013. We went to the Bob Jovi gig at Hyde Park.

The hotel was found through a popular hotel search engine and we paid £100 about 2 months in advance for a 'superior double' room.The bathroom was modern and comfortable. The bed was comfortable with flat screen TV on the wall. The hotel is in a great location. The lobby and reception as grand and clean. Remember to have a credit card handy on check in (even if you have paid in advance!).

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_J90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Upscale hotel, attention to detail, continental or cooked breakfast. Central location, a Sainsbury's 10 minutes' walk away. Competent staff, especially visible in the dining area (well-staffed, change tablecloth after every guest). Sumptuous buffet with a wide selection of good jams, a bit narrower on the savoury angle. Interior pleasant and cozy, but the room and bathroom very small. Clean, well-maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nostramadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed here last weekend to see a show and do some shopping.

Hotel is conveniently situated just a couple of blocks from Gloucester Road tube station; 2 minute walk to the Natural History Museum and Victoria & Albert Museum and about a 15 minute slow walk into the heart of Knightsbridge with Harrods & Harvey Nichols.

Staff were fantastic! Rooms were surprisingly spacious and well kitted out for such an old building and the food was great - so was the room rate.

Can't fault it and will definitely stary here agin the next time we're in London rather than the large chain hotels that we used to frequent.......Hilton - take note!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 515...top floor but a tiny lift (elevator) so don't bring huge bags or you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warthog4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

It must be close to 20 years that I keep returning to this hotel. I love the location and the atmosphere of the place. The food in the restaurant is actually very good and the breakfast or afternoon tea, simply pleasant! I often start the day with a walk in the park and find the hotel greatly located both for shopping and sightseeing. Smallest rooms are cheap and bigger ones cost more, one can pick. I don't mind the small rooms, it's somehow just London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunvorM-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Room 007 (yes 007) was in the basement and very, very small. Too small for two people, could not get into bathroom if the very tiny cupboard door was open. No hanging space in the wardrobe whatsoever, breakfast was ok, but only two pots of milk in our room, until I requested more by way of leaving a note on the bed, as reception failed to act on my request, we then had at least 12 pots?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 315bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickM_GH, Public Relations Manager at Grange Strathmore Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear 315bob,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for any shortcomings in the level of service we provided to you on your recent visit. I have sent you a private message and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

PatrickM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent location but miniscule rooms. I had a double room on the top floor. It was clean and comfortable but so small you had to crawl over the bed rather than walk around it and it was claustrophobic. There was no bath, only a shower. Wifi was available at an extra charge. The TV had basic channels plus some films at an extra charge. Despite the fact that they knew I was staying with a young child it came on straightaway to a porn channel. Continental breakfast was average, leathery toast and wet ham. There was a fruit platter which was pretty much empty when I arrived at 7:30am. Next time I wouldn't bother with breakfast, it wasn't worth the money, but I would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#419 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#427 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#345 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#597 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing