We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A three star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #504 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely building, reasonable hotel conversion. Stayed 7 nights, first night in a tiny room, too cramped for us so we were kindly relocated to a more spacious basement room, one with a wardrobe and a sofa. Between 4 and 5am the laundry truck "dropped" the laundry bags over the fence onto the basement ground with loud thuds, so consequently no alarm clock needed. They only had to be told once, but that's not my job! The air conditioning was not good (yes it's winter but a/c was required) until one of the concierge staff kindly "cleaned the filter!" I expect a four star hotel to have face cloths/flannels in the bathrooms and only a small thing but I had to ask housekeeping for tissues. Breakfast was included, but after two attempts we chose a 1000 x better breakfast at Garfunkels near the tube station. Definitely a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomBailey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Only about 3 minutes walk fom the nearest underground station (Gloucester Road), the Grange Strathmore has a charming welcoming atmosphere and staff who are a credit to both their employers and the hospitality industry.

All things considered, my stay there was not only relaxing, but also exceptional value for money.

I look forward to my next visit.

Stuart F

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is a smaller one in The Grange Hotel chain but I prefer it.
The staff are exceptional and very welcoming, the rooms are very spacious & clean.
We went to a concert in Earls Court, you can get the tube - one stop away or walk along the A4 which is what we did on our return.
The food was good, atmoshphere very nice, relaxing hotel. Full of history and beautiful paintings. Quite a stately hotel.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: No noise from main roads, all rooms are good. Great nights sleep & blackout curtains are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manhattan2Bracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The location at hotel is perfect, Near by have a undergroud station - Glouchester road and south kensington. The hotel is good, but rooms are small, wi-fi connections is chargable and no safes at the rooms. Generally breakfast is delicious and тhe hotel staff was courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had a wonderful stay from start to finish. Staff were superb from the moment we arrived, they couldn't be more helpful. Lovely location, lovely building, lovely breakfast and beautiful room. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UglyBettyUK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night with work colleagues and it was very pleasant. Fantastic old room in great taste, the bar was a lovely room but slow service. Room was adequate with a very comfortable bed but the shower could have done with an upgrade. Solid breakfast options were available.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank haggisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for one night on 5 July 2013. We went to the Bob Jovi gig at Hyde Park.

The hotel was found through a popular hotel search engine and we paid £100 about 2 months in advance for a 'superior double' room.The bathroom was modern and comfortable. The bed was comfortable with flat screen TV on the wall. The hotel is in a great location. The lobby and reception as grand and clean. Remember to have a credit card handy on check in (even if you have paid in advance!).

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen_J90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#376 of 1,077 in London
1,029 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#527 of 1,077 in London
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#670 of 1,077 in London
864 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#435 of 1,077 in London
822 reviews
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#795 of 1,077 in London
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £79 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing