We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect historic 'business' hotel near Museums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #497 of 1,069 Hotels in London
New forest
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect historic 'business' hotel near Museums”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel, in a historic building, very close to the Natural History Museum, Science Museum, Royal Albert Hall, the Royal Geographical Society and Imperial College. The entrance decor is very grand, with pleasant welcoming staff. The rooms are well furnished, the bed very comfortable. The breakfast room was airy, and breakfast good. Having stayed on my own in a number of hotels in this area, for business, this is by far the best. I recommend it for a business stay, rather than pleasure, because the rooms are quiet small - my room was small for one and I was kindly upgraded to a double! I will definately stay at this hotel again next time I am in London.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    315
    145
    82
    44
See reviews for
117
271
56
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely building, reasonable hotel conversion. Stayed 7 nights, first night in a tiny room, too cramped for us so we were kindly relocated to a more spacious basement room, one with a wardrobe and a sofa. Between 4 and 5am the laundry truck "dropped" the laundry bags over the fence onto the basement ground with loud thuds, so consequently no alarm clock needed. They only had to be told once, but that's not my job! The air conditioning was not good (yes it's winter but a/c was required) until one of the concierge staff kindly "cleaned the filter!" I expect a four star hotel to have face cloths/flannels in the bathrooms and only a small thing but I had to ask housekeeping for tissues. Breakfast was included, but after two attempts we chose a 1000 x better breakfast at Garfunkels near the tube station. Definitely a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBailey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Only about 3 minutes walk fom the nearest underground station (Gloucester Road), the Grange Strathmore has a charming welcoming atmosphere and staff who are a credit to both their employers and the hospitality industry.

All things considered, my stay there was not only relaxing, but also exceptional value for money.

I look forward to my next visit.

Stuart F

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is a smaller one in The Grange Hotel chain but I prefer it.
The staff are exceptional and very welcoming, the rooms are very spacious & clean.
We went to a concert in Earls Court, you can get the tube - one stop away or walk along the A4 which is what we did on our return.
The food was good, atmoshphere very nice, relaxing hotel. Full of history and beautiful paintings. Quite a stately hotel.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: No noise from main roads, all rooms are good. Great nights sleep & blackout curtains are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan2Bracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The location at hotel is perfect, Near by have a undergroud station - Glouchester road and south kensington. The hotel is good, but rooms are small, wi-fi connections is chargable and no safes at the rooms. Generally breakfast is delicious and тhe hotel staff was courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had a wonderful stay from start to finish. Staff were superb from the moment we arrived, they couldn't be more helpful. Lovely location, lovely building, lovely breakfast and beautiful room. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UglyBettyUK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night with work colleagues and it was very pleasant. Fantastic old room in great taste, the bar was a lovely room but slow service. Room was adequate with a very comfortable bed but the shower could have done with an upgrade. Solid breakfast options were available.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank haggisinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#480 of 1,069 in London
634 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#371 of 1,069 in London
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#625 of 1,069 in London
1,277 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#418 of 1,069 in London
560 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#368 of 1,069 in London
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#315 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing