We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and... Cozy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Strathmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Historic and... Cozy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Cool hotel. Used to belong to the Queen's grandparents. Convenient to the tube, as well as some museums, shops and restaurants. By American standards the room and bathroom were a tight fit, but everything was high quality. Overall fantastically polite, great staff... except one female manager who made some quite negative assumptions about us simply because we're from the States (we could hear her yelling about us from the next room to the front desk person). Big up-charge for wifi, btw. Still overall good experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Locklairsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    294
    135
    82
    42
See reviews for
110
251
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I spent three days here during a recent trip to Europe. The hotel itself is charming and the staff was extremely helpful. This is a London hotel-the room was quite small with a very tiny closet which made unpacking out of the question. It just wasn't a big deal. We grabbed things from the suitcase as needed and as a result there was no mad scramble trying to find everything on the morning we checked out. The elevator was the smallest I have ever been in. Not for those with a fear of small places.

Room Tip: The rooms get smaller the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

First the room, when I read they were small, I didn't pay much attention; however, they are SMALL! You literally have to wait for your partner to pass to walk around the room and the shower is literally only big enough for one. (However the hotel has larger rooms and, if you get one, there's a lot to be happy about.) The bed is super comfortable, not something I've always found in Europe, and although too small, the water pressure in the shower was great with plenty of hot water. The continental breakfast was good enough that it was all you'd need to start your day.

On the other hand, the reason I rated this hotel average is the staff. If they'd been more helpful, more familiar with the area, more friendly/welcoming, I would've given it a higher rating! For whatever reason, all of the staff, except a few members working in the dining room, were from Hungary. Now, I don't care where your from if you do your job, but this staff was unable to assist you if you were looking for recommendations, they would Google "good restaurants" for example. Also I didn't feel as if they knew how to treat people in a way that made them feel welcome. At one point I decided to Google my own information only to have a staff member rush over, reach over my shoulder, and click on a new page, informing me that he basically didn't want me to lose his search...really? Are you supposed to be surfing the net when you're working? Also only so many people can go up in the elevator and the way that they'd inform you of that bordered on rude.

Location was great, very near the underground which will get you anywhere you want to go, not to mention close to Harrod's, Hyde Park, the post office...overall, if we'd had a bigger room and the staff had been more welcoming and more informed, I would recommend this property more highly.

Room Tip: Room 414 was the one we occupied, size does matter in this case, being quite near the elevator (in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New forest
Level Contributor
150 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel, in a historic building, very close to the Natural History Museum, Science Museum, Royal Albert Hall, the Royal Geographical Society and Imperial College. The entrance decor is very grand, with pleasant welcoming staff. The rooms are well furnished, the bed very comfortable. The breakfast room was airy, and breakfast good. Having stayed on my own in a number of hotels in this area, for business, this is by far the best. I recommend it for a business stay, rather than pleasure, because the rooms are quiet small - my room was small for one and I was kindly upgraded to a double! I will definately stay at this hotel again next time I am in London.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely building, reasonable hotel conversion. Stayed 7 nights, first night in a tiny room, too cramped for us so we were kindly relocated to a more spacious basement room, one with a wardrobe and a sofa. Between 4 and 5am the laundry truck "dropped" the laundry bags over the fence onto the basement ground with loud thuds, so consequently no alarm clock needed. They only had to be told once, but that's not my job! The air conditioning was not good (yes it's winter but a/c was required) until one of the concierge staff kindly "cleaned the filter!" I expect a four star hotel to have face cloths/flannels in the bathrooms and only a small thing but I had to ask housekeeping for tissues. Breakfast was included, but after two attempts we chose a 1000 x better breakfast at Garfunkels near the tube station. Definitely a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBailey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Only about 3 minutes walk fom the nearest underground station (Gloucester Road), the Grange Strathmore has a charming welcoming atmosphere and staff who are a credit to both their employers and the hospitality industry.

All things considered, my stay there was not only relaxing, but also exceptional value for money.

I look forward to my next visit.

Stuart F

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is a smaller one in The Grange Hotel chain but I prefer it.
The staff are exceptional and very welcoming, the rooms are very spacious & clean.
We went to a concert in Earls Court, you can get the tube - one stop away or walk along the A4 which is what we did on our return.
The food was good, atmoshphere very nice, relaxing hotel. Full of history and beautiful paintings. Quite a stately hotel.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: No noise from main roads, all rooms are good. Great nights sleep & blackout curtains are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan2Bracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#424 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#438 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#338 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#357 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#592 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#327 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing