We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get booked here....run, don't walk.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #500 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just spent two weeks in the U.K. Started with the Strathmore and ended with the Strathmore. They cancelled our room because we weren't there at 2:00 p.m....(flew in from the states) and our room the first week was 119 pounds...then returned a week later to a charge of 289 pounds. Told that they charge on availability! The only problem with that is this room was not a $500.00/night room. Acceptable by London standards I guess, but when we returned a weeks later, they had cut a night short for us, so we didn't have a room for the night. I asked them to find a room for us that was close. They called the Radisson around the corner, and told us that we would have a 119 pound room there, and then when we go to the Radisson they told us it was 140 pounds. When they called the Strathmore to determine who they talked to, they told them that "we" had made the mistake about the night, and couldn't identify the person that they had talked with! All in all, they could have cared less, and made that very clear. The Radisson staff went out of their way to work with us....ended up cancelling at the Strathmore due to rude staff and really a so, so room. We did have a nice view, but if that had been my total London experience, it would have been a very bad one.

Room Tip: We had asked for the executive twin.....very small room.....so don't know what we would have end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miismarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had two nights here during a family visit to London and always stay in the Gloucester Road vicinity. The property is in a very convenient location and its public rooms are stunning. We expected and got the usual squeezy London hotel room, which was quite comfortable. Having booked a superior room we felt a bit let down by some little but important shortcomings. The window was too high to see out of, There was nowhere for the soap or the toilet rolls in the bathroom so the soap sat on the shower floor and the latter on the floor next to the toilet. The shower leaked everywhere and obviously needed new seals or replacement. If this hadn't been at the end of a very tiring trip we would have probably complained. There are better hotels in this great location.

Room Tip: Be specific in your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here after a concert trip to the Royal Albert Hall. It was a very short walk away from the Albert Hall and all the museums. The staff were very nice and really helpful. Our rooms were clean and tidy and quiet. The hotel is just off of the main road so is quiet. We had a very nice cooked breakfast and had the best scrambled eggs ever! I would not hesitate in staying in this hotel again. It is a very central location and has a great bar. Restaurants are nearby and it is located in a nice quite road. I have nothing bad to say about our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a single room each which was ideal for a good nights sleep. If you are staying in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a Superior Twin room that we had booked direct with the Hotel on an Easter Special Deal. For just £111 we had one night's stay and complimentary breakfast worth £40. The hotel is located in a very smart part of London and the front facade is very inviting. Our room overlooked Queens Gate Garden Square which is very pretty and green for Central London. We were going to see a show at the Royal Albert Hall and walked there in about approximately 10 minutes. Our room was spotlessly clean and the decor was fresh and modern. The room was quite small, but adequate for our needs. The staff were exceedingly polite and friendly and produced maps so we could find our way around the locality. One of the staff even took us outside and gave us more detailed instructions. Breakfast in the morning was great, a nice cooked English breakfast with buffet where you could help yourself to cereals, cold meats, fresh fruit salad etc. The service was prompt and efficient. To sum up, we would stay here again. Some of the communal areas were in need of a bit of TLC. The staircase is a real feature and I think more could be made of it, maybe a re-polish to get it back to it's former glory. All in all I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again. To think I have stayed in the former home of the current Queen's grandfather is quite exciting!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212A (although the receptionist kept calling it 213)!!. It has a lovely view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSandBrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

only had 1 night here, but would return for longer. Booked a twin room but were given a family size room which was huge. Very clean in all areas, staff friendly although sometimes their understanding of english could have been better, always polite and happy to help though. Great to stay in a hotel with interesting history to it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leopets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Average hotel with average rooms and average facilities. Ground floor ok, looks like a mock gentleman's club - very dark. Room small with huge bed which meant we had to institute a oneway system to get around it. Tiny wardrobe. Shower with no place for toiletries, room clean but very dated. Most staff, although friendly, spoke hardly any English at all. Breakfast - you guessed it - average. Location good 5 mins from South Ken and its museums and street relatively quiet compared to nearby Cromwell Road.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LovelyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a night as part of a theatre trip. It's a very grand building in a nice part of London, near the tube station. The interior is looking a little tired in places but is generally well maintained. What really spoilt our stay was that we were kept awake through the night by the staff going about their business, letting the fire doors bang shut. This could easily have been resolved using soft closers. I doubt we were the first people to experience such a disturbed night; it literally shook our bedroom door. I suspect we won't be the last either............ when we spoke to the reception about it, they didn't seem to get it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimnhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,077 in London
1,016 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#518 of 1,077 in London
646 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#671 of 1,077 in London
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#798 of 1,077 in London
480 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#638 of 1,077 in London
1,323 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#458 of 1,077 in London
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £84 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing