We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #504 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for what we needed”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We were staying at the hotel while visiting the Royal Albert Hall. The location is great for this. Whilst I agree that the Radisson may be superior, we found this hotel adequate for a one night stop over. The room was spacious, king size bed with a good shower. It's dated, but not as bad as some I've stayed in, in London. The thing with all Grange hotels is that they are over rated. Their 5* should be 4* and their 4* hotels should be 3*...

Our rate was room only, so we can't say if the food was good or not.

I don't think this hotel has air conditioning. If you're staying in the summer, I would double check as we had the windows open from the moment we arrived until we left as it's not a very airy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    307
    144
    82
    43
See reviews for
113
263
55
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Britain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The hotel is just round the corner from the Natural History museum, and the area is very safe and pleasant, and convenient for the underground. The reception area is small and unimpressive, however the drawing room, breakfast room and bedrooms more than make up for this. The bedrooms are clean with very comfortable beds, and look to have been updated recently (the decor is by no means 'boutique' contemporary, but is very nice, nonetheless). We had a flat screen tv in our room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very nice, with complimentary toiletries, great shower and nice fluffy towels! We didn't opt for breakfast as we thought it was too expensive. The drawing room and breakfast room are very traditional in decor, which I thought added to it's charm, although I would say that this hotel is more a three star than a four - however the price was more three star, so it averaged out! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone - it's everything you want from a hotel, and we thought it was a real find - we'd stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Not impressed, very tired old hotel and shouldnt be advertised as a 4 star. Threadbear carpets, sticky hand rail on stairs. and the LIFT!!! yuk! and only fits 2 people.
Found it through last minute and booked on my own on hotel webiste as it said the breakfast was included. Got continential and it was ok if you like warm OJ sweaty cheese and fatty ham!
Hotel is far too hot and was very uncomfortable for eating breakfast and too leave breakfast to go and stand outside as was so hot.
Room 515 wasnt great looked like it was meant too be a twin and had a horrible small window that you cant see out of.
Stay just round the corner in the Raddison Vanderbuilt on Cromwell road you can get good deals on secret hotel on lastminute with this.
Good location if the tube is working which is wasnt this weekend. Only short walk from museums....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This hotel was recommended by a work colleague. Single room, which was a reasonable size for central London, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. One breakfast was included and there was a good selection of food. I was not prepared to pay the high cost for breakfast on the other mornings. Staff were friendly and professional. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I have stayed here two times and would definately stay here again
Centrally located-2 min walk to Gloucester rd station
Nearby shopping/cafe facilities
Beautiful building
Rooms well decorated
Hearty breakfast

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pseudonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

This hotel is not a 4 star.
Heating did not work in our room. I felt the service was poor when I complained. We were given a portable heater after second call to reception. This was unsatisfactory as we had to wait for room to heat up after being out for the day.
There were some loose tiles in the bathroom, and we found a beetle crawling around the bathroom floor twice. This is the reason I rated so badly on cleanliness
The room service menu was very poor, choice of salad or sandwiches.
The decor in the hotel was shabby. Carpets were very worn in places. The rooms had been recently renovated but the finish was bad. Loose tiles in bathroom and badly laid tiles. The ceiling was bubbly near the window which made me think there could have been a problem with damp.
Worst hotel breakfast I have ever had. £24 for the Full English and £16 for the Continental. Very bad quality, the pastries were stale, and the fry looked like it had been in the kitchen for quite a while.
Would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimerickGirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights and the rooms are small but well furnished and the bed we had was unmatched except by the Hilton in New York at £250 per night. We got the hotel at a good rate on Last minute.com and were well pleased with the result. The location is very convenient for the tube at Gloucester Road and also a quick walk up the Cromwell Road to Knightsbridge. Staff were helpful and friendly and the old fashioned rooms are a delight, although an open fire in the lounge would make it even better.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrellNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#454 of 1,067 in London
628 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#622 of 1,067 in London
1,268 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#364 of 1,067 in London
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#402 of 1,067 in London
542 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#363 of 1,067 in London
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing