We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Ranked #252 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A smaller Mariott, with a bit of boutique feel. Rooms are on small side, however hotel is in easily accessible location with good restaurant and very pleasant staff. As Marriott Gold member, we had choice of breakfast in lounge or in the restaurant and wifi. Located a few blocks from two tube stops: Earl's court or Gloucester street - so very convenient to anything and easy to use from Heathrow using the Picadilly line. Many restaurants in Earl's Court Area. Walking distrance to V&A museum, Natural History Museum, Kensington Palace, Harrods, etc. If doing day tours - Golden tours office is literally across the street. I think you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyScarsdaleNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear CathyScarsdaleNY
Thank you for taking your time to review the Marriott Kensington. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the hotel and appreciated our facilities. I am pleased that you found our location so convenient for sightseeing, it sounds like you made the most of your time in London. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
John Laird
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in Kensington, close to metro (Gloucester Road) and bus to go to Knightsbridge and then in to the central parts of London. The staff is amazing, providing very good service, especially Salme at the front desk and Nushka in the lounge.
Good cleaning and standard of the rooms. The whole hotel has a cosy feel to it yet the restaurant and bar feels very modern. Good food and wine! And the breakfast is amazing!
I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMarx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear MaryMarx2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the Marriott Kensington and for the top scores you have awarded us.. I was especially delighted to hear your comments regarding the service you received from Salme and Nushka, I will ensure they are recognised through our associate appreciation scheme. We are thrilled to learn that you felt very welcome in our hotel and you found us cozy yet modern. I do hope that you choose the Marriott Kensington for your next trip to London
John Laird
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nothing special about the hotel, nothing particularly bad either. Most of the bar staff were fine one clearly in the wrong job.

Room spoiled by being unable to open the window - too stuffy. Beds as usual very good.

The staff at breakfast particularly helpful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Notlaw007
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am pleased to hear you were satisfied with your stay and that you liked our convenient location and found our associates helpful. We hope that you will consider using the hotel or indeed Marriott Hotels in the future.
John Laird
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

loved this place,good facilities nice spacious rooms good location
loved the breakfast also staff very attentive nothing was too much, will be returning when back in london.
would highly recommend this place for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Sophieoakley
Thank you very much for your review of the Marriott Kensington and for the top scores you have awarded us. We are thrilled to learn that you felt very welcome in our hotel and that we were able to exceed your expectations and help make your stay enjoyable. I do hope that you choose the Marriott Kensington for your next trip to London
John Laird
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel was like any other Marriott in London, we chose the location because we wanted to be close to Knightsbridge.

Unfortunately, despite our booking being made by our friends who are platinum customers, we weren't allocated a particularly nice room.

The most outstanding thing about the hotel is the concierge and bar service, which we couldn't fault.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Faith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Faith G
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our service, particularly that from the concierge and bar. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future, hopefully next time we will have the opportunity to upgrade your room.

John Laird

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The rooms and the hotel are a bit of old school England, quaint and charming. If youre looking for modern this is not your place. The beds are really comfortable, the heat in the room works quickly to take the chill out. The bathroom was a bit small but totally functional. We stayed here for a long weekend and loved the location. The neighborhood around the hotel is loaded with great little shops and restaurants. And close enough to walk to Harrod's and the V&A!

What would make me go back? The staff are exceptionally helpful and will do everything to ensure that you are having a nice stay. Very friendly!

The free breakfast was also very nice--loved the fancy cappuccino machine and all of the fresh juice choices.

Great value for money--

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Mary M
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on the hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the location and found lots to do in the area. I am very pleased you found our associates so helpful, this is extremely important to us as a hotel and I appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington.
John Laird
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before I ran the Royal Parks half marathon, because the hotel was in a great location, being a straightforward 20 minute walk to Hyde Park. The location is definitely one of the best features of the hotel, being near Gloucester Road tube station and very near to lots of good restuarants (5 mins walk). The hotel itself is smart, clean, with a nice entrance lobby and helpful staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. My review is 'very good' and not excellent though because of the sound proofing (or lack of it) in the bedroom; whilst not as bad as some which we have experienced at other hotels, we could still hear too much from the room next door: so irritating! Aside from that, a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Andy GC
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Firstly congratulations in running the Royal Parks half marathon. I am delighted you chose to stay with us prior to your run and happy that you found our location convenient and the hotel suitable for your needs.

John Laird
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in London
#187 Luxury Hotel in London
#220 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £138 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover sophisticated comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Kensington. Set in an ideal location, our hotel in Kensington, England offers easy access to London's most celebrated landmarks, including Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing