We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Well Run Hotel With Gracious Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Ranked #255 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very Well Run Hotel With Gracious Service”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This has become my usual place to stay in London. Conveniently located midway between two tube stations (and an easy, eight minute walk from each), the rooms are comfortable and quiet. The informal lobby café and bar provide wonderful service, a nice buffet breakfast, decent hamburgers and excellent latte. There is also a large variety of restaurants (as well as supermarkets and Boots drugstores) surrounding the nearby tube rations. Even with all this, the best part is the extremely gracious and professional front desk staff that really seems to want to help. Requests for things such as extra towels and replacing a non-functioning light bulb were responded to very quickly.

That said, this is not a hotel for people who want cutting edge decor, a romantic atmosphere, an elegant neighborhood, a fancy restaurant or fashionable shops. The hotel exterior is unattractive and uninviting, the rooms are a little dated, the mattress was mildly uncomfortable and while my room was clean, one of the telephones was not.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duxburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    572
    210
    69
    36
See reviews for
331
477
95
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Although some things at breakfast used to be free and are now charged for...that's life..right?....this hotel is still a favorite in London...very convenient for us to tube etc....we are Platinum members so nice upgraded room. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BonVoyage555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Im new to TripAdvisor, but stayed in that hotel 6 years ago. It was fantastic stay with my friends. We stayed during weekends. Location was perfect and convenient to visit so many places in centre London. The room was great with large double bed. I cant say anything about breakfast because we couldn't wake up for it. Still i recommend that hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I am not particularly impressed with this hotel. Location-wise, I wouldn't say that it is very fantastic since it is not as close to the Earl's Court Station as I would like. Rooms-wise, nothing out of the ordinary but I did have a problem with the tap (sink) dispensing only cold water... not exactly a great feeling especially since we were guests here during mid-winter. The staff during check-in was friendly but when I approached them again on the 2nd day of my stay to enquire about the Marriot voucher, I did not get the help that I requested for. When asked if the voucher that I have been given could be used for anything other than breakfast, the staff responded by asking me what it was I was told during check-in. This struck me as weird because if I remembered (or if I did ask at all), I would not have bothered dropping by the counter again to ask!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here on New Years Eve 2013 - New Years Day 2014 to watch the fireworks on the River Thames in London with my boyfriend. This hotel is fantastic, loved everything about it!! The staff on arrival and althroughout our stay they were completely fantastic friendly staff and very helpful. This hotel puts customers needs first, little touches like they brought bottles of water around on New Years Day (obviously to make people feel better the morning after). The Value of the hotel is great pay for what you get. The marriott beds are always out of this world, if you fall asleep you may not wake up due to being so comfortable. The hotel was very clean, everywhere we went in the hotel. We also got access to the exc lounge in the hotel which is fantastic. The rooms are a perfect size and have everything you need in them. The location is get too just 3 mins walk away from Gloucester Road tube station and opposite a Sainbury's shop. The breakfast is amazing!!! They make you what you want and you can eat as much as you like. WAFFLES AND PANCAKES!!!

Just had the most fabulous time here, it made our stay in London much better. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a lovely stay in a fantastic hotel. No doubt I will be staying in this hotel and another Marriott hotel again, could not fault this hotel. Thank you to all the staff and the Marriott for a fabulous night in your hotel!

Room Tip: Have the breakfast in the morning, it is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Currently a guest here for the first time for work. Arrived yesterday and immediatley found that the toilet had not been flushed from the last person, and hand towel was dirty. room is SO HOT and air not working, no window to open. Have advised front desk few times and all i have been given is a fan (which will just blow the hot air around).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A smaller Mariott, with a bit of boutique feel. Rooms are on small side, however hotel is in easily accessible location with good restaurant and very pleasant staff. As Marriott Gold member, we had choice of breakfast in lounge or in the restaurant and wifi. Located a few blocks from two tube stops: Earl's court or Gloucester street - so very convenient to anything and easy to use from Heathrow using the Picadilly line. Many restaurants in Earl's Court Area. Walking distrance to V&A museum, Natural History Museum, Kensington Palace, Harrods, etc. If doing day tours - Golden tours office is literally across the street. I think you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CathyScarsdaleNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear CathyScarsdaleNY
Thank you for taking your time to review the Marriott Kensington. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the hotel and appreciated our facilities. I am pleased that you found our location so convenient for sightseeing, it sounds like you made the most of your time in London. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
John Laird
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Property: London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in London
#189 Luxury Hotel in London
#220 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover sophisticated comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Kensington. Set in an ideal location, our hotel offers easy access to London's most celebrated landmarks, including Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing