We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for London trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Ranked #255 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good base for London trip”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to London as it's a handy spot and right next to the Piccadilly line so transport to oxford street and the theatre district were a breeze . No mention of my gold status on check in and no room upgrade also had to go back down to the front desk to get the keys activated in the lounge breakfast was good both days Strange the level a tip charge to your bill each day in this hotel for some reason when it's a buffet we didn't use the hotel bar so can't comment on that all in all we will defo use this hotel again for our base for London trips

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank doddsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear doddsy 69,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the London Marriott Hotel Kensington.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your time here with us and my team looked after you and have inspired you to return to us. My apologies if you feel that your membership was not acknowledged during your stay, I can assure you we appreciate your loyalty.

Thank you again for your feedback and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    572
    210
    69
    36
See reviews for
331
477
95
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have stayed a couple of times at this hotel. There are some parking places, but they are limited, so shout in advance if you need to park there. However, with the tube, reasonable taxi fares and a good bus service, why anyone would want to drive in Central London is beyond me.
The location is excellent and the nearest tube (Metro) station is 5 minutes away.
Beware central London is not cheap! However, the staff can advise you of cheap and reasonable places to eat, just ask. They know their patch!
The rooms are very well appointed and clean. They had a recent refurbishment so everything looks new and fresh. The rooms are not lit enough, ok for relaxing, not good enough for reading..
The place is SO handy for so many places in London , and the well informed reception staff are so helpful and friendly. You will get around easily with their help. Note the hotel does a better exchange rate than banks. Check it out. Overall, it is a nice place to stay at. I never ate there so I can't comment on the food. Just ask the guys there and they will direct you to some modestly priced great restaurants

Room Tip: talk to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
522 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Another trip to this hotel...the only thing that keeps me coming back in the location (tube access is good and an easy trip to LHR) and a generally helpful staff. Of my many stays, this is the first on the 8th floor...avoid it at all costs as it seems that this floor is used by airline personnel who check in and out in the early morning hours. I would have expected a better floor given my status with Marriott. I am sure I will get the same response from the hotel as before on the room...that they were full and since I had a longish stay that is the best they could do! Sorry but this is poor customer service for a vey loyal Marriott customer. On the plus side is the quite pleasant restaurant staff and very nice breakfast. Finally, where is the new health club facility...its been a year!

Room Tip: Avoid the front and the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear FrequentTripster,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the London Marriott Hotel Kensington.
I must apologise that your room was not up to your expectations, our rooms have recently gone under a fantastic refurbishment and I apologise that you did not enjoy it as much as we would have hoped.

Our brand new gym is due to reopen very soon and I hope that you return to us to try it out.

I very much hope we will welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to London.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I can not say enough nice things about the staff at this hotel. We only stayed one night (booked last minute when we decided to fly in a day early), but were very impressed by the staff we came in contact with. Our room wasn't ready upon arrival (because they upgraded us to a suite), but they held our bags and invited us to use the free wifi in the lobby while we waited. We were given good food recommendations by the concierge, and enjoyed our afternoon in the area. Our room was lovely, still small by American standards, but pretty large for London. We also received access to the lounge and free breakfast with our upgrade. The lounge area was a nice place to sit, have a drink and take care of anything you needed to do on the wifi. There was internet in the rooms, but since it was at a cost, we decided not to use it. The location here is great, close to a tube station, and near restaurants. I did feel the initial cost was a little high, but with all the additional amenities we ended up getting, I was very happy. Great choice for your London stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely hotel. Staff were helpful.
The only downside was we couldn't plug the kettle in as there was no three pin plugs in our room.
Room was lovely and the bed was comfy.
We were facing the back of the hotel so there was no noise.
Will stay again.
Breakfast is a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This modern hotel is a 5 minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station, with its trains to the West End or to Heathrow airport, 10 minutes' walk from the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum in South Kensington. Knightsbridge with Harrods famous department store is another half mile East.
It is a 10 minute walk to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, The Royal Albert Hall and the Albert Memorial.
The hotel is a 9 storey building with a large, glass-fronted restaurant overlooking Cromwell Road.
There is a Sainsbury's supermarket across Cromwell Road; Waitrose and Tesco supermarkets in Gloucester Road itself .
The hotel rooms are to a good Marriott standard with excellent bathrooms. There are tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press and ironing facilities in the room.
One thing I was less happy about was that the room doors which are a bit noisy when they are allowed to slam shut, so things could get noisy when guests were checking in during the afternoon.
The food served in the restaurant is good with many choices for breakfast, including an A La Carte menu.
The crowning glory of this hotel is its staff, who are all as helpful, knowledgeable and willing to serve as any I have met around the world. Their positive approach to the guests was a constant delight.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor and above have views over the local area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCMoore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The property is in a great location - tube is within walking distance, there is a large Saisnburys across the road and some good places to eat nearby. Plus lots of tourist spots around. That being said, like a typical London hotel, the room was cramped and the internet connection was slow. Big positives - good food choices especially the breakfast and excellent service from the lounge staff (Simona was outstanding!).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Property: London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in London
#189 Luxury Hotel in London
#220 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover sophisticated comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Kensington. Set in an ideal location, our hotel offers easy access to London's most celebrated landmarks, including Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing