We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt seem like a Marriott....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Ranked #245 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Didnt seem like a Marriott....”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

oddly located though positioned as well located this Marriott while having a jazzy exterior is a total flop in book interior wise.

rooms are TINY literally TINY and the dining options are very limited alongside the bar as well

I would not recommend this hotel for London visitors though they may be a few quid cheaper then the competition I don't think saving that money is worthwhile....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syedarehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Syedarehman,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the London Marriott Hotel Kensington.

I hope you had a wonderful time during your visit to London and I am so sorry that you thought our rooms were not up to your expectations with regards to their size. I hope that my team were able to look after you well during your time with us and you have many good memories.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    589
    220
    70
    38
See reviews for
356
499
100
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times. Its handy for all the sights and although its part of a huge chain the staff make you feel well cared for. On this occasion I was attending a work function. My room was ready even though I was early. The room was well appointed and the bed linens are always especially nice. I had coffee in the bar prior to going out and Nikolay was a star. Later I had a night cap and he was still there, still a star, as was Rahim. Breakfast was pure knockout. The best poached eggs ever. I think the chef was called Kai. We also had blueberry pancakes to die for. I was checked out by Francisco who was a charmer and the nicest person I've met in a long time. Altogether I though the visit was great, mainly because of the friendliness of the staff. I spent my career in the service industry, so I always look out for this aspect of a stay and try to remember names and give credit where credit is due. Well done to the whole team at Kensington Marriott!!

Room Tip: There was 24 hours of free wifi in the public areas. In room wifi was chargeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyNN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I just stayed here for one night. It is a good location to walk to many museums and shops or to take the tube from Earl's Court station anywhere in London. The rooms are small, but sufficient. The breakfast was decent. The servers were great. The main issue we had is that we asked for a wakeup call early in the morning as we had an early flight. It never happened. Had I not had the common sense to set a backup alarm on my iPhone we would have certainly missed the flight. When we called down to the front desk for a taxi the receptionist said she would look into it the wakeup call issue for us. She ended up walking to our room on the second floor and knocking at the door to tell us our phone wasn't working. Either they didn't call us at all with the wakeup call or if they did and saw that no one was answering you would think they would walk down and knock on the room door to wake us up. I love London and have been to the city many times for both business and vacation. I will definitely return to London, but unless the price was excellent I would not stay here again. I much preferred the Radisson Edwardian Vanderbilt a little bit further down Cromwell Road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jill M
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the London Marriott Hotel Kensington.
I am happy to see that you enjoyed our location and the convenient transport links. I apologise that there seemed to be an issue with your phone volume and that you missed your wake up call. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to London.

Kind regards

John Laird
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

There are lots of boutique hotels in this desirable area, & after a week at this hotel I'd recommend any of them over this terrible hotel. Despite a confirmation, we were rudely informed at check in that our requested room type was not available, our room was very old, tiny & generally dark & depressing. Food is hit & miss ... enjoyed some (soups, salmon) then you would have some terrible dishes (lobster roll, cold fries & chicken burger). General staff are good ... concierge is fantastic (thanks guys for all your help organizing tours & cars), & food staff very friendly & helpful. Unfortunately front desk staff are NOT there to help you. I'll not be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sav1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sav1972
Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the London Marriott Kensington. I am sorry we were unable to offer your requested room type, unfortunately your stay was during a period of extremely high occupancy as there were several events taking place in London during this period.
I am pleased our concierge team were of assistance and I will take your comments regarding our food offering to our Executive Chef.
Please do contact me directly if you choose to return to the London Marriott Kensington and I will ensure we meet your needs to provide a comfortable stay.

John Laird
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is ideally located if you are interested in visiting the V & A, Natural History and Science Museums, as they are only a short walk away. We had a double room, which was away from the front, and meant we were not disturbed by traffic noise, if there was any.

Room facilities are fairly standard, but bed was surprisingly comfortable. The room service meals were served on time and were well presented. We found the portions to be a little large, but good. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and is self select hot and/or cold buffet. The meal was enjoyable. We were lucky to secure senior discounts, look out for deals.

We enjoyed our stay. Very friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sollentuna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Ok hotel but rooms a bit dated. Wifi at £6 per hour is a joke when room is £270. A/c quite loud. Gym is 20 sqm so not useful. Location is good with access to Hyde park. Service was good. Got lounge access by mistake which was good so did not try breakfast.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flindmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Flindmark,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the London Marriott Hotel Kensington.
I am happy to hear that my team looked after you well and gave you the high standard of service we have come to expect, especially from my concierge team. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our location and the short distance to Hyde Park and other local attractions. I apologise that you did not find our facilities to your liking however, our brand new gym is close to opening its doors very soon and we hope that you will return to try it for yourself .
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a family trip. There was a mix up with our booking thru booking.com . We had paid in advance for two deluxe rooms adjoining but instead we got one deluxe room and an inferior double room with little closet space which had one double bed and an uncomfortable fold out couch which was almost wedged against the dressing table. The staff did try to compensate with free wifi in the rooms a breakfast upgrade , wine,fruit and (we had acess to most of this anyway as we had paid for the executive liunge access)a 50 pounds voucher for dinner in the hotel . Dinner in the hotel was only ok slow and a bit tasteless where the salad and the ribs were concerned . It was great having Acess to the exec lounge as so much is provided in there such as wine , beer, snacks, papers, wifi , pc, and it's a great place to sit and chat at night . Overall a good hotel and staff do try their best. The concierge also provides an excellent service

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Kensington, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Eileen H,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the London Marriott Hotel Kensington.
I am sorry to hear that due to a mix up with your rooms, you were unable to get the room that you desired. I am happy to see that my staff tried their upmost to look after you and make you as comfortable as you could have been with access to our Executive Lounge and a meal in our lovely restaurant. I will be sure to personally pass your comments to our team so as to ensure continuous development for the future.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Property: London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in London
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
#220 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover sophisticated comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Kensington. Set in an ideal location, our hotel in Kensington, England offers easy access to London's most celebrated landmarks, including Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing