We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay if you are getting out and about seeing London”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Columbia
Ranked #519 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay if you are getting out and about seeing London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

This was our second stay at the Columbia and we chose it because of the location and the fact that we had stayed there before. All-in-all it has it's pluses and it's minuses -- the location is fantastic right across from the park and near the tube, it's clean (albeit a little shabby), and having breakfast included is a nice bonus. That said, some of the staff was exceptionally helpful and kind -- especially the young man who runs the hotel bar -- however not all the staff typified his attitude toward customer service. Breakfast is good and the staff there do their best to get you seated and served as efficiently as possible. All that said, it's not a bad place to stay if you are going to be spending a lot of time out and about seeing London. We really had no issues for the most part and would probably consider staying there again in the future.

  • Liked — the location is great
  • Disliked — could use some updating and improved customer service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mysterychix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    357
    249
    65
    39
See reviews for
201
278
58
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2007

Positive
* Within 3 short Blocks of the Lancaster Gate Tube Line
* Low Cost
* Fairly Clean
* Across from the Hyde Park on the north middle side
* Comes with a good breakfast
* The native English staff (small in numbers) are very pleasent and helpful
Negative
* The nonenglish staff is unhappy and unhelpful, especially the overnight staff. They have a "chip on their shoulder"
* Rooms are small and poorly ventilated. Window opening is very small
* Elevator is slow and scarey!!!
* If you don't stay on the top floor, the floor squeak a lot
* If you stay on the park side - it is very noisey from the traffic and because of the property's trees you do not have a good view of the park.
* Do not be surprised if every night there is someone who stumbles down the hall, talking loudly, and having difficulty finding their room
Advice
* Make sure you reconfirm you room before you come. Make sure if you are arriving late that you let them know.
* Avoid the non-native staff
* Don't drive as there is no parking

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank primal-hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at The Columbia for just one Saturday night as it was the cheapest hotel I could find at late notice that wasn't described as a 'budget' hotel or a hostel.
As with everything in life, you get what you pay for. The Columbia is very dated and in dire need of a makeover. The rooms are on the small side and quite shabby (loved the olive green 1970's bathroom tiles!). The bed was very lumpy and the whole hotel, including the room, had a rather off putting musty smell. There was no airconditioning or even a fan and opening the window allows in the traffic noise from the Bayswater Road. The floors creak and the corridors look like a Russian state run hotel from the communist era! The incusive continental breakfast was minimal (a basket of rolls, jam and butter) but at least the staff were pleasant enough and they refilled out coffee cups).

On the plus side it is in a great location, just a short walk to Lancaster Gate tube station with a bus stop outside. It also overlooks Hyde Park, so is good for site seeing. The entrance lobby is deceptively grand and the staff were helpful and polite. The rooms have a flat screen digital TV, but as another reviewer has said, they should have spent the money on basic redecorating instead!

I would consider staying at The Columbia again, but only after I had unsuccessfully tried to book elswhere first.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs upgrading
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

Great value for the price. I stayed in a triple room with two friends (all students) during the summer, and was pleasantly surprised. The Columbia is in a great location near the Tube and Kensington Gardens. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Good price, decent rooms, good location right near the tube
  • Disliked — Absolutely no frills, small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

Good location walking distance to the underground station and hop on hop off bus stop. Kensington Gardens across the road and good places to eat close by.
Our room was smaller than it looked on the internet but had tea/coffee supplied. It was noisy with the window open.
Breakfast was great with plenty of variety.
Staff were helpful especially night staff. Communication after booking was also excellent and we were sent emails giving us different options and prices for travelling to the hotel from Heathrow.

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

I stayed for 2 nights in early December 2006. For me, it was fine because I really was only there to sleep. The room was very small, but clean. The bathroom was especially clean (which I truly appreciate).

When I arrived the lobby and sitting area were kind of grand. My room was on the 4th floor and the floors up there were very creaky.

My other complaint was the television channels, there was no cable. So I had this 1970's kind of antenna on my tv and reception of the 4 channel was poor, since I like to watch tv before I sleep.

On a better note, my room was quiet. I had a great view of an old church behind the hotel. Again, the room was very clean. The hotel is walking distance to the Tube. The English breakfast was also tasty.

Perhaps this hotel wouldn't be the best choice for someone who would be spending an enormous amount of time in their room. But why would you want to do that anyway with all there is to do and see in London!

  • Liked — Clean and convenient
  • Disliked — Small and dated
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmnice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2007

I was truly scared to stay at this hotel after reading some of the reviews on this website. After staying here, it was not that bad. I have been to London about a dozen times and this hotel was no worse than many others in the same price range. Dingy decor, creaky floors, small (but clean) bathroom, yes... But the people at this hotel were very friendly and it is within walking distance of Paddington Station for the Heathrow Express. In my mind that offsets the ugly bathrooms and bedspreads. If you plan to spend a ton of time in your hotel room you should certainly look elsewhere, but for my purposes it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#436 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#576 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#396 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Property: The Columbia
Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel overlooks Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens; minutes from Queensway restaurants & shops; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing