We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but needs a big overhaul”
Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Columbia
Ranked #537 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had stayed at the Columbia in 2004 and found it old fashioned but adequate. After reading Trip Advisor reviews I thought it was worth a return visit. This time I stayed 6 nights from 13 September 2013.
I arrived around 11PM and the friendly desk staff advised in that I was in room 408 but I would need to use the service lift as the main lift was being repaired. The Columbia is a rabbit warren which resulted in a trip downstairs to ask that I be shown where my room might be. I stayed 6 nights and after the third night it was obvious I was sharing my bed with bed bugs. Upon notifying the front desk I was moved to room 406 where I was again bitten. None of the reviews I read had prepared me for this or the fact that the floor boards creaked so badly that it was impossible to sleep until everyone had returned to their rooms. People walking around their rooms meant that you heard every movement and the resultant creaky floorboards kept everyone awake. If your booking included a cooked breakfast you had to request it as you made do with a basic Continental breakfast otherwise.
I won't be returning. While the staff tries hard the bug problem needs to be urgently addressed. It is now October 8 and after spending a fortune on chemist remedies and a visit to my doctor upon returning home I am still itching.
Overall the Columbia needs a good fumigation and a big overhaul to overcome the floor problem and the thin walls. I would advise staying elsewhere

Room Tip: If your floor creaks ask for a room change. Check your bed on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edjo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

rooms are clean, as are the bathrooms, very friendly people who will cheerfully advize you on where to go for food etc. Although the whole could do with à bit of sprucing up!
Coffee is better drunk elsewhere...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for one night and found the room to be very dated. Our room was a smoking room, didn't know those still existed. The mattresses were quite uncomfortable, more spring than padding. Continental breakfast was adequate and there was free wifi in the common areas. The best part of this hotel is its location. It's a 10 minute walk to Paddington Station and 5 minute walk to lots of great restaurants.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great place to stay, faded grandeur ( thank god ). If it is ever refurbished, will be out of my reach. I will stay here whenever possible. Rooms are a bit dated, but are decently sized, all usual bits and bobs. If you have any preferences / needs when booking, you get them. Rooms are clean as is bedding. Reception staff could not be more helpful and accommodating, marvellous. Great breakfast - bacon cooked properly, which is a miracle to be honest. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a decent cheap place to stay. If you are in local area and want to eat, nip to the pub up the road, decent food there. Go towards the shopping centre and some acceptable places there too. Great location, ideal for Albert Hall. Cannot praise enough.

Room Tip: Go for rooms away from Hyde Park, less traffic noise. Not that it is intrusive with window closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR6-KID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location, between two metro stations, with lots of bus stops nearby. It's right in front of Hyde Park and a 20 min walk from the Science Museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Albert Hall and the National History Museum. A word of caution to non-smokers, the hotel smells like cigarette, probably because of the carpets. Breakfast is very simple and doens' t have a lot of options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was unimpressed by this hotel as my phone was stolen whilst at breakfast. Some of the staff were really helpful however some were the complete opposite and made me feel very vulnerable and the one room in which my phone was stolen, they did not have any cctv cameras. The rooms were ok, however they were not in the 21st century. We spent a lot of the time out exploring London. The breakfast wasn't that good as food was served on side plates therefore if you want value for money then you should go and try some of the local cafés.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0uise999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel a couple of times as it is very near to Hyde park. A bit dated and run down with some of the bedrooms being on the small side. Would still use it again as it is clean,comfortable and the breakfasts are also good. A good price as far as London prices go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANE3558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Commodore Hotel
#902 of 1,077 in London
1,009 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#607 of 1,077 in London
655 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#460 of 1,077 in London
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#449 of 1,077 in London
2,209 reviews
Caring Hotel
#547 of 1,077 in London
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £76 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbia Hotel is an independent, family-run budget hotel in Lancaster Gate, London. We aim to provide guests with modern day comforts whilst ensuring that the character, elegance and charm of the original Victorian property is retained. The Columbia Hotel is in an ideal location for visitors looking to explore London. The hotel overlooks Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens providing guests with instant access to two of London's greatest open spaces. Situated less than one mile from Marble Arch, there is quick and easy access by several bus routes and underground stations to city business centres, theatres, shopping and tourist attractions. Paddington Railway Station with the Heathrow Express train service is a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing