We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Columbia
Ranked #503 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I was pleasantly surprised. Walking distance to Tube was 3 minutes. Hyde Park across the road. Large Hotel but quiet. Under-going update but was not intrusive. Everything worked and room cleaned daily. Soaps, shampoo, coffee and tea, biscuits, all provided. My continental breakfast was included and what you would expect. Full breakfast is available. Dining room huge. Staff all very courteous. Certainly would consider again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Selwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    352
    247
    63
    38
See reviews for
197
273
58
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Another visit to this Hotel, if you want to be centrally located, 10mins walk from Paddington, Hyde Park opposite and 15 mins walk from Marble Arch then stay here. Ok it is a bit dated but it's clean,breakfast is good and staff are lovely. price per room,if you book through Hotel it includes English Breakfast. It is a family run hotel which gives it more character than some of the big chains.

We will be back in a few months, can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornishpixieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, for the price we paid for a double room with breakfast we are very happy, yes rooms are dated but nice,clean, tidy and spacious!! Great location for Hyde park, a must this time of year for winterwonderland!! Near to tube. Staff very pleasant and efficient when dealing with minor issue we had with cold water, upgraded us to English breakfast free of charge for inconvenience, overall great place will defo return in future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Before we went to this hotel I read the reviews, so I was prepared. Ok, the floors are creaking and the interior is a bit out of date. But it fits the price you are paying and in my opinion It's also the charm of this hotel. The location is perfect, a view at hyde park and a few minutes from the tube and the heart of London. Breakfast is minimal and the service could be better... I missed a warm welcome and greating everytime we came back to the hotel. The staff was friendly when we checked in and out...but in between hardly any contact. A great service was that our room was allready available for us when we arrived in the morning. We didn't have to store our luggage, that was fantastic after a long journey! I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a hotel near to the centre, with all the facilities you need, nothing more and nothing less and all for a good price!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serendipity073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Well located, hotel is right across hyde park free wifi and everything...

hotel staff was nice...my only comment is that the continental breakfast actually makes you more hungry...quite a limited amount :)

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank abdoatef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Have just returned from a second stay at The Columbia, London, myself and 2 sisters treated our mum to a 2 nite stay in London. We chose a 4bed room consisting of 4single beds we were on the second floor at front of hotel overlooking HydePark although it wasn't clearest view of the park due to the trees but we were only there to rest our heads and get ready, passing traffic was not a problem while we were there. Only only thing that woke us was the heating coming on the morning but this is expected in a old building. We flew into Gatwick Airport from Belfast City - got the Gatwick Express return to Victoria - then the tube from Victoria to Green Park then Oxford Circus then Central Line to Lancaster Gate you then walk a few streets to The Columbia! The room was sufficient, clean and all you need for a base. Hotel is old fashioned and in need of an update BUT we weren't there to look at every fault that the hotel had we were happy to have a clean room and bed to rest our heads after a busy day shopping and sightseeing (we are each quite fussy but all we needed was there). The reception staff where helpful and even when we rang a few times before we got there we always dealt with someone helpful, the manager Denis was very helpful and friendly in helping us print off our boarding passes for our flight home. Lena was helpful at reception also (thanks for the pic). A few streets up there is plenty of chinese restaurants and Queensway Tube. We visited Sheppards Bush (Westfield) shopping centre which was only a couple of stops away on the tube it's a beautifull shopping centre. We done The Big Bus Tour around London which was fab and included a boat trip sonworth the £ you could spend all day getting off and on at different locations and walked around different areas. We went to see We Will Rock You it was absolutely fantastic (especially the Irish guy - Gary Barlow) We had a fantastic trip to London and hope to return ASAP and we will be staying at The Columia again for its location.

Room Tip: Would probably request a park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My boyfriend and I went with another couples (late 20s, early 30s) for three days in mid-October. This hotel was actually recommended by my mother who had stayed years before with her mother and sister.
The location is great (across from Kensington Gardens/Royal Albert Hall, near Lancaster Gate and Paddington stations, as well as many food options). We took the Heathrow Express ($30/person) which took us directly from the airport to Paddington, which was only about a 20 min walk to the hotel; well worth it and FAST!
The breakfast was very good, especially for being complimentary. It is a typical English breakfast, which I enjoyed trying out and just plain enjoyed.
The rooms were outdated, but high ceilings and clean. Wifi in the restaurant area only; not in rooms.
The Swan is a pub about a block away that has great fish and chips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#433 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#347 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#495 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#401 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Property: The Columbia
Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel overlooks Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens; minutes from Queensway restaurants & shops; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Hotelopia so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing