We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff”
Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Columbia
Ranked #523 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The staff at this hotel were very friendly, and very helpful.
We enjoyed our stay.
The only negative was that the floorboards in our room were very creaky - which might disturb some people.
... it became a game with us - seeing whether we could move across the room without making a sound ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank H E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    359
    251
    65
    39
See reviews for
202
278
59
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great location, right at the front of the hyde park. Short walk to the metro station. Wifi works only in lobby, breakfast was very poor, it included 1 cup of Tea or coffee and toasted bread with jam and corn flakes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Valerijs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Columbia is a charming hotel, situated across Hyde Park, on walking distance from Lancaster Gate Underground Station. Bed- and bathrooms are old-fashioned but very clean and well kept. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Oliva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just returned from a four-night stay at the Columbia, and were really impressed. We've stayed in a few other budget hotels in this part of London over the years, but this is one of the best, and certainly the most attractive. The building itself and the public areas are beautiful, spacious and well maintained. Our twin room, 403, was on the top floor facing Kensington Gardens. There was a certain amount of road noise, as we faced direcly on the the busy Bayswater Road, but we always bring earplugs when staying in hotels, so it wasn't a problem.

The room was large and comfortable, with loads of storage space - plenty of drawers and 10 coat hangers in the wardrobe. Beds and pillows were really comfy and sheets were spotlessly clean, as was everything else. The bathroom decor was old fashioned, but it was great to have both a bath and a shower in a lovely large room, rather than just a cramped shower cubicle. Toiletries and biscuits were replenished each day, and the hairdryer was reasonably powerful. No safe in the room, but you could leave valuables at reception if required.

The only problem we had was when the toilet handle broke. The plastic cistern had had a large jagged hole around the handle when we arrived, and sure enough, on the second day, even though we were very careful when using the flush so as not to cause further damage, the whole mechanism inside snapped off. I reported this at reception on our way out with some trepidation, thinking we may be accused of causing damage and perhaps charged, but when we returned from our day out, a brand new cistern had been fitted with no fuss or further comment from the staff. There was also an issue with our room security card not working on our penultimate day, but this was quickly and apologetically sorted out by the receptionist.

Breakfast was fine, we had booked our stay through Alpharooms and got a really cheap price which included just continental breakfast but it was good that you could choose to buy extra items depending on what you fancied. We had a couple of hard boiled eggs - £1.50 for two - to top up the delicious rolls, croissants and cereal. There was proper orange and apple juice included too - usually it's some vile powdered stuff, but this was really nice. The cooked breakfast looked good, from what we could see. The breakfast room is lovely, with high ceilings, chandeliers and great views of the trees in Kensington Gardens. It was very warm, as were all the public areas, perhaps a litlle too warm to be honest. The staff were very busy, but pleasant and efficient, as were the receptionists and everyone else we encountered. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, as we were out sightseeing, but did have a couple of drinks at the bar, which were reasonably priced and the red wine was perfectly drinkable. We also had a couple of drinks in the lovely old Swan pub just down the road, which would be handy for evening meals too, if you wanted somewhere to eat nearby.

The location of this hotel is so convenient for all the main tourist areas of London, with a bus stop right outside - the number 94 will take you to Picadilly Circus - and two tube stations a short walk away, and with access to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, for a bit of nature on your doorstep. We spent an hour feeding the birds and squirrels every morning and being amused by the antics of all the dogs romping around in the park, before heading off for our day's sightseeing - it is really beautiful and peaceful here and must be even lovelier in the warmer weather.

We would certainly recommend the Columbia and hope to stay there again one day. The beautiful high ceilings and interesting period architecture make a welcome change from the bland modern surroundings of some other similarly priced budget hotels and it is clean, comfortable and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front facing Kensington Gardens will get more road noise, but have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myra07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Even though the decor of the hotel has seen better days, the hotel and rooms were spotless and somehow the somewhat shabbiness added charm to the hotel. The room was huge by london standards which made it extremely comfortable. The heating in the room was just right, I often find that the central heating in London rooms too hot. The breakfast was freshly cooked, not just stuck on a buffet to go cold. My porridge was fab, the cooked breakfast great quality and tea and coffee served to you in abundance. What stood out more than anything was the service. The staff, ALL the staff were helpful, polite, professional and all quite charming to both me and my son. There was a family ambience to the hotel which is unusual in a capital city and I can honestly say our stay in the hotel made our mini break that much more special. Both buses and tubes were very close by, we had a lovely view of Hyde park. I have already recommended the hotel to friends and family and will continue to sing its praises. The best thing...I no longer have to trawl the net looking for reviews for value for money London hotels, we will definately be back. Thanks to you all for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Once booked call the hotel, they are extremely helpful and gave me some great tips on public transpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Columbia Hotel for three nights for a busy long weekend in London visiting family and sight seeing etc. We paid £50 a night which we think is very good value for money.

Positives:
-friendly staff
-free wifi in communal areas
-spacious room / bathroom for London (3rd floor)
-clean room
-powerful hot shower :)
-breakfast room quite nice compared to others we looked at for same price
-food itself fine for free continental breakfast that was included in price (croissants/toast/cereal/tea & coffee)
-Able to keep our bags there before & after checking in / out
-Excellent location - being next to Hyde park was great and Lancaster Gate tube station was a two minute walk from the hotel. Paddington station is also really close and the main road is well connected by bus. Area felt safe, little shop one minute away for drinks / snacks
-Tea / Coffee biscuits given in room each day

Negatives - Tiny points that didn't affect our stay but may affect others

-room was a smoking room, which we weren't told about and being non-smokers it was a bit smelly (but opening the window for a day helped)
-Boyfriend had to crouch to have a shower as the head is quite low, he is only 5ft 9
-room a bit dated (we didn't mind when you pay £50)

Overall very pleasant stay here 4.5 / 5 for value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aleisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We went to London ft a few days and stayed in the dolphin hotel. The rooms were super warm which was nice since the usually british weather is cold. The first room we were in there was many things missing like the towel rack and some sockets were lose. But we told the receptionist and they moved us to a Better room. The hotel overall is in a great location, literally next to padding ton station and the staff were superb. The breakfast was not welcoming but overall it was a quite good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dejomony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#438 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#358 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#580 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#501 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#410 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Property: The Columbia
Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #523 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel overlooks Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens; minutes from Queensway restaurants & shops; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing