We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite worn but alright for a quick overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Columbia
Ranked #519 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Washington DC, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Quite worn but alright for a quick overnight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had to find a last minute triple room for three of us traveling together and the Columbia was about the only triple room I could find. Our stay was just for an overnight before departing for an early morning flight, and we spent very little time in the room. For a triple room, it had enough space for us, though the bathroom and furniture all felt dated and worn. It was hot and the only ventilation was opening the window, which was fine but we could hear traffic noise. Front desk service was good. Overall, it's alright if you're in a pinch and don't expect to spend much time in your room.

Room Tip: We had a triple room - three single beds and enough space for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gringa220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    357
    249
    65
    39
See reviews for
201
278
58
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have lost count of the number of times we have stayed here. Great location, friendly staff, warm clean rooms. good food and a smile from everyone. Sensible prices in a very nice and convenient area of London giving you access to all of London and the Tourist places and more

Room Tip: ask for the front or side. but the same quality is the same all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Columbia Hotel is good located, close to the underground and the park, the only thing that I didn't like is the carpet and the floor make some noise when you walk, the room looks kind of old but it is clean, good benefit cost.

Room Tip: My room the tv was not in front of the bed, it was next to the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aninhavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful by the outside, quiet rundown on the inside. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room (a double room on the 4th floor) was small and dirty on some places, but the sheets and the "important parts" of the bathroom were clean. The bad was nothing more then ok and we slept ok after I bought earplugs, because the noise from the hall was leaking in.

The location was very good, with a short walk to Lancaster gate underground station and Bayswater and Queensway closely too. There's bus station right outside the hotel which takes you downtown to Oxford Street and Piccadilly. And of course Hyde Park is a stone throw away.

All in all experience is that we got what we expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

At the moment we are staying at The Columbia Hotel, (Easter 2014).
A Victorian building with a long history, From the beginning it has been several residential properties, During the First World War it was used by the Red Cross, and during the Second World War used by American officers.

The family who built the hotel in the seventiy´s are still running it.
Yes it has a scent of the seventiy´s. and a bit worn, but excellent value.
Al the staff is helpful and friendly. We booked two rooms, we got one facing Hyde Park and one faceing the backstreet. The rooms are basic and clean.

The breakfast is Continental, Tea or Coffe, toast, cerials,milk and juice. So you do not leave the Dining room hungry, eggs and full English does cost extra.
The dining room is on the ground floor, with a wiew over Hide Park.

The staff has been helpful and friendly at al times, wi-fi in the lounge and bar,Soon the hotel will have wi-fi in al rooms.
The entrance, reception, staircase and lounge is fantastic and nice, looks like the finest luxury hotel. we where hapy for the fine public areas.

We have been in more than ten hotels in the Bayswater area, the moste are bad, smaler rooms, showers that do not work, dining room in the basement, and sometimes bedrooms in the basement.e.t.c. this is one of the best with regard to the price.

Greate lokation 3 minutes from the tube, one minute to the bus stop.
And close to Hyde Park, perfect for joging.
.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanJohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

As other reviews, we found this hotel a little tired looking and a bit dated.
Our room was clean with no frills (utility style 1950’s furniture, very basic
toilet suite, bath etc). Very noisy & creaky room (bed/floorboards).
Continental breakfast was similarly basic. Cooked English for additional cost
was acceptable.
Free wi-fi in lounge area requires daily userid & password log in available
from reception.
Traffic along the main Bayswater Rd immediately outside the hotel can be
very noisy. Dated single-glazed sash type windows do little to keep it out
and our room was at the side, not front.
Although fortunately not required, the room radiator wasn’t working.
Room service was patchy, had to ring for towels on arrival. Some low value
own items went missing from room (tissues,maps etc) annoying.
Bar prices were very reasonable for London. Bar open until midnight but drinks
were available after that time by request.
Location is pretty good on the North side of Hyde Park.
Buses stop outside for a straight run into Oxford Street & the city.
In summary, this is a no frills establishment and we have had a better
standard from other similarly priced hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billericaydickie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was meet by an excellent staff in the reception and on the rest of the hotel. We got one room that was tiny and tiny bathroom, but clean. The other room was big and a good bathroom. Great location, right at the front of the Hyde park. Short walk to the metro station. It was continental breakfast, but you can upgrade to a real English breakfast.
It was also some good restaurants near the hotel. I have no problem using this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syersken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#436 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#576 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#396 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Property: The Columbia
Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel overlooks Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens; minutes from Queensway restaurants & shops; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing