We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe...if its very very cheap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Columbia
Ranked #503 of 1,087 Hotels in London
solroed
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Maybe...if its very very cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel Columbia at the beginning of June in a twin room in the 4th floor for 3 nights and paid around 210 Pounds.

Good Things first.
Staff was nice and polite, didnt have much knowledge of the area though. Very centrally placed, just opposite of Kensington park, and three metroes within 2-15 minuttes walk. Nice pub ( The Swan) nearby. Room was clean at "the important places". Reasonably size room. 24 hours concierge. Big common areas. Bar, however, dont know whether it ever oppened. Nice looking Building from the outside. Quiet hotel with mostly families I think.

The room was last updated in the eighties I think. Carpet hold together with Tape. The shower head couldnt be taken down, so I had to bend my knees and lean backwards to wash my hair (Im 5.8 in hight). There was mould on the shower curtain. One lift didnt work, the other soooo slow and only room for 3 people. Breakfast - undrinkable coffee, the cheapest toast and cornflakes, we ate breakfast elsewhere eventhough we had already paid for it. Horrible bed, could feel all the springs. By accident (apparently) we booked a room with smoking. Couldnt smell that though eventhough I would always always prefer non smoking. The whole floor smelt of chlorine. Only wifi in the common areas.

Would I stay here againg? No.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    352
    247
    63
    38
See reviews for
197
273
58
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

T he hotel is a conversion of substantial town houses on the Bayswater Road the conversion has been generally sympathetic and the public rooms would do credit to far more expensive hotels. The only problem is the quality of much of the seating in the dining room.Some of the chairs are past their sit on date. We had a good twin bedded room of decent size and resonably furnished. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided (decaf on request). The room was clean and tidy and well serviced. It was at the back of the hotel and surprisingly quiet. Continental breakfast was basic-no meats or cheese, but extras were available to order. Service was polite, friendly and efficient. This is an excellent value hotel with the bonus of being opposite the parks for events there and a pleasant walk across the park to the Royal albert Hall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved being in this very English hotel. The staff was very accomodating and the value was very good. The hotel has seen better days and is somewhat shabby with holes in the drapes and peeling wallpaper, but if you overlook that, the room was great with tea and cookies waiting for our return every day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKP435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having just returned from a mid week theatre break we found this hotel which was quite well recommended by Trip Advisor.
It's a beautiful old fashioned hotel on the main Bayswater Road, so handy for all parts of London with excellent links to all types of transport.
Yes, the hotel rooms are a little bit tired, but are clean, functional and had everything that you could want, including a BATH, unusual in London, but a blessing for the Mrs. The hotel is very well appointed and the staff could not be anymore courteous or attentive, Always so eager to please and the architecture is beautiful.
Will definately return and make this our place to stay.
One thing to remember it is better toapproach hotel direct for booking during summer months than using any of the on line sites, prices are more competiive by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a lovely big hotel the architecture is amazing.I have been here on many occasions and find the staff friendly and courteous.the rooms are large with great high ceilings.The ones we have had were en-suite,with a shower over the bath.The hotel is a good clean one.And the breakfasts are great,with plenty waiters to serve you.There is a large reception room downstairs for lounging about Hifi is available too.And there is a small bar room too.
Its a great location straight opposite hyde park a nice walk through the park takes you to the top end of oxford street fabulous for shopping.There is a good bus service too from outside the hotel and lancaster gate tube station is a few minutes walk.No one bothers you here you can come and go as you please.None of this handing your keys in business.

Room Tip: I love room 101 its above the front of hotel but if you want a view of hyde park then ask for one an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The position of the hotel is lovely as is the facade and indeed foyer.The rooms (and this was consistent for the corporate group staying) were awful.
Mine had 70's carpet with cigarette burns and tape on it.The one panel curtain did not fit the window which I had to open because the room had the smell of sweat.The two twin beds were tiny and the wardrobe and other furnishings horribly cheap and dated.
The bathroom was clean but hosted a 70s Avocado suite with a very old cranky shower fitting and hideous wall to wall pale green tiles.
I was horrified and will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Washington DC, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had to find a last minute triple room for three of us traveling together and the Columbia was about the only triple room I could find. Our stay was just for an overnight before departing for an early morning flight, and we spent very little time in the room. For a triple room, it had enough space for us, though the bathroom and furniture all felt dated and worn. It was hot and the only ventilation was opening the window, which was fine but we could hear traffic noise. Front desk service was good. Overall, it's alright if you're in a pinch and don't expect to spend much time in your room.

Room Tip: We had a triple room - three single beds and enough space for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gringa220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#433 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#347 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#495 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#401 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Property: The Columbia
Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel overlooks Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens; minutes from Queensway restaurants & shops; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Hotelopia so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing