We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Columbia
Nearby Hotels
US$303
US$277
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$288
US$256
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$387
US$333
Marylebone Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
US$596
US$499
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (903)
Filter reviews
903 results
Traveller rating
132
392
267
71
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
392
267
71
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslancaster gatebayswater roadavocado greenkensington gardenscontinental breakfastpublic roomscentral linecommon areasalbert hallplenty of hot waterbus stopshort walkmarble archexcellent locationtea and coffeefull englishwi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 903 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The location is great - Close to several stations, opposite Hyde Park with plenty of eating places close by so don't have to walk to far after a busy day in London. Reception rooms are lovely and staff very friendly. Rooms are a bit dated (as are many in London) but they are clean with all amenities, only trouble was the floors squeaked which was annoying. We really enjoyed our stay.
Norah Lilley

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

See above. OK, it's far from perfect, the rooms are dated, BUT they are clean, the linens are clean, the bathroom etc. is clean. We were in 320, a good size room for two, the extremely creaky floor was a laugh, but possibly annoyed the adjoining rooms. Things like this can be sorted fairly easily.
As said, a good location, 5 minute walk from Lancaster Gate Tube. The shower also needs sorting out - you would only be able to stand under it if you were around 5 foot tall! Strange. No air conditioning, which would have been a boon in this hot weather. You can leave the window open as we did but there is a lot of road noise from the main road. At this price, you can't expect it really.
Annoyed by the fact that ( possibly due to the booking agency ) we had to pay a supplement for English Breakfast, only the Continental is free. Should be made clearer by ALL concerned. It's no good being told by a slightly sm*rt*rse offhand female receptionist that at this price there is usually a reason and blaming the booking agency automatically - as it happens every day and you are too lazy and stupid to sort it. Perhaps she had the Monday morning downer. This was not the lovely young woman who it was a pleasure to be served by and talk to over the weekend. It's not the money, wasn't a bad rate, it's the ( surprisingly ) poor service and attitude.
Anyway, gripe over, she won't put me off, if she's there next time I'll put her in her place, she is the only employee who was less than great. Will stay here again no doubt. The food in The Swan has got a touch pricey we felt, but the beer still good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TR6-KID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I will start with the positive: The hotel is in a great location. As other reviewers have stated, it has easy access to the underground via the Lancaster Gate station. It's also convenient to Paddington Station if you come in via the Heathrow Express. The staff was polite and helpful. Breakfast was good. The beds were comfortable and the linens were clean.

On the negative side: Through no fault of the hotel's I stayed in two different rooms. Both rooms were "tired". One room had bathroom tile that was loose and sinking into the floor. The bedroom floors squeaked enough that my friend in the next room heard it. The rooms were not air conditioned, which was not surprising, but the third floor room was very hot. The window opened easily enough, but the opening was covered by a safety guard, blocking any air circulation. That room also smelled of bacon by 6:30am, which could be a good thing if you really like bacon. The bathroom window in the second floor room was covered by a privacy film, but when the window was open for air it looked out on other bedrooms.
There was one towel per person, no hand towel.

Also, we arrived early and asked the hotel to hold our luggage until our room was available. They loaned us a key to their luggage room, but everyone stores their luggage in the same room, and everyone accesses it via the same key. It didn't seem very secure, but nothing was stolen.

Room Tip: In the summertime, the higher you go the hotter it gets.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SJ547N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thank you so much to all the staff for the wonderful hospitality that was given to my husband & I while spending some 27 days with you just recently! Could not wish for better service & in particular the Restaurant staff at Breakfast time,it was very much appreciated! We felt very much at home here!!The Hotel is not modern & has no airconditioning but we have to say its very comfortable & extremely good value considering it's right beside Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens & Palace.
Yvonne & Frank Hudson, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed there twice in the last 13 months--both for a week at a time.
It has become our "go to" hotel in London. The location, as mentioned by others, couldn't be better. The staff is wonderful--very helpful and friendly. Yes, it is dated, but it is comfy and the rooms are a good size and very clean. We are on the go the whole time in London and it is a restful place to return to at the end of the day. We found the full English breakfast to be good and very filling. Yes, fresh fruit would be nice but we enjoyed the stewed apricots on the excellent porridge! WiFi in the reception room was just fine with us. You get what you pay for and more at the Columbia. We especially liked walking across the street to enjoy restful walks in Kensington Park. Walked through it to get to the V&A and the Natural Science Museum easily.

Room Tip: Good view of park at front. Quieter at back.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank B00KLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews