We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great choice while in London”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #233 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Still a great choice while in London”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is the 4th time I"ve stayed here in 15 years,,, it still serves very well. Our room was larger than I had remembered and looked over a quiet street.. The location just can't be beat.. removed from the masses in London and yet near the V and A and so close to bus stops and the tube, also a walk to the Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park and more.. since last time there are so many more restaurants and shops within a few minute walk to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.. My only negative is that those British sausages, which I so love, were definitely not up to other competitors (in fact the ones in British Air for breakfast were better!). The lounge area appeared to be not as clean as I would have expected. PLEASE NOTE THE HOTEL WILL GET YOU A CAR TO AND FROM HEATHROW, MUCH SAFER, EASIER AND SAME OR LESS THAN A CAB IF YOU HAVE MULTIPLE TRAVELERS. just let them know your baggage and traveler requirements, we barely fit into the one that was ordered as they didn't realized we had big suitcases.

Room Tip: we were in room 375, that side of the hotel has a much better view than the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsandroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    1,145
    248
    104
    67
See reviews for
533
1,236
143
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

For my 5th vacation in London this past October I chose The Rembrandt Hotel. I had walked by it many times and it always looked quite lovely. I was not disappointed. I was there for 10 nights and found the staff to be very friendly, polite, and ready to assist you with whatever you require. My room was a superior double and I found it quite large by London standards. The bed was fabulous and the linen felt luxurious. I was fortunate to have a small balcony as well. For security you must use your room card to operate the elevators which is a nice touch. The decor in general is warm and comfortable. In the room which houses a bar and dining room is a large area surrounded by comfortable couches and chairs for watching one of the TV's on the wall, reading one of the daily newspapers that are supplied or just chatting after a day out shopping. The included breakfast buffet was plentifull. So many hot items to choose from plus pastries, fresh fruits, cereals, juices etc... The dining room decor was lovely and welcoming. The hotel is indeed a 10 minute walk away from the famous Harrods department store as well as many cafes, restaurant and shops. Taxis are in abundance and I recommend first time travelers to London take the Big Bus across the street for a Hop Hop Off trip around the city for sightseeing. You can purhase a ticket for this or other tours from the hotel staff. The Victoria and Albert museum is also across the street. The taxi fare from Victoria Station to the hotel averaged 15 pounds. If you are flying into Gatwick Airport a direct train will take you to Victoria Station. Remember hotels in London are not brand new in general and some can show their age but - if you want a hotel that's lovely, has spacious rooms and terrific customer service, and is located in one of the poshest and best neighbourhoods in London for walking around choose The Rembrandt. By the way - tippng isn't as widespread as it is in North America. People were surprised when I tipped them from waiters to taxi drivers and it was really appreciated. I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet outside of the odd police siren going by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panamagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on my first travel trip to London. The staff was very helpful, and they even lend power converters for free. While the rooms tend to be on the smaller side, the beds were VERY comfortable (if you're a fan of soft mattresses) and as described in the title the breakfast buffet is excellent. Beautiful bar/dining area, and an all around beautiful hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for nearly 25 years now and it keeps getting better each time. Very clean hotel with immaculate modern room and modern areas around the hotel.
The service was excellent and all my requests were taken care of.
Location is great for Knightsbridge and Kensington and a short bus or taxi ride to central attractions and theatres. Wonderful breakfast selection and nice cosy bar in the evening when we got back from the theatre for a night cap.
Overall a great hotel that never fails to deliver.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I am quite late in reviewing-- but ran across London souvenir and decided to post a review. We had our honeymoon here 30 years ago and returned back this past April with our daughter . Virginia Barlow was so helpful and had a welcoming note for us. Hotel is in great location close to tube stop and walking distance to Kensington palace and across from v & a Lots of restaurants close by and Harrods a few blocks away. Hotel breakfast was varied with many options and hot entrees. Rooms were large for Europe -- we had executive king- and spotless!! When I go back to London this is where we will stay! !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed for 5 days with my son. Breakfast was excellent, rooms a bit on the small side but VERY comfortable beds. Concierge service was very attentive nd helpful in scheduling tours and with recommendations. Only concerns were we did not get wake up call as requested and beds were not changed unless requested after several times. Location is excellent, centric for buses, trains, walking at any hour. Definitely recommendable.

Room Tip: Request away from main venue or on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#50 of 1,069 in London
3,284 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#153 of 1,069 in London
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#163 of 1,069 in London
961 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#314 of 1,069 in London
522 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,069 in London
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing