We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locaton great, everything else needs work”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #225 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Good - Location of hotel is brilliant, close to south kensington station and Harrods. Bad - Rooms are old and in need of refurbishment but then again we got what we paid for, prices are cheap for london and we were out all day sightseeing so it suited us. Breakfast is nice. Overall, don't expect much from the hotel but then again locaton makes up for it

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,138 - 2,144 of 2,792 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2008

The Rembrandt is reasonably-priced, quiet and centrally located. The breakfast which is included in the room price is good with a large choice. I didn't try the restaurant for other meals. The hotel is furnished in a very conservative style, not very contemporary or very luxurious, but very comfortable. My bedroom was air-conditioned with double-glazed windows so that I didn't hear the heavy traffic on the street outside. My only criticism is that when i checked in, they took a £50 deposit charge on my credit card to cover any possible expenses. This deposit was cancelled when I left, but even so I found it very unpleasant to be treated as a potential thief. Except for this, i recommend this hotel very highly to people who want an agreeable stay in London.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ttcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

This hotel should not be listed as a 4 Star ! I was booked into a Superior room which is rated as a "posher room".
The bed linen was dirty and smelt of body odour, even the curtains smelt stale ! The carpets where thread bare, the bathrooms old, rusty the overall room was like a 1 star travel lodge ! I would have been happy to pay £45 per night to stay at this hotel but paying £191-00 to stay in a tarted up DUMP is a joke ! The wallpaper, doors and just the general look of the hotel is tired and unkept ! The leasure club attached to the hotel was in a very poor state, the jacuzzi didnt work, the pool was slimey, there as plasters floating in the pool and to top it all off there was chewing gum on the steps.
DONT STAY THERE IF YOUR AFTER A DECENT NIGHTS SLEEP IN A LUXURY ROOM - IT WONT HAPPEN

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leyla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this hotel on business. On first impressions the reception and lobby area was small and not as plush as some other hotels. We were allocated a room on the 5th floor. The corridor carpet was shabby in places and the wall scuffed. The room and bathroom were tiny.. The small queen size bed was in an alcove so to get out of bed you virtually had to climb over the bed. The room was noisy. The decor and furniture were ok and the breakfast was fine. The location was very good and we had no issues with staff. Overall I think the hotel was ok, but it was the smallest bedroom I have encounted in London and the hotel did not feel like a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joannetricklebucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Spent 5 nights in early July. I found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant (if somewhat difficult to understand with heavy accents for most personnel). Our group was made up of 1 couple and a grandmother/grandaughter - so we had the opportunity to see both a twin bedded room and a gueen size room. The twin room was beautiful, on the second floor facing the V&A museum. It had the most delightful little balcony. It had been updated fairly recently, I would say, with a very nice bathroom. The queen room was towards the back of the hotel, nowhere near as nice and cost more - substantially more! However, the room towards the rear was very quiet while the room facing the museum had a lot of street noise.

Breakfast buffet was quite good with a nice selection and the best scrambled eggs we encountered on a 14 day trip that included Paris and parts of Scotland. Our breakfasts were included in our room rates, but we did eat there for dinner one night as well. They offer a 25% discount for early dinners, so we gave them a try. Dinner is also a buffet and while acceptable, was not anything great. Rather limited choices. Beware if you are paying by credit card and are from the States....they will attempt to do the conversion for you, running the charge in dollars and not pounds, and won't bother to ask you first. I had repeatedly read that if asked, you should always have the charges run in pounds as it will be a higher conversion fee, if run in dollars, than your own credit card company would charge you.

There are 2 computers in the lobby for internet. At check in, I was told that you could purchase a password to allow you to access the internet. However, if you just sat down to use the computers, you could get right online without any password. Not sure what was going on, but was able to check weather and email with no problem and at no cost! As other posters have pointed out, the location is superb. I would certainly consider staying here on future trips to London

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PK12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

OK. So twice a year my wife and I treat ourselves to an overnighter in London without the kids and this was one of thise nights.
Great room at a great rate, the only problem was no air-con, so waking up sweating in teh night after several drinks may be the norm, but in 25 degrees, yuck.
The restaurant doesn't really do much if you're on a special occasion, we made the right choice to eat out and just take breakfast. That said, we had a beautiful cheeseburger in the bar on arrival. One of the best ever...
I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting a bit more space for under £200.00. The Westbury in Mayfair and Le Meridien in Piccadily were our last two venues, but The Rembrandt wins it. DOes anyone know if there's cheaper parking nearby as the car park behind the hotel was £30 for 24 hours...

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DIB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night (saturday) in July. Check in staff were really helpful. We arrived early and had a lunch appointment to go to. We really wanted to check into our room before lunch but thought it wouldn't be possible. They called housekeeping and asked for the room to be finished ASAP so we could refresh ourselves and head off to lunch. We'd booked a Superior room also which was very spacious and had a sofa so you don't have to sit around on the beds.

Location is great. Right opposite the Victoria and Albert museum. Great for exploring the west end. Also close enough on picadilly/district lines if you want to park outside of london and come in by Tube.

You would think that the rooms would be noisy too - because of being in such a busy area, but we didn't hear a sound all night. Must have great triple-glazing!!

Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice...and they even had soya milk for me, which can be difficult to find in hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoe12583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,077 in London
3,488 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,077 in London
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#189 of 1,077 in London
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#127 Family Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £152 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing