We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good value, modern & clean room”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #223 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed eight nights in early March 2014, and were extremely pleased. We will stay here again. We stayed in Rm 161, which was a quiet, corner room with a window overlooking a grassy courtyard. Not much of a view, but the room size, decor, amenities and cleanliness uited our purposes(we travel extensively and have seen the range). Buffet breakfast was more than adequate with hot and cold items.(If you are a tea lover, ask for the specialty tea as noted on the table tent card.It is marginally better than the mud that is served as the standard tea that is served here, and at way too many places in England)I should note that we stayed here as part of an individual package through British Airways that included flights, transfers and our choice of hotels). This was our third visit to London, and second booking the holiday through BA. Very good convenience, options and pricing) We will do this again.
As many noted, you are right across the street from the awesome Victoria and Albert Museum, and just blocks away from Harrods, the Natural History, and Science Museums.
One of the BEST parts of this location is the proximity to the South Kensington Tube station(Picadilly, Circle and District lines which get you MANY places you want to go), and the DOZENS of dining options in the area.
See our reviews of some of these elsewhere on TS, but to give you an idea, among those we tried and can recommend are: a branch of the excellent Pan Quotdian chain is near the tube station, along with several other artisan bakeries, also Mureil's Kitchen, Beruit Express II (65 Old Brompton Road), The Kensington Creperie, Daquise (truly excellent).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K&CYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear K&CYork

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Rembrandt Hotel.

I am very happy you found your room of good size, clean and with all the amenities you needed.

Thank you for your positive comments about our breakfast buffet; I have passed them on to our Chef and his team, who were really pleased to hear you found it more than adequate.

The Rembrandt’s location is indeed superb. We are right opposite the V&A, and only a short stroll to the Natural History and Science Museums. With South Kensington and Knightsbridge stations close by we are well connected with the city centre, and the outskirts of London as well. We also have bus stops right outside the hotel and a taxi stand right opposite.
I am also very happy you enjoyed South Kensington; our area has an abundance of good restaurants and bars to suit all tastes and budgets, and they are all within walking distance from the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time you are in London, for another excellent stay.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband & I recently spent a week in London , staying at the Rembrandt. Our BA flight from LAS to LHR landed in Terminal 5. After clearing customs, we walked directly to the Piccadilly Line of the Tube in T5 & using the QUEST cards we'd ordered on-line, boarded the train for direct service to South Kensington Station. One block from the Station was the Rembrandt, a most welcoming sight after our ten hour flight. Room was well equipped (electronically, esp.) & though small, absolutely acceptable. The V&A is directly across the street, three tube lines are accessed at the South Kensington Station, Royal Albert Hall is an easy walk & good restaurants abound (check out the Handra Indian). Hotel staff was professional, the Lounge, comfortable & the breakfast was typically adequate. There's a cab stand in front of the hotel, several bus lines stop nearby, & the Rembrandt is now our first choice in London. Next time, we'll bump up to the Executive Level, but even the Superior Level rooms are absolutely fine...the Rembrandt has well deserved TA ratings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Annemarie G

Thank you so much for your exceptional review of your stay with us at the Rembrandt Hotel.

Our location is indeed superb; we are perfectly located in the heart of Knightsbridge, with South Kensington and Knightsbridge stations being a short walk away. The V&A, Natural History and Science Museums are on our doorstep, and the shopping district of Knightsbridge, along with Harrods and Harvey Nichols, is only down the road.

I am delighted you found the hotel a welcoming sight after your 10 hour journey, and your room well equipped of electronics and acceptable. Our hotel was originally built as apartments for Harrods, so all our rooms our unique in size and ambiance.

I am excited to hear that The Rembrandt is now your first choice in London, and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time you visit the UK.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed two nights hotel fine but quite basic.
Breakfast ok but a but like a canteen recommend to have breakfast in room something that we tried the second morning which was fine.
Reception a little slow in busy times but on the whole OK

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ExtensiveTraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear ExtensiveTraveller54

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. I am glad you overall had a good stay with us.

I am sorry you didn’t find our breakfast to your liking; we offer a buffet style breakfast consisting of continental and full English breakfast choices, which are replenished regularly. I am happy you enjoyed your room service the next morning.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Many reviewers have commented on the location of this hotel which is perfect for the museums of South Ken. (it's almost opposite the V&A) and for shopping at Harrods and Harvey Nichols etc., although it's a bit of a trek to theatreland.
We stayed here 3 nights for a special birthday treat in London over the New Year. Everything very good, nice breakfasts, good sized rooms and facilities. You can't fault it. We've stayed in more luxurious places but nevertheless this hotel offers great value for money given its ideal situation in the heart of the chic and expensive borough of Kensington.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear JandB_10

Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review of your stay with us at the Rembrandt Hotel.

We are perfectly located in Knightsbridge opposite the V&A and only a short distance from the Natural History and Science museums. The West End, with all the exciting theatre productions, is very close to us; only a 7-minute tube ride from South Kensington station to Piccadilly Circus, or a 15-minute bus trip. South Kensington station is only a 5-minute walk, whereas the bus stop is right opposite our hotel.

I am very happy you had a good time during your special birthday treat in London and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted you found The Rembrandt great value for money.

I hope we can welcome you back when you are next travelling to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night & it was clean & functional.
The room was a bit small but was ok for a night, bathroom was ok - a bit dated though.
The food was very tasty - breakfast, buffet-style was very nice as it was busy the food was fresh & not left hanging around for too long which can happen with buffet-style breakfasts.
We would return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eleri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Eleri D,

Thank you for your overall positive review of the Rembrandt Hotel.

I am delighted you found our hotel clean and functional; our team goes to great lengths to ensure our hotel is true to its 4-star status.

I am sorry you found your room a bit small. Our building dates back to 1911, as it was originally built as apartments for Harrods, so our rooms are very individual in shape and feel.

Thank you for your positive comments about our breakfast buffet; it’s fantastic that you thoroughly enjoyed it. I will pass on your comments to our Chef and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Duncan Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We enjoyed a three night return visit to the Rembrandt and have little to add to our previous review. The location is excellent for leisure visitors and the hotel delivers a four star service in most respects. The next door spa offers attractive day rates to guests. The free WiFi access is fast, uncomplicated and accessible throughout the hotel.

Our ‘executive’ room was adequately sized with good storage and a pleasant view over neighbouring gardens. Staff were helpful. Breakfast is a well-stocked buffet with good staff support but in a somewhat crowded and noisy room.

We thought our advance purchase rate of c. $300 per night including breakfast very good value by local standards.

The Rembrandt doesn’t do high end ‘luxury’, is more a base than a destination and seems focussed on leisure rather than on business travellers. But it’s a comfortable, well-managed and straightforward four-star property. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear globaltraveller200

Thank you for your first-rate review of your stay with us at the Rembrandt Hotel.

I am delighted to note that you are a returning guest and that you had a pleasant experience during both visits. If you haven’t already, you might be interested in joining our loyalty scheme, Sarova Select, so that you benefit from special discounts and promotions.

Thank you also for all your positive comments about our location and our service. We are in an excellent location, right opposite the V&A, and with very good transport links to the city centre.

I am very happy you found your Executive room of an adequate size and with a pleasant view. Our hotel was built in the 1900s, as apartments for Harrods, so our rooms are unique in size and feel.

I will ensure all your positive comments are shared with the rest of the team.

Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to welcoming you back when you visit London again.


Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent London location--near museums, tube station, cafes. Stayed in room 135 (two twins) which overlooked the busy road, but the traffic noise was not loud or bothersome. Comfortable beds, clean, everything in working order. Ordered room service twice for dinner. Food came within 25 minutes and was tasty. Breakfast was included in the room price and it was served in the restaurant on the main floor. It had both hot and cold items, coffee, tea, juices, fruit, etc. It is well worth it. The tube station is about a 5 minute walk. Had a wonderful relaxing and enjoyable stay. Would recommend and would stay again. Thank you to all the staff for making my holiday and first trip to London a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meadows8267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Meadows8267

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and awarding us your top mark, following your recent stay. I am delighted that you found the bedroom clean and comfortable with all of the amenities you would expect from a four star hotel. I am delighted that you were pleased with both of your Room Service meals and that you thought our buffet breakfast, had an excellent choice of Continental and English breakfast items. We are situated in between two underground stations, Knightsbridge and South Kensington both of which are a short stroll away, so our guests can easily travel around the capital to enjoy sightseeing or shopping. I am thrilled that you would have no hesitation in recommending us. I will ensure that your kind comments are shared with the team and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
820 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,454 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#176 of 1,077 in London
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#167 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £156 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing