We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #229 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for 9 days in room #259. We booked through expedia with breakfast included May 2014. On a direct tube line from Heathrow using South Kingsington Tube stop. Right across the street from the V&A. Clean room, good breakfast. Easy, safe walk to tube with major tube lines. Eateries close to tube.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Terry F

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt following your recent stay, your positive review is most appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed our location, directly opposite the V&A with great transportation links around the capital including a direct route on the Piccadilly line to Heathrow. Breakfast is included in all of our rates, I am pleased that this meal offered a good selection to help you start the day! We are extremely lucky to be in one of the safest and most prestigious boroughs of London, the recent pedestrianisation of Exhibition Road has encouraged more al fresco restaurants and cafes – so that our guests are literally spoilt for choice. I pleased that we provided clean, comfortable accommodation in a great location. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed Fri to Sunday May 2014, our room on 1st floor was a Club room and it was excellent. Everything clean and tidy as it should be, the bed was very comfortable, and the room was a decent size.
Breakfast each day was very nice and it all felt nice and relaxed. The bar serves good cocktails that are reasonably priced.
The staff we came into contact with were all very helpful and friendly.
In a really nice part of London, 5 mins walk from Harrods, across the road from V&A and Natural History Museum and again a few minutes walk from S Kensington tube station.
The Aquilla Spa is also very good value and after a long journey on the Friday helped us relax.
The only thing we didn't try at the hotel was the restaurant as in truth it was quiet and the menu didn't suit us.
And we made a mistake....we booked nearby parking. Let the hotel do it for you. They will take your car and bring it back for pretty much the same cost as doing it yourself.

Room Tip: We asked to be allocated our room when booking (1st floor with view please) as opposed to being allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6-1-2-J-B-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Jeremy W

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am delighted that all aspects of your weekend break met or exceeded your expectations. I am thrilled that you describe our Club rooms as excellent and that you found our accommodation clean, comfortable and spacious. I am pleased that you enjoyed most facilities at the hotel including Cocktails in 1606 Lounge and Aquilla Health Spa. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding the friendly and helpful service provided by the team, I will ensure this is circulated to everyone. Like you we love our location; there is an abundance of restaurants, cafes and bars within walking distance as well as world famous museums and shopping, our neighbourhood really does have something for everyone! I do hope that you will now consider us as your preferred London hotel.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here again at Easter 2014 - 17th to 21st April. Had a Grand Room (Room 650) this time....well worth the extra pounds....beautiful, spacious, well appointed room, good bathroom - with a very comfortable bed - important. Perfect ! I love the breakfast at this hotel...and that it is included in the room price..... A real genuine buffet English breakfast - how I like to start the day in London ! - even with black pudding and English bangers ! Location is very convenient - we mainly use the busses (and walk....) in London - Direct buss to Piccadilly Circus area from accross the road. Very firendly & efficient check-in and check out....we arrived very early from Norway and they let us check in and use the room immediatly (was about 11am in the morning) - thank you...appreciated this. Recommend the hotel to all types of guest...young, old, couples, families - enjoy your stay ! Thank you The Rembrandt for helping us have a great holiday in London...

Room Tip: Grand room.....very spacious, great bed..and bathroom. Sofa and desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwayTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear NorwayTraveller55

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt following your recent Easter break. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt that it was worth paying a little extra for a Grand Room. This is our highest room classification, they offer the largest area/space, all have King Size doubles and the amenities are of the highest quality. Breakfast is included in all of our rates and I am thrilled that you enjoyed the wide buffet selection and found it the perfect way to start your day in London!. We are extremely lucky to be in such a convenient location that offers museums and world famous shopping on our doorstep as well as fantastic transportation links to the rest of the capital. Thank you for your positive feedback, I am pleased that you would recommend us and feel that we provide a great base for anyone wishing to visit London – young, old, couples or families. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rembrandt. Charming period building with handy location to museum, shopping and tube station. Breakfast buffet was very extensive. Our room was modern and very comfortable bedding. The bar provided a lovely ambience for a relaxing drink and snacks. Would highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvergull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear silvergull

Thank you for your positive review of The Rembrandt following your stay in September. How lovely that you describe the Rembrandt as a “Masterpiece”. We believe that we have everything on our doorstep world famous museums and shopping, The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park as well as an abundance of restaurants and cafes. We also benefit from great transportation links to the rest of the capital and our guests can choose either South Kensington or Knightsbridge underground stations, both are within 5 minutes walking distance, or use the 24hr bus route into the West End. I am delighted that we provided modern, clean comfortable accommodation in a charming period building, with a relaxing and friendly ambiance. I do hope that you would consider retuning on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for five nights at the Rembrandt in April. We had a grand room which was huge. The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms we had stayed in in London. Great staff, great food ,a lovely bar all within walking distance of Harrods, across the road from the V&A etc and with tube and bus stops located very close by. What better place to stay, loved every minute.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ammiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear ammiej

Thank you for your positive review of The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am over the moon that you enjoyed one of our Grand Rooms, they are our largest bedroom category and we believe offer luxury and comfort, at an affordable rate. As we are not a purpose built hotel all of our rooms do vary in size and shape and I am thrilled that you loved the huge bedroom and bathroom. Like you, we love our location opposite the V&A close to the Natural History and Science Museum as well as world famous shopping in Sloane Street, Harrods and Harvey Nichols. I am delighted that you enjoyed every minute of your stay and I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel with a 5 years old child, stayed in the Grand room, which was not a huge but enough, with enough place in closet, large bathroom, quiet air conditioning. Very clean. The service was great for everything we needed. Breakfast was very nice, full English, only missing were fresh vegetables. Also the child had everything he wanted. We ate lunch one day in the hotel's bar, very good food as well.
The location of the hotel is perfect, right next to museums and very close to underground, 10 mins by foot from Harrods, 15 mins from HydePark.
Although not cheap, we will probably stay there next time in London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Lena L

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am over the moon that you described us as” a perfect hotel in a perfect location”. Apart from the Brompton Suite, our Grand rooms are our highest bedroom classification so they offer the largest area, all have King Size Double beds and all have large bathrooms, with new, quiet air-conditioning. I am thrilled that the hotel was very clean and that the service provided throughout was great. I am delighted that you enjoyed various meals at the hotel and that your five year old had everything he wanted! Like you we love our location close to the museums, shopping, Hyde Park as well as being within walking distance of an abundance or restaurants and cafes plus two underground stations. We really do think we offer everything on our doorstep. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Rembrandt on a Saturday night. Although check in wasn't until after 2pm, we had got the early train into London and after a walk round Covent Garden went to the hotel to see if we could leave our bags till later. The reception staff were lovely, a room was already available so we checked in there and then.
The room was huge, comfy sofa (sofa bed), and a massive super king bed. The bathroom was very compact and although the door could do with replacing, was very clean.
The hotel is opposite the V&A museum steps, the Science museum and Natural History museum are round the corner - you are slap bang in the middle of Kensington. The road is busy, but didn't hear the traffic from the room. Stood outside at night you can see the lights of Harrods which is a 5 minute walk down the road. South Kensington tube station is a 5/10 minute walk.
The bar was lovely, cocktails were expensive, but a pint of larger/beer was very reasonable.
We slept really well, and I never sleep well in a hotel. The breakfast was lovely, everything you could ask for.
The staff were very pleasant and very helpful.
Cant recommend this hotel enough, would definitely stay here again for our next trip to the big city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are concerned about traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublinshopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Dublinshopper123

Thank you for your descriptive and extremely positive review of The Rembrandt. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in the “big city” and awarded us your top score. Our Front Office team always endeavour to try and accommodate guests who arrive early. Over busy periods it is not always possible to have bedrooms ready before 2.00pm, however we will always take your luggage and store it, so that you are free to explore our fantastic capital. Like you we love our location we really do believe that we have everything on our doorstep. Our guests can easily walk to three world famous museums, The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace as well as enjoying fabulous shopping at Harrods, Harvey Nichols and Sloane Street. We also have great transportation links to the rest of the capital, as we are in between South Kensington and Knightsbridge underground stations and are opposite a 24hr bus route into the West End. I am thrilled that all aspects of your stay met or exceeded your expectations and that you would definite stay with us again, I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back later in the year.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#142 of 1,077 in London
811 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,449 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#174 of 1,077 in London
2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#172 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £157 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing