We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-located,smart and value for money”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #229 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well-located,smart and value for money”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I first discovered this hotel near Kensington Palace through a friend who stays there regularly. We enjoyed afternoon tea together at the Rembrandt after visiting the RHS Chelsea Flower Show. It looked really lovely and I decided that I would stay there at some point in the future. Well I needed a good quality hotel near the Royal Albert Hall recently and so my chance came. I booked my rooms on line which was done easily. As soon as we arrived staff at the reception desk were swift to check us in and our rooms were both comfortable, very clean and well-designed. Breakfast - a full English - was delicious and so well -prepared and presented. There were quite a few families staying there and it was clear that the hotel suited their needs too. Our rooms were quiet ones with all the usual facilities. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear SueJS2013

Thank you for your delightful review of The Rembrandt, following your stay in May. Our guests can stroll along Exhibition Road and reach the Royal Albert Hall within ten minutes, we are also close to the prestigious RHS Chelsea Flower Show and this is always very busy time for us. I am delighted that we provided well designed, comfortable and very clean accommodation. Breakfast is the busiest meal of the day, as it is included in all of our rates and I am pleased that you describe this meal as delicious, well prepared and presented. I am over the moon that you would choose to return and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    1,103
    245
    99
    63
See reviews for
510
1,194
135
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My mum and I stayed here to celebrate her 75th Birthday and we were very impressed by the hotel and the service provided. As requested we were given a quiet room which was immaculate and well presented. All staff were friendly and helpful and our request for extra milk and biscuits for the room was responded to promptly. The location is excellent, in a gorgeous area, close to South Kensington tube station and some lovely shops and cafes. My only small criticism is that the tables are very close together at breakfast but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingRita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear TravellingRita49

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt and a belated Happy Birthday to your Mum on her 75th Birthday, I am thrilled that we were able to provide a comfortable base for your celebrations. I am delighted that you were very impressed with the hotel and the service provided. I am pleased that we provided immaculate, well presented, quite accommodation in a gorgeous area. We are so lucky to be opposite world famous museums, close to Harrods and Hyde Park and that we have an abundance of restaurant and cafes nearby to suite all tastes and budgets. I am delighted that you would definitely choose to return and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed three nights which it was a business trip. Location is quite convenient ( from Heatrow I took metro ticket valid for three days sub&bus which is veri good deal. It took a hour to arrive south kensington station and by walk eight minutes to the Hotel. Piccadilly line sub and numbers 4-74-414-C1 stop just right a way of the Hotel). Nice well coming , large enough a lobby. Room I stayed was vey comfortable good day lightening fres looking clean. Bathroom was excellent enought size and always hot water clean towels bathrobe etc.. There is indoor pool and health club facility's with a simple extra cost if you like. Breakfast was inluding so I had in hotel. It was Classic English breakfast which I like bean, scrambled egg toas and honey. I had tea but did not like so you may try coffe might be test better then. However there were Danishes, cereals, fresh and can fruits, cheese butter juices etc.. Any one can find some good to full fill to start a rushy day. I do recommnding this hotel for couples and business people.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank managment5680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear managment5680

Thank you for your detailed review of The Rembrandt following your recent business trip. Guests can travel directly from Heathrow Airport on the Piccadilly line to South Kensington or Knightsbridge and then we are a short stroll from either underground station. I am delighted that we provided very comfortable, clean, fresh accommodation with plenty of natural daylight and an excellent bathroom. Hotel residents can use all of the facilities within Aquilla Health & Fitness for a discounted daily fee. I am pleased that you enjoyed the full English breakfast served in Palette Restaurant , guests can choose from the hot items or the Continental offerings. Personal recommendations are always gratefully received and I am pleased that you would recommend us for business or leisure trips. I do hope that we will now be your London hotel of choice and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had Rooms 648 and 650 ("Grand" rooms with walk in showers). These rooms and bathrooms are fantastic. Clean, well decorated, large, comfortable. They sleep 3 people with a
I'll out couch. Bathrooms are beautiful and very modern, with tile everywhere, double sinks, and walk in showers. Free breakfast is fantastic. Whoever complained about not enough bread at breakfast is mistaken. They serve white bread, wheat bread, baguettes, rolls, and fantastic croissants. If you must have fresh eggs with breakfast you will be disappointed, but they had lots of other options including yogurt, cheese, fresh oatmeal (not instant), beans, roasted tomatoes, fresh fruit, ham, sausage, fresh roasted veggies, etc. We had just come from Paris and Normandy, and the croissants are just as good as in France. Hotel location is great, the staff is very helpful. Free wifi that works great. We loved this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the "grand" room it is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiovanniMinaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear GiovanniMinaldo

Thank you for your descriptive, positive review of The Rembrandt. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and describe us as a “superb hotel”. Grand rooms are our highest category, apart from The Brompton Suite, so they are the largest bedrooms with the highest quality fixtures and fittings. I am over the moon that you liked all of the bedrooms amenities, including the walk-in shower and the large sofa bed. Complimentary Wifi is available for hotel residents in our public areas and bedrooms, nowadays this is a must for all travellers. Breakfast is included in all of our rates, I am thrilled that you appreciated the wide selection of items available and thought our Croissants were as good French ones! Thank you, for your kind comments regarding the friendly, helpful staff I will ensure that your positive feedback is shared with all of the team. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Rembrandt has to be the perfect London hotel. My husband and I shared a room with our 18-year-old son. Our room was so quiet for 4 nights that I was astonished every morning at the number of people eating the fabulous breakfast - I was convinced we had the whole hotel to ourselves. The beds are wonderfully comfortable, and the staff is kind and professional. The hotel is a short walk to the South Kensington tube stop - a direct line from Heathrow and a short ride to whatever you would want to do in London. The V&A museum is right across the street, as is Holy Trinity Brompton Church, home of the Alpha Course. Harrods is a short walk away. I would recommend the Rembrandt wholeheartedly, and hope to return.

Room Tip: Three of us shared a Club Room, which has a king-sized bed plus a comfortable pull-out sofa. My 18-y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TryAlphaAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TryAlphaAnywhere

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt following your recent stay and for awarding us your top score. I am delighted that we provided spacious Club accommodation that was suitable for three adults and that the room was quiet, in a great location. We are so lucky to be opposite the V&A, The Holy Trinity Brompton and close to The Natural History and Science Museums. Our guests can easily access South Kensington or Knightsbridge underground stations and can also walk to Harrods, Hyde Park or The Royal Albert Hall. I am pleased that the staff provided kind, professional, friendly service. Personal recommendations are always most gratefully received and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back, in the near future.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was booked via the internet. The initial room allocated on arrival was depressing. It was very dark, and the outlook was over a mass of air conditioning ducts and other plumbing materials, surrounded by three walls of the hotels and other buildings. It was jail. We immediately requested another room, and were allocated a natural light filled room with an outlook that was at least not enclosed. The room was very comfortable, well maintained and re-equipped with facilities each day. The staff were excellent. Unfortunately the credit card deposit requested was processed and the international fee deducted despite no charges being made against it by us at the hotel. The public area toilets are the cleanest I've seen in fifty years of travel. In return to London this is the hotel we'll first consider.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Dom C

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt. All of our rooms vary in size and shape and they all have a different view/outlook, some do look into the central well of the building. I am delighted to note that you returned to reception as you were not happy with the initial room allocated and that we were able to offer you an alternative. I am thrilled that this room had natural daylight, was comfortable and well maintained. I am pleased that the staff were excellent and that you will now use us, as your London hotel of choice. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What's not to like? The hotel is right opposite the V & A and near the Science and Natural History Museums and 5 minutes from the Tube. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. This is definitely a place where we would like to stay again.

Room Tip: We had a side room on the third floor. What we lost (slightly) from the view we gained in not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glevumblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Glevumblues

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am over the moon that you enjoyed your stay and could not find fault with the hotel, its accommodation and location. We are extremely lucky to be opposite the V&A, close to the Natural History and Science Museums while also having easy access to either South Kensington or Knightsbridge underground stations. I am pleased that we provided clean, comfortable accommodation with friendly, helpful service. I am delighted that you wish to return and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#153 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#167 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing