We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, comfortable, delicious breakfast, perfect location”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #227 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elegant, comfortable, delicious breakfast, perfect location”
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Our first trip to London. The concierge arranged for our pick up at the airport and was helpful in finding us theater and getting tickets to Buckingham Palace, Madame Tussauds. We had a large room, well equipped with a jacuzzi tub and bidet. Ours looked out onto a side yard and buildings. The breakfast was just way beyond expectation with formal tables set with tablecloths and napkins, family style, and the most delicious assortment of foods to easily last well into the afternoon.

The Concierge, Kiernan, recommended a play that was a bit too risque for my 13 y.o. son and after speaking to management of our dismay, they arranged for us to see Phantom of the Opera gratis. What began as a disappointing evening with Priscilla of the Desert turned out to be one of the highlights of the trip seeing Phantom.

Location is excellent for V&A, Harrods, and walking the neighborhoods. have to admit I ended up buying Cafe Latte at nearby McDonalds! And it was good. There wasn't a coffee shop nearby for that early cup. An incredible sandwich shop near the tube station sold shrimp sand and unusual tuna sandwiches on fresh baguettes for 3 pounds! We ended up eating picnic food as we saw a lot of theater in the evenings and didn't have the time for sit down meal. We are returning this summer as my work takes me to the area again. Can't wait to see what we missed last time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    1,105
    245
    100
    63
See reviews for
510
1,199
135
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mays86
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I was coming down to London with the weekend for her 50th Birthday to see Wicked, and had to book something fairly last minute as our initial plans fell through. My mum was recovering from surgery so she was extra cautious about wanting to stay somewhere particularly clean so we pushed the boat out a bit and booked out two nights here. I'd of been happy with a travelodge so I was thrilled to stay in The Rembrandt!

The location was fantastic, just off Brompton Road. We know this area quite well as we have family nearby so we settled in very quickly, found it very easily from the Tube (as other people have said, South Kensington closeby). The interior of our floor/rooom was quite dated but the room (a standard twin) was a great size for London and very clean with sitting area, television, spacious wardrobe and everything you'd need really.

The highlight of our trip was really the breakfast... Cereals, fruits, yoghurt, porridge, tea, coffee, fruit juices AND then a gorgeous buffet cooked breakfast! Scrambled, fried and boiled egg, bacon, sausages, deary me I forget the rest. Plenty to set you up for the morning and beyond! The only drawback was that breakfast busy busy and instead of being able to eat as soon as you were ready, both mornings we had to give our names and rooms numbers, then take a seat in the bar area until we were called. Yes we weren't waiting long but it was still a bit annoying.

I went out with friends on the first night and had no troubles getting back into the hotel. We didn't have any problems during our stay so have no real remarks on the service, but I remember the staff being most polite. When we checked out we were able to store our luggage without any problems to enjoy our last day. I would love to come back to this hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mays86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

It's really a 3 star hotel with a bit below par service. Internet and Free breakfast are great. But no ventilation in the bathroom!! They oversell the healthclub attached..it's one of the oldest gyms I have ever been to. I moved to Intercontinental after 2 days of stay. Good for extremely budget senstive folks. Very good location. Food so so..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ar_frequent_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Location is great, about 300m from Harrods and 500m from South Kensington tube stop. Rooms clean, comfortable and free tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast was poor. The porridge was made with watered down milk and when we asked if there were any bananas (my partner was doing the London Marathon, hence the absence of a full English breakfast!) we were told they would charge us £2! Bit wrong. Otherwise pretty happy with hotel. Wonderful Italian about 3 doors down, Orsini - food is marvellous.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith_Chalmers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Having had our honeymoon in Mexico cancelled due to the ash cloud, we decided to head into London for a few days. We found this hotel on the internet & just turned up at the door with no reservation, they were very welcoming & gave us an excellent rate on the room. We had 2 nights here - the location is just a few hundred yards from Harrods & just near the science museum. Its a very nice area to walk around with plenty of restaraunts & sushi bars to fill you up. There is also a cheap internet cafe just round the corner next to South Kensington underground station.
We will stay here again the next time we visit London.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinnidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed in London as BA cancelled our flight elsewhere. They did us a favour! Excellent location for sightseeing and Englands rainy weather.. Free Museums opposite, Harrods up the road. A few tube stops to the large Westfield Shopping Centre. The area seemed safe at night and excellent restaurants nearby. The staff we encountered were all pleasant. Breakfast was very good, we found. The room was small but not in it for long and it was adequate for our needs. Where we were located no noise from outside. Downside, you could hear the people in the next room at times. Though at night time it was quiet. Did not put us off and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I don't have one negative think to say about this hotel. The hotel was beautiful the staff were welcoming and polite, the rooms were immaculate and the service was excellent too.

The hotel is situated in Knightsbridge, it is about a 7 minute walk to harrods and right facing the History museum. There are lots of shops, cafes and pubs within a stones throw.

Directions - get of the underground tube at South Kensington (Piccadilly Line). When you come out of the ticket barrier, turn right and enter the subway and take the first exit on your right. Come out of the subway and turn right and continue straight and the hotel is a couple of minutes walk on.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsKMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,119 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#153 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#167 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#172 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing