We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #227 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value for money”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Just stayed at the Rembrandt London, great value for money. Upon arival upgraded to a Grand room, which was clean and roomy. The Staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. Great buffett breakfast. Good facilities - great pool however extra charge which we were not aware of and restrictions on times children can use the pool. Good location, near Harrods and 5 stops on the tube to the west end. Definately book again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarovahotels, Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back to The Rembrandt soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    1,108
    245
    100
    63
See reviews for
511
1,203
135
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dunadry
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just returned from a trip to London with my son to celebrate his 10th birthday. Stayed in the Rembrandt principally due to its proximity to the Science and Natural History Museums and its convenience to the tubes and bus routes. It was a great choice. Lovely room. I think they may have upgraded us as there was a good size sitting area. Great bathroom with a jacuzzi bath which my son loved. Beds were very comfortable with matress toppers and good quality linens. The hotel in general was spotless throughout and the facilities of an excellent standard.
Its directly opposite the V&A and five minutes walk to both the Science and Nat History museums. Nearet tube station, South Kensington was a 10 minute stroll and there's a bus stop outside which takes you to Harrods. For our purposes it could not have been more cenvenient.
Staff were generally very helpful, particularly the concierge desk. However there was one receptionist who was generally officious and came across as a bit unfriendly. I noticed that this was not just towards me but also other guests. It didn't detract from the visit however.
One problem however was the temperature of the room. The aircon whilst effective needed to be on full blast and this was s bit noisy. We were also on the 1st floor and close to the kitchen vents so the room often smelt of cooking. It wasn't over powering or particularly unpleasant but it meant you couldn't really open the windows to get fresh air.
The breakfast was good although very busy, with plenty of choice.
Free wired internet access in the rooms and wireless in the reception and bar areas was very welcome. Two computers in the lobby had free internet access so even if you dont have a laptop or smart phone with you you can still get online.
Also very convenient to a great selection of restaurants catering to all tastes and budgets. Superb Chinese restaurant (The Good Earth) 5 minutes up the road was fantastic. I have travelled in China a fair bit and this was one of the best Chinese meals I have ever had!
All in all a very pleasant stay at the Rembrandt and would stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevengallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarovahotels, Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
Thank you for your review. We are glad that your son had an enjoyable birthday trip. We hope to welcome you back to The Rembrandt Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This hotel was absolutely average in every way. The room was fine, loud, but fine. The service was decent, decor was nothing to write home about. We had a few issues with the U.S. outlet and the internet, but they were quickly resolved. The breakfast that was included in our package was really outstanding, however, which made this worth our while. The location was great too...just a short walk to the underground and lots of places to grab dinner and drinks in the area. We used to hotel bar a few nights are were generally happy with the service and drinks there as well.

Stay here if you can get a good rate that includes breakfast, and you are going to be sightseeing all day anyway. That is what we did and were happy. We just needed a place to rest our heads, and this was it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayRaySaubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We booked our stay at the Rembrant in May. On arriving we were asked to wait for the duty manager, who informed us that 'due to a recent computer error' rooms had been over booked at the hotel and that they had emailed guests (on the Friday so less than 24 hours before check in - we never recived the alleged email) to inform us that we had been moved to a different hotel. They did however pay for a taxi to take us to the alternative hotel!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank slinkygoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at The Rembrandt on a Saturday night in August and we have no plans to go back. By far the best thing about it was the location. It's almost opposite the V&A Museum and a short walk (10/15 mins) from Harrods and lots of other shops. Easy access to other parts of the city by tube and plenty of bars, restuarants and cafes nearby if you don't fancy travelling far. As for the hotel, we found the staff on reception standoffish to the point of unfriendly at times. Our room was clean and comfortable but tired and dated. The breakfast was a mediocre buffet affair - my pain au chocolat was good but my husband eggs, straigh from the buffet counter, were almost cold. Totally forgettable. I know £150 doesn't stretch far in London but we did expect a little better than this. We agreed our £50 stay at a Premier Inn recently - admittedly not in London! - was a much more enjoyable, and better value, experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJane100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel on a weekend break in London. It was extremly easy to get to using public transport and its location at South Kensington tube on the Picadilly Line meant easy access across the city.

We stayed one night bed and breakfast which was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Service rating is 3 because we didn't use any. That was by choice. Breakfast was nice; bread, bacon, mushrooms, ect. Breakfast service was a little slow but maybe our impatience is to blame. Room was basic and met needs. Only complaint on room was that the door, when opened, would show the bed. Not a real issue for me but some would' mind. The tube is 5 minutes (less really) away and is on 3 different lines. 10 minutes to west end. 20 minutes to tower. A great central location. V&A museum is across the street. Science and natural history museum are 5 minutes away. We were one floor up and had no view. Not a huge deal to us. Ask for a higher floor if possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#154 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#168 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing