We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option before an early train”
Review of Thistle Euston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Euston
Ranked #292 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great option before an early train”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My fiancee and I decided to stay here because we were catching the Eurostar to Paris fairly early the next morning. It proved to be an excellent choice. It's fairly close to the Eurostar terminal and we also had a clean, comfortable and well maintained room. The staff were friendly and we had a very decent breakfast downstairs before departing. I'd definitely recommend as a close-to-the-train option or just somewhere reasonably affordable to stay when in London.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Macsimmi,

I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Paris back in the Summer.

We are in a great location for people travelling via Euston station or Kingscross and St Pancras. We are making a lot of improvements to our hotel and aiming to provide the best services to our guests, this hopefully is reflected in the breakfast that we provide as well as other aspects of your stay.

I hope to see you again if you return to Paris or even if you want to stay in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    1,260
    371
    94
    43
See reviews for
422
1,094
140
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Only 10 minutes walk from St Pancras Station and situated alongside a beautiful park accessible from the street.
The staff were really nice to deal with and the room was spacious and clean.
Lovely bathroom too.
My favourite shortbreads were included on the tea tray.
Breakfast was included for us and it was a beautiful smorgasbord of goodies.
Easily accessible to the tube with Euston tube only five minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Terry D,

Pleased you approve of our choice of biscuit I know that shortbread is very popular, thank you for the great review.

We put a lot of effort into providing the best customer service possible and I am extremely pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

For the last 12 weeks i have stayed at this hotel for 3-4 nights a week. On occasion my company books me in somewhere else and the disasterous experiences highlight to me every time why this hotel is so good and why i always want to come back.

Highlights:

Quick friendly reception. Specific room requests are always met.

Room service is swift and the food quality, compared to a lot of hotels in this price bracket, is above average. When you're eating in the hotel most days it is nice to be able to get a decent selection of fresh fish and less stodgy dishes than the usual burger and spag ol fare. Cicken gremolata is not something that usually crops up on a hotel menu.

The rooms are nice and modern, however there is a big difference in room size across the board so you could end up with one thats a bit smaller than usual. The king size rooms are obviously more generous and the beds are nice and big. Bathrooms are good, showers consistent in temperature and powerful. Towels are a good size and plentiful. Pillows are not too hard or soft. Air con/heating actually works and isn't too noisy.

Im sure there are downsides, especially if you are staying for one night and you expect a lot from your stay and the city. But for business use, this hotel is pretty top notch for its price bracket. It also feels safe walking along the surrounding roads at night, important for us ladies.

The best thing: WIFI is free!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castaway2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Castaway,

Thank you for your great review and praise of our hotel it means a lot that we are your preferred choice.

We are a great location for both convenience and we are a little back from the main road which does make some guests feel a lot safer. It is brilliant to read that you find our rooms comfortable and modern, with powerful showers I know that is a real plus for many guests.

I do hope you will be staying with us long time to come and anything I can help with please let me or our Relationship Manager know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Not a lot to say. Staff didn't answer phone when busy. Faulty heating got fixed pretty promptly. Bistro ok ish. Begrudge paying £12 for breakfast, and £200 for a room. Good for Euston station. Bed comfy enough and good wifi connection

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Steve B,

I am pleased to read that you found our beds comfortable and our WIFI connection to be good, we actually have the faster and most reliable connection in London presently to allow our guests to tend to emails or search the web.

I will pass on details to our front of house team about manning the phones during the day, sometimes at peak times it can be difficult to tend to everything but I will look at staffing levels and come up with the solution as soon as possible.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great hotel short walk from Euston station so not in the middle of everything but a 5 minute walk from Tottenham court Road and another 10 minutes on to Oxford Street. Room was smaller than expected but clean and comfortable. Staff were all extremely friendly and helpfulland couldn't do enough to assist. Would definately return or recommend to a friend

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am glad you had a good experience and will pass on your feedback to our staff. We are doing a lot of training at the moment and will be doing what ever we can to accommodate our guests requests.

I hope to see you again at the Thistle Euston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Clean and predictably expensive considering competition close at hand. Comfortable (if not small) room with efficient dub glazing to keep out the noise. Very friendly staff, especially at breakfast, where Shahib made us so Welcome.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Gary,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be friendly, I will pass on your comments about our breakfast staff, it is always great to hear positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I've changed jobs recently so am getting to grips with my new employer's travel preferences - strangely they use the same agent as my previous employer but the choices for London are very different.

I haven't stayed in a Thistle hotel since the days of the Tower Thistle and this example is probably representative of why. The lobby is modern and shiny but the underlying hotel is old and worn - a relic of the 1980s which has undergone minimal refurbishment. My room was a single and was a reasonable size compared with other London singles I've stayed in, but you could still reach the desk from the bed. Furniture and fixtures were old, worn, marked and tired. The bath had been obviously re-enamelled in situ and had a strange rough surface.

I arrived around 22:30 after a long day working and travelling back from Istanbul and check-in was quick. A late meal in the bar was OK - I was going to choose Room Service, but a combination of a 12.5% "optional" service charge AND a £5 tray charge put me off - if I'd gone for a £10 meal it would have cost me £16.25 to eat it in my room - that's outrageous in my view - a markup of 62.5%

The room was noisy both from outside and from the plumbing - other people's ablutions could clearly be heard, which is unpleasant at the best of times.

Breakfast at 09:00 on a Saturday morning was a mad scrum in the basement and was average at best. This looked like a common problem as there was a table outside the restaurant with juice and croissants labelled "for you, while you wait for your table" - surely an admission of defeat.

Overall - I'll be trying to avoid this hotel in the future unless I am desperate to stay next to Euston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at Thistle Euston, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Jorgan Meister,

I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay, we went through a £ 9 Million refurbishment last year and the entire hotel was re done, we also frequently do preventive refurbishment on the rooms to keep them of a high standard.

If possible could you send me a direct mail with what room number you stayed in and as a matter of urgency I will get our maintenance team to have a look over the room.

We will also review our staffing levels to ensure that we have the best coverage possible at peak times such as breakfast etc.

I hope you would come again and give us the chance to change your opinion on the hotel, if you do come again please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#640 of 1,067 in London
2,106 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Euston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Euston

Property: Thistle Euston
Address: Cardington Street, London NW1 2LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Business Hotel in London
#142 Family Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Euston 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic hotel for business travellers and people on the move. Whether you're in London for business or pleasure, Thistle Euston is one of the few hotels near Euston Station making it the ideal hotel for overnight or longer stays. At Thistle Euston, we have 362 newly refurbished bedrooms, including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms, and 10 meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style. Business guests now also benefit from a new meet-and-greet point, a break-out area featuring high tables with laptop sockets and Costa coffee at a touch of a button. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Euston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Euston London
Thistle Euston Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing