We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of Cosmos tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel London West
Ranked #423 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Part of Cosmos tour”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights April 27,28 as part of a Cosmos tour. Hotel is a typical hotel, nothing special except for the buffet breakfast. So many selections, but my favorite "fried eggs" which are hard to find in Europe. Hotel very close to tube station, very handy in getting around London. I dealt with the staff very little but when I did, they were very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneSouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Novotel London West part of a Cosmos Tour.

It is a pleasure to read that you found your favourite “fried eggs” at our English breakfast buffet.

We also appreciate your kind words towards the staff and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    1,686
    734
    263
    145
See reviews for
1,177
881
265
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Room was efficient and small. The bathtub had mould on the side in one of the corners which was disgusting. It as a small green spot and we were only staying there for one night and it was tolerable but still a little bit disturbing.

One thing i had a problem with was the breakfast. My father and I came down in the breakfast, and we both were happy because there was a wide variety of food to choose comparative to the past few hotels we have been in Europe. However, when we sat down we encounter in my father's salmon had mould on the skin, and we told the servers immediately because my father already ate a piece and we did not want others to get sick. The customer service responses were very confusing. The first waitress we told... she told us we could go get another piece of salmon from the buffet if we wanted too... I am not sure if she does not understand the complications of mould in people food is harmful to people or to the company... but it was very disturbing that someone would tell us that. When we told another waiter of the mouldy salmon and showed him and explained to him that we do not want others to get sick, he was quickly to apologize and ran to the kitchen right away to take away the contaminated salmon from the buffet. So check your food here before you eat it because it might be dangerous for your health!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a detailed review.

I am very surprised to read your comments as I can assure you that our procedures are very strict in regards to Health & Safety.

We would require further details in order to investigate this matter further. Please feel free to contact us directly at H0737-GR@accor.com.

Kind regards,

Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have used this hotel several times over the years, mainly because it's a good location if driving.
It's showing its age, and has its faults. This time we stayed three nights, and although the rates we paid were favourable for London with breakfast, the bill was seriously inflated by the parking charge. £36 ! Per day, for residents ! Not surprisingly, the car park was empty. These rates will be a major factor in making us look elsewhere.
Firstly, no hot water on Friday evening, or Sunday morning. Not good enough. When I complained, the staff at reception just said there was a problem and refused to consider any recompense.
Breakfast has always been chaotic. This time it was a shambles. The room isn't big enough for a hotel of this size. Long queues on Sunday, and not enough staff, so tables not cleared and dishes for the buffet not replenished so people have to stand around waiting

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymartian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Jay,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Novotel London West.

Our car park is £1.5/hour for hotel residents and £3.5/hour for visitors indeed; I would like to confirm that this price is advertised on our website.

I understand that your experience did not fully meet your expectations and I would like to express to you my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences encountered.

I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great hotel, good location and great service, looked after me whilst I was there. Free WiFi which is rare in most hotels. Great gym which was available 24hrs. I would be staying at this hotel again in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback after staying at the Novotel London West.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities including the Wi-Fi connection free of charge offered to all our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

NO air conditioning. Air conditioning does not work in all rooms especially now. Been here a few days and was not told about it. No fans available for use as it was given all out. Very hot and stuff in room. Hotel insists it does not have a timeline when it is going to be fixed

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Subtle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLondonWest, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London West, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Novotel London West.

I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our hotel experienced an issue with the A/C indeed and I can assure you that our Maintenance Team was fully looking after that issue.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Audrey Sablery
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#264 of 1,069 in London
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London West

Property: Novotel London West
Address: 1 Shortlands | Hammersmith International Centre, London W6 8DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#289 Luxury Hotel in London
#303 Family Hotel in London
#349 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London West 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for easy access to all of London’s key business districts as well as historical, cultural and social attractions, Novotel London West is also conveniently close to Heathrow airport and has excellent road and rail links to the rest of the United Kingdom. This large, modern hotel offers guests a selection of different dining options as well as an extensive fitness centre, secure on-site parking, business services and meetings and events facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel London West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London West Hotel London
Accor London West
London Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing