We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Leicester House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leicester House
Ranked #88 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This location was great for me. Since I was traveling alone and staying 4 nights, I wanted to be close to theaters and I was within walking distance. The hotel was clean, neat and charming. I just loved it. Excellent bathroom. Room was a good size and quite comfortable. The hotel staff was simply superb from check in to check out. You could not ask for a better experience. I would certainly recommend this to friends. The breakfast was more than adequate for me and quite tasty. It seems no matter where you go, it is about location, location, location. Thank you again staff and Mr. Tundai for a wonderful first time London experience.

Room Tip: I did not know there was a fitness center or pool. Perhaps this could be stated upon arrival. My r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotproduct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Leicester House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback on TripAdvisor. i am sure your comments will help our future guests understand how dedicated we are to making each stay absolutely perfect for every guest. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with the cleanliness we shall be passing your comments onto our housekeeping department and that you found our customer service to the highest level. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again, Darryl Sounders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We loved the location of this hotel, just a couple of minutes from Ronnie Scotts, and right by Chinatown. Stylish hotel, staff friendly and helpful. Room simple but comfortable and very clean. Spacious bathroom, deep bath, good towels, and L'Occitane toiletries.

Our only disappointment was breakfast, even the very nice waiting staff shrugged their shoulders! If you are looking for something substantial or bread that is not sweet, or toast not a little crispy would suggest you eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the loud fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FudgeFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Sandro, thank you for taking the time to leave us such important feedback. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel stylish, and our staff team offered excellent customer service. We will be passing these comments back to them during the next staff meeting. We are pleased that you liked our clean, spacious rooms with good quality towels. We do take any negative feedback very seriously. We have decided to start offering a breakfast buffet so everyone can eat as much or as little as they like. With regard to the menu itself, we will be holding a management meeting with the head chef to review this. We would love to have you stay with us again, and hopefully next time we can make it absolutely perfect for you. Darryol Sounders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location and the promise of a bath.

The location is fantastic. A short walk away from pubs, restaurants and attractions. This of course also means that there is a lot of noise outside at night. The soundproofing of the hotel is not good. We slept on the second floor and could hear what people were saying on the street. So you can imagine how loud the honking of cars, screaming of party-people and unloading of lorry's was.

The hotelroom was weird. There was no bath. Other rooms have a bath. But we got a handicapped room with a shower. The showercurtain was too short, so the entire bathroom got flooded everytime we took a shower. And because of the ramp to make the bathroom wheelchair accessible, the water also flowed into the bedroom. So we had a soaked carpet. Which got pretty disgusting.

The breakfast is a rip-off. Don't fall for it! It will cost you 10 pounds (excl tax) and all you get is some hunks of stale bread, 4 slices of toast, ham, honey and coffee or tea. They can make you eggs if you want, but this will cost you extra. Go to one of the pubs om Leicester Square or to Muriel's for a cheaper and better breakfast.

(it seems to me more and more hotels use the term "continental breakfast" to get away with a pisspoor breakfast)

The bed was okay. Very hard, but comfortable. Other than the above remarks, the hotel was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rleegwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time so leave us such valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. A lot of our guests find us very conveniently situated after a night out at the theatre. We are sorry that you had problems with the outside noise in our hotel. Unfortunately, we are a listed building, so we are limited with regard to glazing. We apologise for the issue that you had with the shower curtain. The matter has been addressed, and we have ordered a longer curtain. Sometimes we have to admit that we get it wrong; and we did with this. Upon booking, we do suggest that guests specify the exact bathroom facilities they would like in order to avoid disappointment. We are sorry that the lack of a bath caused you disappointment. We are sorry that your breakfast did not live up to your standards. Our bread is freshly baked the day before. We will however be reviewing the portion sizes in the next management meeting, and we are taking your comments seriously. We are thrilled to hear that your bed was comfortable and that our staff was friendly. We shall be passing on your remarks at their next staff training session.
We do hope to see you again, when we can make everything absolutely perfect for you. Darryl Sounder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good location in West End. The employees were very pleasent and helpful both in the reception and the restaurant. We loved the simple and very taste breakfast. The rooms were clean and the standard was good. Everything we needed was there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bjørg Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us such good reveiw on TripAdvisor and to help our future guests find out what we are all about. We are delighted to hear that across the board, our team offered you amazing customer service, and we will be feeding this back to the team. Likewise, we are happy that you were extremely pleased with the cleanliness of your room. We hope to have the pleasure of you staying with us again sometime, when we can make it 'perfect' once more. Many thanks and kind regards, Darryl Sounders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hotel is located in the heart of London (Leicester Square). Bathroom was adorable even though room was small. Very clean, modern and renovated look but with a classy touch. trendy.

The breakfast with several choices a la carte (Granola, eggs, etc) was really nice.

Expensive to my taste but this is London and the location is worth the price. I would not stay there again just becuase I do not mind to save some pounds and stay further away from the center. But a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairEvaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us such valuable feedback. We are delighted that you were impressed with the cleanliness and the decor. We strive constantly to make every room look absolutely perfect so our guests feel relaxed and pampered - after all, no one wants to think about cleaning when they are away from home! We will be feeding back your comments to the chef, which I am sure he will be pleased to hear. He is always trying out new recipes to keep the menu fresh with top quality products. Regarding to your comment if staying a further away from the centre of London you may find it interesting to check our company flagship Twon Hall Hotel in Bethnal Green. www.townhallhotel.com
Many thanks and kind regards, Darryl Sounders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We found the hotel well equipped and desirably located.
Unfortunately we could not sleep due to a noisy fan.
However we did move rooms and have been given a complimentary stay another time to make up for our broken night which is all we could ask for really. Will definitely review again if we have a better experience next time.
The fan is not the fault of the hotel and I understand they are also of complaining about it. We expected street noise in London but the fan was beyond that as it was so close to the window. It did stop at 11.40pm but started again at 5am When we moved rooms at 5am to the other side of the building we slept well until the checkout time.
We enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast and the ambiance of the cocktail bar.
Naturally not a budget weekend break but competitive for such a central location.
We were not expecting to have to leave £100 deposit or to be asked for photo ID on arrival.
Not see what would happen if you didn't have either of these though.
The room was good , we liked the bath being in the bedroom. Overall the hotel itself was very good.

Room Tip: Our room 201 had the fan blowing directly outside the window so you may wish to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyF361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for sharin your feedback on TripAdvisor. I glad to hear that the rooms were to your likes and tha you enjoyed the breakfast and the ambients of the hotel cocktail bar. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in this occasion and I glad that you accpeted our gesture of goodwil, in this occasion. We look forward to your next visit at the hotel soon. Many thanks and kind regards, Darryl Sounders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Perfect room, perfect location , extremely friendly staff and wonderful home made breakfast. After searching through the myriad of hotels in London we were glad we picked this one. Thank you for making our trip to London special.

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade and loved our front room on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guests, many thanks for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback. We are delighted that we made your stay in London so special, and your comments will be feedback to our hard working team during the next staff training session. We do hope to heave the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#91 of 1,081 in London
1,014 reviews
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Victory House London Leicester Square MGallery by Sofitel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,081 in London
1,277 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leicester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leicester House

Address: 1 Leicester Street, London WC2H 7BL, England (Formerly One Leicester Street)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £67 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leicester House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Leicester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing