We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A history buff's perfect afternoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchill War Rooms

Churchill War Rooms
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.94*
and up
Churchill War Rooms Entrance Ticket
Ranked #7 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The underground headquarters of the British High Command served as the nerve center of Britain's war effort during World War II.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A history buff's perfect afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice static displays, very informative, in fact there is so much to read you can't finish it in a day. The audio guide was brilliant, the souvenir shop was stocked w beautiful vintage war posters.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheflyingVittoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,452
    3,464
    645
    89
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting, a good overview of life in London during WWII”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very interesting exhibit of life in London during WWII with recreations of the extensive rooms underground inhabited by those running the defense of England. The audio tour was very well done and worth the time. There is a lot of walking to access the site and once you are inside. An older member of our party probably should not have accompanied us on this visit. The cafe is only accessible partway through and we were starving in the beginning as it was well past lunch. We had purchased our tickets online, but it was very unclear where to go to "skip the queue" After waiting a while, we went and asked the worker that appeared momentarily and we were ushered right in past the long line. Definitely, buy online.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin3898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Very interesting and engaging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I got 2 for 1 tickets for this attraction by showing our rail tickets - this made the price a bit more reasonable! I'm not sure I would have made it through the door of this attraction had it been full price, which would have been a shame!

The only other thing that stops me giving this excellent attraction a five star is that the actual war rooms are at the end of the 'museum' about Winston himself. This was so interesting and informative that my husband and I spent ages going around it but by the time we got to the actual war rooms we were seriously flagging from standing up, concentrating and walking for so long and the impact for me was much less than it would have been if it had been at the beginning.

Nonetheless we really enjoyed our time here, you get a free audio tour and the exhibit about Winston Churchill and his life from birth to death was excellent and quite moving. I knew nothing about Winston before this but I am now pleased to say I'm an expert!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Ramjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A surprising amount to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This looked like an interesting little tour through the war rooms of London, but it wasn't. It was a full on museum, much of which on Winston Churchill. It was actually very large and was packed full of interesting information on him, and some on the war. It is definitely worth going to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davidsmartreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just an overall educational and important place to visit. Great for history buffs. Amazing to see it all in the exact state it was left in when the war was over.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kbarbk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill War Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Churchill War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing