We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #243 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We arrived in the hotel after a long & tiring train journey from Aberdeen, the staff at reception were very pleasant & helpfull, the girl even changed some Scottish bank notes for us! The complimentary cookies are delicious, we even managed to buy a couple of tins to take home with us! Our room was very comfortable, with a very fast WiFi connection, extras in the room included an Apple Mac PC, small fridge & handy wee safe for valuables! We ordered room service a couple of nights as we were tired from seeing the sights during the day, the service was very prompt & the food excellent! We would often pop up to the Sky Lounge for a couple of drinks at night just to soak in the magnificent views of London! The Natural Kitchen downstairs is a lovelyplace for breakfast! Could not fault our stay in any way, what else could you ask for on your honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,824)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,632 - 3,638 of 5,827 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, incredibly clean and brilliant value for money. One downside was one of the members of staff was slightly rude to me when asking about baggage storage but all other members of staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Great roof too bar with fantastic views over London and tower bridge. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmajrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review and we will be sharing your comments with the Guest Services team immediately to ensure we can re-train where appropriate. I sincerely apologise you had felt the staff member assisting you had been rude and we really do hope you will stay with us again and we can ensure your stay is enjoyable in every single way.

Thank you for taking time to experience Skylounge, we're hoping the sunny weather in London will continue and our visitors enjoy the fantastic views!!

Do let us know if we can help you with any area of a future visit,

Kindest regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff at reception were very helpful. Room was clean, well presented and quiet; but not quite as large as expected. Facilities were very good and I would recommend the roof-top bar for cocktails. Ask one of the bar-staff for a Manhattan (wasn't on the menu, but made really well), relax and watch the sun go down over the City sky line.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear 'Anthony D',

Thank you for your review and for sharing with us you were made a delicious 'Manhattan' cocktail in Skylounge, we're pleased you enjoyed!

We're sorry you had thought your room had been a little on the small side (for London our rooms are of a good size in comparison to a lot of other hotels), though we appreciate being given your honest comments, and it is good to see this hadn't marred your enjoyment of this stay overall.

Do let us know if we can ever be of any assistance in the future,

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Was on a two day course a couple of streets away from hotel so was thrilled with location do the tube (coming from kings cross) and also for a bit of sight seeing - literally round the corner from Tower Bridge.

From my room I could see the Shard and the room was wry nicely appointed too (spacious for London)

The experience was good - arriving to be given a cookie at reception that said "deserts spelled backwards is stressed" was cute and the reception very efficient too. The reception was airy and contemporary and looked better than Internet pics which is quite rare.

The gym was okay for a couple of nights.

Breakfast was the usual comprehensive buffet that Hilton provide and catered do all tastes and cultures

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear John T,

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review on trip advisor! I'm pleased to hear our location had been near to where your course was being held and that your schedule allowed for a spot of sightseeing too!

Thank you for saying that your room as well as our lobby appearance had exceeded your expectations and it is great you noticed our slogan on the cookie packet, it is nice to hear when these little things are noticed, after all it all contributes to your overall experience at our hotel!

We hope you do consider coming back again in the future and thank you for your comments which are hugely appreciated,

Kindest regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My partner booked a small suite on the seventh floor. We had panoramic windows but all that could be viewed was building work and the largest crane imaginable. The room was very noisy from early morning as soon as construction work started. Room had lots of technology, a couple of I macs and huge TV, it was clean and comfortable. Bed was very comfy. We had room service in the evening and I ordered a curry which was suppose to have cashew nuts it but there wasn't one in sight! I thought the menu quite poor. We stayed at the Park Lane Hilton last time and I thought it was much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking all the construction work.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The staff at reception is very kind, willing to help in any possible way.
Check in has been extremely simple and fast, that helps after a whole day travelling.
The room was equipped with all the latest gadgets with a very good air-conditioning system.
The beds are comfortable and of good quality, and the rooms are quiet.
Breakfast, served on the ground floor offers a fantastic selection of both English and International dishes from which I am sure you’ll manage to pick your favourite.
Meeting rooms are very efficient and functional.
The fast checkout option, avoids having to queue for the bill.
The Hotel is conveniently located just a couple of minutes walking from the Tower Hill underground station.
Just one point I would suggest improving is the quality of the soap and shampoo dispensers on the sink and the shower, unfortunately in my room both were not working properly.
It would cost pennies to solve, but a lot of value to gain

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Paid £199 for 1 night in June which I thought was an ok sort of price for the area but really felt overcharged by the standard of the room which wasn't either as large or as plush as I would expect.
The look of the room was very Premier Inn...literally a bed with white duvet and white pillows...no cushions or other bed cover to make it feel a bit more special !!
Yes there was an Apple imac tele (which impressed my kids who weren't with me) with a keyboard and mouse but this was of no use to me.
Having said that, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room and bathroom were very clean.
I was going to the Tower of London and this was an excellent hotel to stay in as it was very close, just a 5 minute walk.
Black cabs always available outside the hotel which was also a plus.
My view was of scaffolding which was disappointing especially as the room has floor to ceiling windows to make the most of the view I should have had tho this is obviously not the hotels fault.
The room was a bit noisy and I couldn't work out why...I'm hard of hearing and had turned the air-con off... it sounded like someone digging up the pavement!!
The fire alarm went off twice, once in the evening and once in the morning which had me racing around and then it stopped after a few seconds with no explanation...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milliemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#171 of 1,072 in London
4,122 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,865 reviews
The Tower
#274 of 1,072 in London
6,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £125 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing