We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for weekend stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #243 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good value for weekend stays”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a three night weekend stay in an executive room. The room was a fairly compact size. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet and a pleasant temperature so we had a good night's sleep. We found there was limited hanging and storage space for our clothes, which might be a drawback if you are staying for more than a couple of days. The room decor was plain, with bare white walls. The furniture looked basic and the brown carpet felt quite thin. The TV screen was very small.

The shower-room was compact. We did not have any soap provided, and used a pump dispenser shower gel which was fixed to the wall. Our towels felt quite thin and rough, but there was a good supply available. Both bathroom and bedroom were very clean.

Our breakfasts were excellent, with a good selection of hot and cold food, fresh fruits and drinks available, with friendly service, and breakfast was served in an attractive dining area/cafe.
The other public areas of the hotel also looked impressive, including the rooftop bar.

We found the hotel location really convenient and we enjoyed the view of the Tower of London and Tower Bridge from the hotel.

We had selected the upgrade request when booking online. On arrival, the receptionist told us our request was declined, but the receptionist could still upgrade us. However, this would cost four times more than the upgrade price quoted at the time I booked online. This felt like a bit of con. Perhaps the reception staff do not get a commission on online upgrades, so they want you to upgrade on arrival instead for a higher rate? The original online room booking rate was good value.

Room Tip: A member of staff told us that Executive rooms are no larger than Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,872
    2,090
    537
    145
    90
See reviews for
750
2,473
198
1,397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

From the moment I checked in I knew this was going to be an impressive stay. The reception staff were excellent. I arrived early and the check in staff allocated next an available room.
My room was on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel and there was no road mouse.
The standard of the room was very high, very clean a well appointed. The TV was a Mac PC... A first!!!

I didn't use the restaurant but did really enjoy the Sky Lounge... Fantastic cocktails with incredible views of The Tower of London and the London skyline....

Overall a very very impressive hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jenx2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The staff are so helpful i cannot recommend this hotel enough. Breakfast again fantastic. Really helpful polite and quick service. If you are staying in London use this hotel! The only thing i didnt like was the natural kitchen resturant attached to the hotel slapped a massive service charge on our bill ( should have read the small print )!!!! Rooms are great and have imacs in them allowing you free internet access and free wifi and it means you can skype. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samiebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great hotel and location. Handy for tube and buses. The upgrade was a good deal. It included a bigger room, breakfast, access to the executive lounge (free drinks - beer and wine between 17:30 and 20:00) and a late checkout. Views from the rooftop bar were great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a very well located, clean and efficient hotel ideally positioned for business travellers. We had a King Executive room which was well worth the GBP 15 "on arrival" upgrade. The common areas are very tidy and well laid out. Front desk with attentive desk staff supported by a roving team.

Skybar very pleasant end of day but with a good terrace for the enthusiastic winter visitor at this time of year!

Good restaurant facilities again with efficient friendly service

Transport links are good for London City airport, Underground and Liverpool St/Fenchurch St Stations. Victoria and Blackfriars easily accessible by Underground. Be aware that access to London Gatwick via London Bridge will be disrupted for the next 4 years with the reconstruction project underway. No easy routes to Heathrow.

Room Tip: There are building works outside the hotel which are not particularly noisy and restricted to 0800 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Myself and 15 members of my family stayed here on the 29th November to 2nd December 2013 and loved every minuet of it.. The service from staff was second to none, nothing was any bother to them. Rooms was spotless with apple mac televisions and free toiletries and water. tea / coffee facilities in each room. The free hot cookie on check in was a nice touch. We also got vouchers for a couple of free drinks at the bar. Great location for Tower of London and Tower Bridge. Also only a few steps away from the Tower Hill Tube station. The Sky Lounge bar is amazing with fantastic views of Tower Bridge/Tower of London on one side and the Girkin on the other..The Hotel has a Restaurant and Café and a drinks and food counter in the Hotel Lobby which serves free tea/coffee all day.and to top all this we had celebrities in the hotel at the same time. BoyZone was staying there and we had photos taken with them...would not hesitate to return. well done staff at Double Tree Hotel Tower Bridge London. 10/10.

Room Tip: I had the view of the Gurkin and was on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed for one night here following an evening out in the City of London. The hotel is very well situated close to transportation, the Tower of London and Tower Bridge. Despite its location close to all of these, it's situated on very quiet roads and is therefore a very calm place to be! The soundproofing appears to be very good. Despite facing outwards and towards Fenchurch Sreet Station I couldn't hear anything from outside.

The skyline bar is very cool with excellent views of Tower Bridge and The Shard.

As a HHonors Diamond, I was pleased to be upgraded to the top floor (floor 10) - they're called Executive Rooms but I suspect they're not really any different from other rooms in terms of layout or space - but the few extra touches of biscuits, wine etc were very welcome!

The room was very warm when I arrived, but I called reception and they sent an engineer immediately to kick start the aircon which was done without needing access to the room. Unfortunately this then made the room very cold!! However it was better cold than hot and I accepted it as it was!

There is a small opening window which is nice if you prefer fresh air. My view was towards the Gherkin but unfortunately most of that building was obscured by other buildings which was a shame!

However, all was good. The room was clean and functional, the location great, the bed very comfortable.. and not too expensive for Central London!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatT1Feeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#172 of 1,069 in London
4,066 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#85 of 1,069 in London
3,329 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing