We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$309
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,311)
Filter reviews
6,312 results
Traveller rating
3,155
2,263
603
172
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,155
2,263
603
172
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungerooftop bartower hill tube stationnatural kitchencity cafeapple tvdouble treewarm cookiesthe executive loungeon arrivaltop floorweekend breakmodern hoteldecent sizewest endfull englishimac
Filter
Updating list...
3,592 - 3,597 of 6,312 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Overvalued, institutional, uncomfortable hotel. Not even a coffee / tea facility in the rooms. Avoid the restaurant ( City Cafe ) at all costs : over-cooked and inedible steak, cold chips and a side salad without even a hint of dressing, together with a wrong bill doesnt make for good reviews.
The bar has an amazing view though, and even the drunk Xmas revellers where unable to spoil that.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the atrium afford the hotel a view of inside your room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear 'Anthony B',

I'm really sorry your experience at City Cafe restaurant has led to this review on trip advisor and for how this had effected your enjoyment of this stay. I have asked our team to investigate your feedback and in the meantime please are you able to contact me so we can understand the details of your visit? Please call +44 (0)207 709 1000 and ask to be transferred to me. I hope we are able to speak very soon (thank you).

I do need to mention that all of our guest rooms provide tea and coffee making facilities, located in the drawer of our guest room desks, and I apologise you had not realised this or if you hadn’t been inclined to ask us during your stay. Thank you for visiting the Skylounge, which is a fantastic place to head to especially during the festive season!

Once again I hope we can speak soon regarding the above and I deeply apologise you had needed to complain about your meal and that you were presented with the incorrect bill. I want to assure you that this is a far cry from the fantastic comments we regularly receive from our guests and visitors who dine in City Cafe, and I hope we can put this right and welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We've spent one night at this hotel. The night before we stayed at the Double Tree by Hilton at Marble Arch, which is why we could directly compare both Hotels.
From my point of view the Double Tree at Tower of London is the better Hotel than the one at the Marble Arch.
The room was nicely equipped, very clean and perfectly isolated against noise from outside the Hotel. This was one of the most refreshing sleeps I've ever had in London.
The rest of the Hotel is what you expect from a Double Tree by Hilton. Great service, ideal location and a fantastic view from the roof top.
I can recoomend this Hotel not only for business trips but also for city trips with friends if you're willing to pay a certain price for your accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_m13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us following your visit to the DoubleTree Marble Arch and I'm delighted we didn't disappoint! Thank you for mentioning you had experienced a perfect night's sleep, which pleases us no end, and it is great that you consider us to be a great place to stay for both a business stay or for leisure.

We are lucky to have a fantastic location near to many key tourist spots and I hope you can come back and enjoy a weekend at the DoubleTree Tower of London soon!

In the meantime please let us know if we can be of any further help,

Kindest regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room looks and feels like a US motel - a pity for the property and location, the room was decent size and I had a prime view of the Tower and Tower Bridge. Everything in the room works, but there was nothing in the bar and the furnishings could have come from Ikea.

Room Tip: Ask for one on an upper floor with view of the Tower.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_Stibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent a week in this hotel and were pleased overall but a couple of things keeps me from rating it 5 overall. The proximity to the Tower of London tube station is definitely a plus, the customer service over the top. The biggest negative for us was the room temperature. Our room was very warm and despite attempts to deal with the situation, the only solution was to open the window. That worked fine to cool off the room, however, our room face the interior and the noise from the Sky Lounge was very loud and continued long into the night. The breakfast was more than adequate and we also ate in the Natural Kitchen and City Cafe. The food was O.K., nothing really special but, again, the service was impeccable. We probably would have preferred a regular flat screen TV but the Mac worked well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KansasJudyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a three night weekend stay in an executive room. The room was a fairly compact size. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet and a pleasant temperature so we had a good night's sleep. We found there was limited hanging and storage space for our clothes, which might be a drawback if you are staying for more than a couple of days. The room decor was plain, with bare white walls. The furniture looked basic and the brown carpet felt quite thin. The TV screen was very small.

The shower-room was compact. We did not have any soap provided, and used a pump dispenser shower gel which was fixed to the wall. Our towels felt quite thin and rough, but there was a good supply available. Both bathroom and bedroom were very clean.

Our breakfasts were excellent, with a good selection of hot and cold food, fresh fruits and drinks available, with friendly service, and breakfast was served in an attractive dining area/cafe.
The other public areas of the hotel also looked impressive, including the rooftop bar.

We found the hotel location really convenient and we enjoyed the view of the Tower of London and Tower Bridge from the hotel.

We had selected the upgrade request when booking online. On arrival, the receptionist told us our request was declined, but the receptionist could still upgrade us. However, this would cost four times more than the upgrade price quoted at the time I booked online. This felt like a bit of con. Perhaps the reception staff do not get a commission on online upgrades, so they want you to upgrade on arrival instead for a higher rate? The original online room booking rate was good value.

Room Tip: A member of staff told us that Executive rooms are no larger than Deluxe rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews