We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but service needs to be improved” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #222 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but service needs to be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Brand new hotel. Nice rooms, bath room a bit too small. Service is really poor. Waiting lines for check in, to have breakfast and too many personnel running around, with no coordination. It is about time somebody brings order.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear 'Dutchie2'

We're really sorry to hear there had been elements of your stay that had fallen short of our usual high standards. Per my private message, I hope there will be an opportunity for us to discuss your feedback further and once again we sincerely apologise.

I hope we can be successful in restoring your faith in our service levels & hotel product, and welcome you back to the DoubleTree Tower of London in the future,

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,707
    1,947
    510
    129
    78
See reviews for
682
2,311
188
1,317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenside, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently stayed at the DT - Tower of London for four nights while visiting London. I was very impressed by hotel! The location is very convenient to Tower Hill Tube station. We could see the Tower Bridge from our room and the room itself was spotless. We had an executive room which included breakfast and an evening cocktail hour - both were wonderful! I couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear 'Janet L'

Thank you for the great feedback, we're delighted you had been pleased with your choice of hotel and thank you for taking advantage of our Executive package with lounge access, I hope our evening canapés were a nice addition to your weekend's activities!

Do let us know if ever you are planning to return (we hope you will!).

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very central location (handy for a number of London attractions and business hubs), friendly staff - housekeeping particularly very efficient, great breakfast too. The Natural Kitchen restaurant there serves excellent food! Had issues with the internet/wifi access throughout my stay - a bit disappointed on this point.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Omoribake I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear 'Omoribake I'

Thank you for your positive review, though we are saddened to hear you experienced issues with wi-fi during your stay and we sincerely apologise.

I hope the use of our in room iMac had been helpful in respect to this, though we are very sorry if you had intended to use your own device and weren't able to do so.

If ever we can be of any assistance in the future please let us know. I would love to assist in ensuring any return stay, is not marred with the same issues.

Thank you and please contact me if I can help you with anything further.

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were very pleased with the hotel and service there was good and friendly. The room was reserved almost half a year before traveling and we roughly paid less than 50% from later listed price. We also reserved an option for upgrade beforehand (which cost then almost half the price comparing normal price for the upgrade) and it was totally worth the money. The upgrade included e.g. room from the 9th floor, newspaper, breakfast and access to executive lounge.
The breakfast was great what you can expect from this kind of hotel. There is everything that you really can expect including bacon and scrambled eggs. ;) Only "minus" was that although the bacon was good.... if it were crispy it would have been perfect. The executive lounge was also good. Nice little resting place with news papers, soft drinks, cookies, coffee machine etc. And also from 5-8 pm there were tapas like snacks and alcoholic beverages offered.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for us. The bed was comfortable and four quite good pillows made sure of a good night sleep. Safety box, free wifi and computer were also welcome additions. Only minus was that we were not sure did the air conditioners anything else than noise. It did not seem to have any effect and the room felt often a little humid. Also the machine had to be turned off during night because otherwise it would have disturbed our sleeping. This was not a big problem, but in a hot summer day it might be.
Tourist attractions Tower bridge, London Tower and HMS Belfast are very near to hotel and are therefore easy to go. Also tube stations to different service lines Tower hill (~200m), Aldgate (~500m) and Bank (~1km) are near which makes moving around very easy.
From Gatwick airport to hotel the easiest and cheapest (super off-peak one way tickets ~15£ from two) way to move was First Capital Connect train, which comes to London Bridge station. From there it's ~1,5km to hotel by walk or taxi.

Room Tip: Remember to take upgrade option before hand. It is cheaper then and the upgrade is worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear 'Milekat'

Thank you for your in depth review of your stay at the DoubleTree Tower of London and we will ensure your further comments can be taken on board (I apologise you had found our bacon not to be very crispy).

I'm delighted you were able to give us full marks in your review (thank you!) and we hope to see you again soon,

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My wife, son and I stayed at this hotel for 8 days. The hotel is in an excellent location for tours, trains, tube and the Tower or London. The staff is incredibly helpful and knowledgable. The room was clean, but small. The only issues we had were with the shower door - we had to call multiple times to get it fixed over many days. Also the wifi in the room was poor. The cookies the hotel supplies are excellent and a nice treat at the end of a long day of site seeing and walking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TAC1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear 'TAC1414'

Thank you for your recent review and for selecting the DoubleTree Tower of London as your chosen hotel for this family holiday in London!

I do really apologise however, that you had experienced an issue with the shower door in your room as well as the wi fi signal. If you do have any time to write to us to confirm the room number you had stayed in, I will ensure this is thoroughly checked in case this requires any further attention and I'm very sorry for how this had effected your stay overall.

I hope this would not deter you from visiting us again and I thank you for being honest in your feedback for how we can improve,

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Really enjoyed our second stay.
A friend had arranged for a delivery of flowers to our room, and said the reception staff were so helpful.
Glad we gave it a second chance.
The breakfast charge of £21+ is a bit steep so used the adjacent restaurant.......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear 'Chris W'

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback from your return stay at our hotel. I'm so sorry your previous visit had not been as enjoyable as it should have been, however we really appreciate being given another chance to put this right and thank you for sharing that our reception team in particular had made a great lasting impression.

I hope there are future opportunities to welcome you back to our hotel and in the meantime please contact me if ever I can be of any assistance,

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stay here regularly when down in London during the week and always find the Hilton Doubletree at Tower Hill a destination in itself!

Staff at reception are very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel itself is very well located close to Tower Gateway DLR and Tower Hill tube and the beds are extremely comfortable.

The restaurants and bars are all good - views from the roof top bar at night are amazing although I prefer to drink downstairs at the more local and friendly ground level bar at Natural Kitchen where you can sit at a stool, order from the bar menu and chat with the staff or whoever is passing by. It's a great place to meet other guests. Food also is excellent, whether the breakfasts or dinners. I always now book without breakfast included and get mine in Natural Kitchen which is in hotel but not part of the Hilton apparently - despite this you can still put meals and drinks on your room.

Only real beef is with the building works in the area which can be a bit noisy during the day.

There are a number of other big hotels in the area and it's very easy to pick up cabs at any hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGlashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear 'McGlashan'

Thank you for choosing to return to the DoubleTree Tower of London, I'm thrilled you have been inclined to treat us as your chosen 'base' when in London and I hope this may continue for some time!

I do apologise however that you have felt concerned about nearby construction works in the area and that at times this has been noisy. If ever you feel inclined to offer us any further information, this will be shared with the project team for these works who are closely regulated by the City of London to ensure any disruption is kept to a minimum.

Thank you for rating us highly overall which we really appreciate and once again please let us know if ever you wish to offer us any of your further observations.

With kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#177 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing