We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #260 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Following a mix-up over rooms when checking in, I spoke to Guest Relations Manager Giota who sorted the problem immediately, gave us complimentary drinks and snacks and ensured everything was in order each time she saw us. I would return just for her helpfulness and her smile. The sky bar which serves food outside, weather permitting, has great views of The Tower, The Shard and Tower Bridge. The food in the City Restaurant was very average. There were only 4 tables occupied but they forgot our pudding course and had to be reminded. Beware that there is a 12.5 % service charge added to all bills for food and drink. My partner suffers from claustrophobia and cannot travel in elevators but the solitary staircase is difficult to find.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors have poor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear 'Martin N'

Thank you for your review, we are investigating your feedback with our team to ensure we can make improvements to the areas you have highlighted and I'm very sorry for how this will have effected your stay overall.

I'm pleased to hear Giota had been able to offer her assistance and hope there will be an opportunity for you to return. Should you ever plan to do this, please let Giota know and she can ensure that any return stay is a vast improvement in every aspect.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,044 - 3,050 of 5,894 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

My partner and I were welcomed warmly in a beautiful reception. We only stayed for one night but could of stayed for more it was lovely! The rooms were spacious, modern and very clean with great amenities!
The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is the views from the rooms which were quite disappointing given the great location.
Oh, and if you visit the amazing sky bar in the hotel, and you're on a budget, only stay for one as we paid £20 for two drinks but prices were justified due to the surroundings and atmosphere of the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi 'Fiona H'

Thank you for your review! Though we're really sorry you had been a little disappointed by the views from your room. Unfortunately many of our rooms have restricted views due to the many buildings in close proximity to us, however we hope our guests find that the views from Skylounge help to make up for it...

Do let us know if ever you plan to return,

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have stayed in Doubletree hotels before, and this one had the fresh baked cookies on check-in. What it had that put it over the top compared to many other hotels:Fantastic location ( less than 3 minute walk from the Tower Hill underground), thoughtful touches like a bottle of wine and snacks left for you upon check-in, and free bottles of water daily. Each room has Imac that serves as both a computer and a television. The views from the hotel are of the Thames, Tower bridge and the tower of London. The hotel has excellent service- the staff were great. There is a coffee and drinks bar in the lobby, which is pleasant, a cafe in the hotel, and another good restaurant ( the natural kitchen) attached to the hotel. It's a nice part of London to stay in- but be warned that when the guidebooks say the CITY clears out on the weekend, they aren't kidding. No one is there when work is closed, and most of the restaurants in the area close as well- until Monday. .

Room Tip: Stay higher up to get the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear 'Alison W'

Thank you for your review and for giving us 'top marks' for your stay overall! We're delighted you had loved the added benefit of having your own imac, and our facilities on offer hadn't disappointed. You are right from a business point of view, that many of the nearby buildings will be empty at the weekend, however our 'hot tourist spots' are still very much buzzing during the weekend period! A short walk away, restaurants and bars are open and will be welcoming customers. If ever we can be of help in the future to recommend places to visit do let our Guest Services team know.

Thank you again for your fantastic comments and do come and see us in the future!

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Brand new hotel. Nice rooms, bath room a bit too small. Service is really poor. Waiting lines for check in, to have breakfast and too many personnel running around, with no coordination. It is about time somebody brings order.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dutchie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear 'Dutchie2'

We're really sorry to hear there had been elements of your stay that had fallen short of our usual high standards. Per my private message, I hope there will be an opportunity for us to discuss your feedback further and once again we sincerely apologise.

I hope we can be successful in restoring your faith in our service levels & hotel product, and welcome you back to the DoubleTree Tower of London in the future,

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently stayed at the DT - Tower of London for four nights while visiting London. I was very impressed by hotel! The location is very convenient to Tower Hill Tube station. We could see the Tower Bridge from our room and the room itself was spotless. We had an executive room which included breakfast and an evening cocktail hour - both were wonderful! I couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear 'Janet L'

Thank you for the great feedback, we're delighted you had been pleased with your choice of hotel and thank you for taking advantage of our Executive package with lounge access, I hope our evening canapés were a nice addition to your weekend's activities!

Do let us know if ever you are planning to return (we hope you will!).

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very central location (handy for a number of London attractions and business hubs), friendly staff - housekeeping particularly very efficient, great breakfast too. The Natural Kitchen restaurant there serves excellent food! Had issues with the internet/wifi access throughout my stay - a bit disappointed on this point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Omoribake I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear 'Omoribake I'

Thank you for your positive review, though we are saddened to hear you experienced issues with wi-fi during your stay and we sincerely apologise.

I hope the use of our in room iMac had been helpful in respect to this, though we are very sorry if you had intended to use your own device and weren't able to do so.

If ever we can be of any assistance in the future please let us know. I would love to assist in ensuring any return stay, is not marred with the same issues.

Thank you and please contact me if I can help you with anything further.

Kind regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were very pleased with the hotel and service there was good and friendly. The room was reserved almost half a year before traveling and we roughly paid less than 50% from later listed price. We also reserved an option for upgrade beforehand (which cost then almost half the price comparing normal price for the upgrade) and it was totally worth the money. The upgrade included e.g. room from the 9th floor, newspaper, breakfast and access to executive lounge.
The breakfast was great what you can expect from this kind of hotel. There is everything that you really can expect including bacon and scrambled eggs. ;) Only "minus" was that although the bacon was good.... if it were crispy it would have been perfect. The executive lounge was also good. Nice little resting place with news papers, soft drinks, cookies, coffee machine etc. And also from 5-8 pm there were tapas like snacks and alcoholic beverages offered.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for us. The bed was comfortable and four quite good pillows made sure of a good night sleep. Safety box, free wifi and computer were also welcome additions. Only minus was that we were not sure did the air conditioners anything else than noise. It did not seem to have any effect and the room felt often a little humid. Also the machine had to be turned off during night because otherwise it would have disturbed our sleeping. This was not a big problem, but in a hot summer day it might be.
Tourist attractions Tower bridge, London Tower and HMS Belfast are very near to hotel and are therefore easy to go. Also tube stations to different service lines Tower hill (~200m), Aldgate (~500m) and Bank (~1km) are near which makes moving around very easy.
From Gatwick airport to hotel the easiest and cheapest (super off-peak one way tickets ~15£ from two) way to move was First Capital Connect train, which comes to London Bridge station. From there it's ~1,5km to hotel by walk or taxi.

Room Tip: Remember to take upgrade option before hand. It is cheaper then and the upgrade is worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear 'Milekat'

Thank you for your in depth review of your stay at the DoubleTree Tower of London and we will ensure your further comments can be taken on board (I apologise you had found our bacon not to be very crispy).

I'm delighted you were able to give us full marks in your review (thank you!) and we hope to see you again soon,

Kindest regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#165 of 1,076 in London
4,157 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#86 of 1,076 in London
3,929 reviews
The Tower
#269 of 1,076 in London
6,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £121 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing