We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for weekend visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #241 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location for weekend visit”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We needed a base for a number of visits through the weekend and this met the requirement, even though Tower Hill underground was closed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome even though they were clearly very busy. We had a room facing into the hotel which was very quiet - the views of the outside buildings are nothing spectacular, the roof bar views are fantastic and worth a visit. Very comprehensive breakfast buffet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soil_management
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving your stay 'top marks' overall! We're sorry to hear Tower Hill tube had been closed during your stay and I hope our guest services team could help with advice on getting around during this time.

If you find you are returning (we hope that you will!) and there is anything we can do to help make your stay feel that little bit more special, please contact us anytime,

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,846
    2,061
    531
    142
    89
See reviews for
739
2,441
196
1,385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. When we arrived, the staff were very cheerful and checked us in quickly. We were given a cookie, which we enjoyed in our room with a coffee. Plenty of tea and coffee making facilities and no problem to replenish if you run out. The room was very clean, the bedding was lovely and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean, lots off accessories, shower gel, shampoo etc. The towels were fluffy and white. We received a call from the hotel to check we were happy with our room, nice touch. The rooftop bar has amazing views! We didn't eat breakfast here as it was a bit expensive. However, underneath the hotel and can be reached from inside the hotel, is a restaurant/cocktail bar called The Natural Kitchen. We ate breakfast here, it was great! Also happy hour in the afternoons are brilliant for cocktails and other drinks! This hotel is situated really well for different attractions, VERY friendly and would recommend to anyone to stay here! Thank you for a lovely time over Easter!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear 'Claire G'

Thank you so much for remembering to leave us a review after your stay during the Easter break. It sounds like you had a fabulous time and I'm delighted your experience at our hotel had added to this!

We're extremely grateful you would not hesitate to recommend us to others (thank you) and we hope to see you again very soon. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance when you next plan to come to London, we'd be very pleased to help!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 2 minute walk from tower hill tube station
The staff at the check in desk were great, even though there was decent size queue checking it was really quite quick. The room was ok not massive but it worked
Same with the bathroom but no bath in their, not big enough for that. The room was very clean which is a must and it delivers on cleanliness 10/10
The big bonus with this hotel is the sky bar the views over London are the best I've seen from a hotel and at night time it really is awesome.
Breakfast was very good, busy but good again the staff are very obliging
There is also an outside seating area serving food & drinks this hard to walk past without grabbing a drink before going to your room
Their was 6 of us in our group and everyone said they had a great stay and would return in the future
Great weekend thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear 'Pete D'

Thank you for saying you had a great weekend when staying at the DoubleTree Tower of London. I'm pleased to hear that despite there being a queue when you arrived at Reception, our team worked hard to check you in quickly, that’s really great.

I apologise the size of your room had felt a little on the small side. We do find compared to other hotels in London, our rooms are of a good size, but maybe if you plan to return you might like to look into any deals that might be available to stay in a Suite? Our Suites would offer additional living space and a larger bathroom (with separate bath tub).

If there is anything we can help you with do contact us.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in a king room and found this a great location to see London. A few minutes walk from Tower Hill tube got us all over the city. Staff were friendly and efficient and we really liked the restaurant called Natural Kitchen which had really healthy fresh food and a happy hour daily on drinks. Our room was comfortable and everything worked!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear 'BrisbaneBetty'

Thank you for your kind review! It’s especially nice to hear that during your 10 night stay, the service received and the facilities you were able to enjoy remained consistent. We feel that's particularly important that you experience the same levels of service, any time of day, any day of the week.

I hope your journey back to Brisbane (Australia) had been smooth, or perhaps you decided to explore other parts of the United Kingdom or Europe?? If so, I hope this was fun!

Thank you again for the great feedback and do come and see us, and our Hilton Family of hotels, in the future!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I spent 3 nights at the DoubleTree - Tower of London. What a great location - really handy (2 minutes) to the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, a 15 - 20 minute walk to St Pauls, the Millennium Bridge, and the attractions along the Queens Walk.

The icing on the cake, and a huge bonus as far as location went was right next to the Tower was where all the hop on hop off buses stopped. I used these to get around central London and see the sights - so it worked really well to be able to get off at the Tower stop and be 2 minutes walk back to the Hotel. The river cruises also have a jetty right below the Tower, so again the Hotel was an excellent location to get on the river down to Westminster.

The Hotel itself is modern with a nice fit-out, and the room comfortable. The free wifi worked well. The bed was comfortable, and I was able to get a good nights sleep.

I had breakfast and dinner at the Hotel - the food was nice, and the service good. The breakfast buffet worked well, and had a good range of continental and cooked options.

The Concierge service was friendly, helpful, able to make bookings, and gave good advice for attractions, getting about, and travel connections.

All up I enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree, and would happily stay there again if in London. The location worked better than I thought it would, which was a real plus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear 'Ross W'

Thank you for your detailed & positive review of your stay at DoubleTree Tower of London! I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Restaurant and Guest Services teams in particular, who appear to have made a really great impression during your time at the hotel, which is great to hear.

There are so many ways to get around the City, and taking a river cruise is a very pleasant way to get about, it's great you found time to do this!

Please get in touch if there is anything we can assist you with in the future.

Take care!
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I spent five nights at the Doubletree Hilton Tower of London in May. Overall, the hotel was pretty good. Rooms are relatively tight which seems pretty standard for London but the rooms are very functional. The bathrooms are pretty tiny though.

I made really good use of the gym during my visit. It is also relatively small but had all I needed.

I found service pretty good overall. Check in and check out was efficient, friendly and helpful. A good business hotel. It also has a tube station very close by, Tower Hill, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel and for saying you were pleased with the hotel overall. I sense there were several aspects of your stay that could have been better and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

If ever you would like to discuss this further please do let us know, and once again thank you for sharing your comments.

Kind regards,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great location (near you can find buses, subway, DLR), near the Thames, excellent services, breakfeast perfects, you have all you need in the bedrooms. Lounge bar in the roof with a point of vue. Nothing to say except it's a very good plan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacques C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#170 of 1,068 in London
4,034 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#82 of 1,068 in London
3,295 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing