We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #258 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on reasonable value in the capital but were pleased with the overall experience. A friendly welcome was a good start. We had an executive King which is about average size for the capital and it is well fitted out, if a bit soulless.Our room looked out over the Gerkin and some rooms would look out over the atrium or the Tower. The rooms have their Mac which acts as TV, computer and business centre (you can print directly to the main desk). There is fast free internet throughout. There were tea and coffee facilities, and iron and board and the room was spotless. The bed was extremley comfortable and firm although the pillows were a bit soft. The sound proofing is excellent.A small opening window allowed air to circulateThe staff at the desk were very helpful and they knew their stuff and had no language barriers. The Sky bar on floor 12 has great views over the Tower of London which is a couple of minutes walk away. The great thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Tower and London bridge. You can be at Tower Hill tube station in a few minutes or Fenchurch station. The 15 bus runs from the main road to the strand regularly or if you want to walk it is about 40 along Fleet and Canon Streets to say the Adelphi Theatre/Savoy area. You can take the tube on the northern line from Euston to Bank and then you are about 10 minutes walk away.
The ground floor executive lounge is provided soft drinks and tea and coffee all day with wine/beer and some snacks in the evening. A more limited breakfast was served here compared to the main restaurant but a quieter setting in a fairly small room.
Well done everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KMN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,733 - 2,739 of 5,898 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Starting with localization, just great - 2 min walk from tube station, near London Tower. Extremely friendly staff - at check-in (fast, sympathetic, professional), a small problem with my internet booking (wrongly accessible room booked) was solved smoothly by the staff before I even had realized the mistake. Room was relative small (queen suite) but comfortable and very clean. We opted for not having breakfast in hotel, but plenty of good options nearby. My suggestion for improvements: blackout curtains more efficient and increase security for accessing floors with keycard in the elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BRATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Got a special deal on an executive room for one night and had a fantastic time. The room wasn't ready on arrival but I was made welcome with a coffee whilst I waited. It was a comfortable room with a view of the 'guerkin' and the best thing was that it was totally sound proofed and we didn't hear anyone else the entire stay. After having drinks in the executive lounge which was a nice surprise that was included in the package, we went to the sky lounge in the evening which had amazing views across the Thames and the Tower. My top tip is to pay £5 and have breakfast brought to the room it was delicious and made for a lovely lazy morning as checkout wasn't until 3pm.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yummymum507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I normally check In and out of hotels without ever having to approach the front desk (apart from paying!) on this trip though I needed help from various members of staff. I found every one of them to be professional and beyond accommodating. The location is wonderful with the Tower Hill tube stop two minutes away and we were lucky enough to overlook Tower Bridge from our room. Breakfast was really good with staff who yet again went out of their way to provide whatever we could possibly want. We had some snacks in the nice little bistro place on the ground floor which was very pleasant and seemed popular with guests and non- residents alike. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking Tower Bridge is a real bonus. 9th floor to the front of the hotel was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Marvellous hotel. Excellent location close to underground, cafes. bars and Tower of London.

Friendliest staff you could imagine.

Comfortable room...ours had a view of the Shard.All amenities.

Reasonably priced.

A real gem.....just book it!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

..Alfa hotel.Absolute pleasure.Nice,modern,clean,beautiful etc. etc.We travelled with a big
family and everybody was happy about this hotel . No pool is the only minus,views from top floor bar big plus.Special thanks for the best Wi-Fi met so far.It does not need any -really any- tricks to
work!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for one night only in July. You always get a warm cookie on arrival which is great. We didn't really like our room on arrival so we upgraded. I recommend this! For an extra £10 each breakfast is included and you have use of a complimentary room offering tea, coffee, wine and nibbles for a couple hours. (this was great as raining when we arrived!) Tower Bridge tube station is a 2 min walk away and there is a cocktail bar at the top of the hotel with views over Tower Bridge, very pretty. We had issues with room service but this was dealt with on checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank laurencem762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#165 of 1,076 in London
4,159 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#86 of 1,076 in London
3,929 reviews
The Tower
#267 of 1,076 in London
6,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £121 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing