We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new hotel - Sky lounge has amazing views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #265 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Myself and my boyfriend have just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. First impression of the hotel, was very smart, clean and modern. Staff were very friendly, plus it was 2 min walk from Tower Hill tube station (however, def check to see if there is any major work going on with the tube, as 2 of the 4 days we were there, we couldnt use the Tower Hill tube as most of the tubes had been cancelled due to work. Bank station was about 10-15 mins walk and this tube was working. Also about 5 mins walk there is the DLR which you can use. Thought i would mention this though, as we booked this hotel as it was near enough in the centre, but due to tubes being closed took about 40 mins to get to picadilly/oxford st etc and this would usually take about 1o mins. Anyway we got given a room on the tenth floor, the room was lovely, safe in the room, IMAC computer, which was also tv and the bathroom was really nice. Even got bathrobes to use. Our room was in the middle of the hotel, which over looked the other rooms, this we didnt like. We asked to change room to a city view and they arranged this for us straight away, no problem what so ever. Breakfast first morning, was a little bit of a problem. We ordered and had to wait nearly 55 mins until it arrived, and then it came out wrong. The manager spoke to us after though and offered us money off our next stay. The following 2 mornings, our bfast was lovely and didnt have to wait long at all. Sky lounge was the best thing about the hotel for us, great views of Tower bridge and the Tower of London. Drinks are quite pricey, but worth it for the views and the surroundings of the bar. The staff even made a cocktail they recommended from what i liked and it was very yummy. All in all, we had a lovely stay, loved how modern and contempary the hotel is.We would like to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GILL02091984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,042 - 5,048 of 6,174 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

stayed 2 nights. Got into our room nice and early, the hotel is obviously spanking new and it seemed very quiet in terms of the amount of people there during our stay. Our room looked into the courtyard ( across the city would have been nicer), the rooms are compact but well equiped. The hotel info says you can get DVD's /CD's from their music library to use on the Mac but when we enquired we were told they only had DVD's no music! Staff were generaly very friendly and helpfull. The skylounge has great veiws we had lunch there and the food was really good , typicaly pricey for a London hotel, we charged it to our room so I felt it was a bit of a cheek to charge us extra for service. Breakfast on our first morning was a disaster, we waited ages to order coffee and a cooked breakfast and even longer for it to come. When it did everything was cold. Aparently the electricity in the kitchen had gone off! After sending it back we had breakfast from the buffet. On our second morning everything was obviously working again and the breakfast was great (Teething problems of a new hotel hopefully). The hotel is situated very close to the underground, however a word of warning, Check there isn't any major underground work planned during your stay, as all the lines running in this direction were off sat/sun and it was a long walk with bags to Bank station to get back to Kings Cross. Overall we'd stay again, very quiet room and comfy bed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afrababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIntHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Dear reviewer,

Thanks for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay in general. We did indeed have a power issue that morning but it has been resolved and will not be an issue again. Hopefully you'll have the chance to come back again soon!

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed for two nights on business. Hotel just 30secs walk to Tower Hill tube station or to Fenchurch Rail station. Very clean as you would expect for a new hotel. Rooms are larger than average with a comfy bed, in-room safe and a top quality apple computer/entertainment system. Free wifi throughout the hotel is a huge positive. I wa highly impressed with the service and courtesy of all staff; every staff member speaks to you as you walk by them, I asked to extend my check out and this was done immediately and efficiently and without charge. In summary very impressed, happy to recommend and will stay again

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Staff was very friendly, helpfull and efficient. Room was compact, but not too small and very comfortable (excellent bed), clean, silent and nicely equipped (iMac,bath ropes, coffee/tea facilities, safe, iron etc). The Skylounge offers spectacular views.
Overall: very happy with our 3 night stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

A very new hotel recently opened great lobby very spacious and light and so it all smells new and spanking, we checked in for 2 nights, a good welcome from staff, helped with luggage and they valet parked the car in the secure hotel car park, £20.00 which is good value for 24 hours, the check in was a little clunky the systems weren't working efficiently so left stranded for some good 10 minutes plus whilst they tried to input data this really isn't good, however a manager appeared suggested to the reception staff that they input credit card info later, luggage arrived swiftly, was shown all the gadgets IMac TV with keyboard all excellent, room spotless on both days apart from 2 items left behind by chambermaid in bathroom !....The Sky lounge has good cocktails and champagne selection, nice attentive informal service, chatty head barman who remembered me from a previous visit with stunning views over the Tower of London and Tower Bridge a lovely place to have drinks before going out. Very comfortable beds good linen with an opening window so fresh air as well as air con and in the morning superb breakfasts with smiley service, the cooked breakfasts were very well cooked with very good quality ingredients, On departure check out was efficient but they omitted to ask about minibar drinks consumed (and had forgotten after a very late night) Good concierge desk and staff all very welcoming, we will return in a few weeks and doubtless some of the opening gremlins will have sorted themselves out

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank maxr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Rather than quote examples, EVERYTHING about this hotel was good and we would highly recommend it.
Special mention to all the staff. All so very helpful.
We spent a long weekend in London (Tesco Vouchers) doing all the tourist things. Open Top Bus, Boat Tour, 2 Shows, eating out etc. The hotel is about 3 minutes from Tower Hill tube, on the open top bus tour route and not too far to walk to many sights.
e.g. On Saturday morning we walked along th Thames to Trafalgar Square, about 2.5 miles, one hour.
The hotel has a fantastic view of Tower Bridge and the Tower of London and easy access to the South Bank.
Lots of places locally to eat and drink. We had a great weekend and will be back in the summer for more of the same.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForzaRobur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I stayed at the Mint Hotel, Tower Bridge last night with my husband as we both had business meetings in London as was looking for somewhere central to stay. The hotel is a few minutes walk from Tower Hill station and we were greeted by the friendly reception area. The hotel offers free wifi for all its guests as well as some additional guest services like dvds and information on bars and restaurants in the area. A short walk away is St Katherines Dock where there are some lovely bars and restaurants to grab a quick bite. The rooms are spacious and have all the mod cons required, the bed was very comfortable and the whole room was exceptionally clean. In the evening we went to the Sky Lounge for a couple of drinks and a chance to take in the views from the outside terrace. This bar has a very relaxed atmosphere and although the cocktails are pricey, they pack a punch!
Breakfast was extremely tasty and served quickly, with a variety of choice and fresh cooked options available.
Whilst there I did view the meeting room and conference facilities and was really impressed with the set up, I hope to be returning soon, not only for business but for lesiure too.
If you are thinking of this hotel, my advice would be to go ahead and book it, you will be pleased with your choice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KjBennett79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
The Tower
#264 of 1,081 in London
7,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#159 of 1,081 in London
4,284 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,081 in London
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £109 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing