We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time”
Review of Bayswater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bayswater Inn
Ranked #919 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Dinas Powys, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent time”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Why do moaners waste their time? This is a great little hotel, very handily placed near two tube stations, Queensway on the Circle line for the shops and theatres and Bayswater, which took us directly to Victoria on the way home. Pleasant staff, good sized family room, clean sheets and towels. Plenty for breakfast including cereals, toast, croissants, scrambled egg and sausages and beans as well as juices, teas and coffee. The area of Bayswater is lovely, a real buzz about the place and very safe. Great place to stay. It's not a 5 Star hotel - it's a 3 star. On our first day we had some spare time so we walked to Oxford Street through Hyde Park it was delightful and took us about 25 minutes. Book with confidence! Would definitely use again. Thanks all!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking Princes Garden was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    310
    515
    346
    541
See reviews for
470
530
101
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The Bayswater Hotel is ok if your in need of a bed for the night. The staff on the other hand are very helpful and bend over backwards to help you. Although its out of the hotels control, the parking outside is rubbish and the nearby ncp is overpriced.

It's a 3 story hotel with outdated decor and furniture. The rooms have all the usual features like freeview TV, kettle with drinks, hair dryer and bathroom bits.

Unfortunately the windows are outdated and let wind through as Victorian pull cord windows and is very noisy all night long with passing traffic.

The floors are slopping and carpet is old and dated.

Overall it is ok as I said for the overnight stay if caught short.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night after being transferred from another due to water damage in our room before we arrived. Upon arriving at the bayswater it was obvious that the owner didn't give a damn about this place, there were holes in the walls of the hallways cracks in the fake marble pillars and shredded cushions on the seats of the lobby. We were put in room 69, ground level and got a lovely view of a white brick wall from the windows which were barred up making us feel like prisoners, there were numerous stains on the carpet, the tv didn't work well the radio had no signal there was mould around the bathtub of which I have uploaded a photo and I wouldn't advise animals to stay here let alone humans!! If you are the owner of this hotel I urge you to do 2 things. Stay a night in here and then sack your maintenance man!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thehappysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

me and my family booked here for 2 nights when we checked in we noticed all the staff was forgein and verry hard to understand at first but we soon got used to them they directed us to the basement so we walked there but neally chocked with the smell as we walked in to are room we opened the curtens and what a shock we got the window was covered in bird poo but the view was worse it was a brick wall and the verry little milk they give us was sour so we changed room which was a lot better but far from perfect the beds where like the cheap nasty pontins ones the high light of the hotel was the breakfast it was amazing but on the hotel website it makes you think that there is a bar and there isnt to sum up if you want a cheap hotel to stay in and be the only english speaking person there this is the place for you

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben holaday b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a sixtieth birthday treat for my husband. I took the advice on this site and phoned and explained that we would like a decent room not in the basement. We got that alright, room 58, ground floor between the lift and the toilets. The room was clean but that is the best I can say about it. Basic and continuously noisy day and night. Breakfast was a joke. Too many people, no help from the staff and the cooked breakfast items were cold! When my husband complained about the room he was told "Sorry but that was the only double room left". If you have the misfortune to stay at this hotel, avoid room 58 at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Sept. 25, 2013 reservation
Booking confirmation - Reference: JMMQVJ

We had booked a room with you for 4 nights, from the 25th to the 29th. When my client arrived you told her you had cancelled her room, after giving one day notice that her credit card was changed. That is one day before we were even supposed to arrive!! Her credit card company had advised her to change her card because of an unidentified charge. Why should you cancel her room without her even arriving yet! When people are in transit they cannot pick up their emails immediately.
She now says you have charged her $217.68 CAD after you said you would take care of it and put her up in another hotel, with you covering the difference! Her original price for this room in your hotel was 110.00 GBP (which by the way is much more than when I booked the room in CAD)!
We DO EXPECT A REFUND because this was of no fault of my client, Gail Lambert. It was guaranteed to her credit card and would have been just fine. If you had oversold your hotel, that is not her fault. She did not cancel the room, you did.

Special sales and cancellation terms and conditions of this booking:
Booking made under Standard Condition, if guest cancelled the reservation 1 day prior to arrival date before check in time (02:00pm) then booking will cancelled without any charges. Any cancellation after that time will get charge for the first night.

I hope to hear from you very soon in answer to the two emails I have sent directly to the Bayswater email!!!

Room Tip: Did not stay in this hotel, they had cancelled it and charged us a LOT to find another hotel, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank junebug24Lihue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

just a helpful tip. all this bad reviews have one thing in commen.
they are all complaining about basement. just ring them up couple of days before and ask them to locate you on upper floor simple!. or check in early and talk to the receptionist give him a tip maybe and ask for a nice room. Im sure they will provide you with the best room.

I have stayed in this hotel couple of times and I must say its a decent hotel for great price, the staff are friendly the location is perfect. No other hotel can beat the price!
The Breakfast is decent but I must urge you to go before 7:30am as it gets too busy after

The bayswater and queensway underground/metro is 5 minute walk away
hyde park and kensington garden is 10 min away
Notting Hill / portobello market is 10 min walking

Room Tip: phone to request room upstairs before arrival have breakfast between 7am-8am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hzbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#282 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#851 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#603 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#830 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#495 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswater Inn

Property: Bayswater Inn
Address: 8-16 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #919 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Inn Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Bayswater, it was built in the 1900's and overlooks the picturesque views of Princes Gardens. The Hotel's location is also a stones throw away from Hyde Park. The Hotel's location borders some of London's most attractive vicinities to explore. Some of the top attractions in London are only moments away, this will be your ideal base to start your visit. The hotel is also minutes from Bayswater Tube station, Hyde Park, Notting Hill and Whiteley's shopping centre. Presenting over 140 bedrooms, which range from single to family rooms and arranged over six storey's, we strive to offer our guests the most comfortable and memorable experience that we hope your stay at the Bayswater Inn will exceed your expectations. Our recently refurbished lobby and Reception area, has stunning new marble floors and a stylish lounge adjacent to the modernized and transformed Reception desk. In addition, the contemporary Restaurant, serving breakfast every morning, has been superbly renovated to offer our guests a perfect setting overlooking the charming views of Princes Gardens, whilst indulging into our ample choice at the breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you to The Bayswater Inn Hotel and we wish you a very pleasant stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayswater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswater Hotel London
Bayswater Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing