We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service spoils the rating!!”
Review of Bayswater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayswater Inn
Ranked #920 of 1,069 Hotels in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad customer service spoils the rating!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Do not use your debit card for pre auth, when booking through the hotel booking agents.. I ended ùp paying twice as they take your card again on arrival!! On the first day of my holiday I was out of pocket £200 ! Manager was unhelpful and the rest of staff appalling. .. The customer service was terrible shame really as the hotel itself was very good apart from the breakfast which was nothing better than a hostel!!! Would never stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    320
    526
    352
    551
See reviews for
485
543
103
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, and did not get just one single smile from anybody off the staff. The breakfast was of such a poor quality, that they should rather drop it. On top of all this, you could smell the smoke from cigaretes all over the place. We will definitely not come back!

Room Tip: Sorry - keep away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christiansen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I am ashamed that overseas visitors have this experience in London. My room was dirty - walls, carpet and the furniture was broken and ill fitting. The bathroom had mould around the bath and the sink was badly cracked. The water took ages to empty from the bath. The breakfast room is too small and the food awful - the worst croissants in London. It is also not cheap and the owners should be ashamed of themselves. Either fully renovate the hotel or close it - it's a disgrace!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan_finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This started badly when we were allocated room 210 which we couldn't find. Eventually when the reception staff couldn't find it either we discovered there is no 210!! As has been mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is a little shabby, our loo seat was wobbly to breaking point and the shower was bizarre meaning that shower and bath tap could be on at the same time so the water flowed at an alarming rate!!
However, the hotel was very comfortable, lovely and quiet, we got a great night's sleep, and it was very well located. We left a gig in Brixton at 11 and were in bed by midnight and enjoyed lovely walks through the park to South Kensington and the museums. Breakfast was substantial with something for everyone, all in all an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Make sure it exists! Room at the back was very quiet even with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Its not dirty but i wouldnt say spotless. Old carpets, furniture, beds, matresses. TV ok. Breakfast is standard the dining room is very small, you get to meet people. Its not cheap but is London. The location is excellent close to 2 tube stations and many shops and restaurands 24hr.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was visited by us on two occasion during our UK Stay. The first time we stayed in a first floor room. The room decor was dated but comfortable and clean. The continential breakfast included in room price, presented down stairs in a cafeteria style which was crowded at times the food was plentiful and of reasonable quantity. The second visit was on the fourth floor in a newly decorated room with shiney brand new fittings which was bright clean and refreshing. However, we have brought to management attention over two separate days, issues with the automatic bathroom light that will not shut off, the hot and cold mixer tap has a minute tolerance between scalding and freezing but they did fixed the exhaust fan to work however it does not shut off either. On the second day we reported this, the maintenance man was at the front desk, he mumbled it was another mans floor to both us and the reception staff member and in fact he was rude and embarrassed the reception staff member. We feel that that whilst we were trying to do the right thing for future guests this man had no interest in providing guest service. On our return someone had been in the bathroom and the exhaust fan working nothing else had changed.Feel that management does not have full control of the renovation process or the checks are not being done adequately.

Room Tip: Ensure room given that all facilities are working
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly enough reception though with a non fluent English trainee who advised she would need to verify everything with her colleague.
Tired furnishings, holes in carpets, paint falling off walls and bad signage to get around. I am English and found it tricky so for international guests this is not straight forward.
Room was actually okay. Warm , actually too warm and was unable to change the heat temperature even though the gauge on the radiator was move able.
Bedding, sheets and cleanliness in the room was faultless, however do not get room 5 in the basement as you will be confronted with the mechanical sounds of the back of the elevator.
Breakfast was not as bad as others have put on here. Clean, hygenic and friendly staff but I would suggest get there for 7am , any later and I would think the scrum down commences. One crossiant and an orange juice was more than enough for my day ahead.
Cheap, basic, clean and functional. For a female travelling on business it was okay. Thats all. Price was very cheap so dont have any expectations and look at is as functional.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#286 of 1,069 in London
1,624 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#861 of 1,069 in London
2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#573 of 1,069 in London
692 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#359 of 1,069 in London
1,472 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#310 of 1,069 in London
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswater Inn

Property: Bayswater Inn
Address: 8-16 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #920 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Inn Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Bayswater, it was built in the 1900's and overlooks the picturesque views of Princes Gardens. The Hotel's location is also a stones throw away from Hyde Park. The Hotel's location borders some of London's most attractive vicinities to explore. Some of the top attractions in London are only moments away, this will be your ideal base to start your visit. The hotel is also minutes from Bayswater Tube station, Hyde Park, Notting Hill and Whiteley's shopping centre. Presenting over 140 bedrooms, which range from single to family rooms and arranged over six storey's, we strive to offer our guests the most comfortable and memorable experience that we hope your stay at the Bayswater Inn will exceed your expectations. Our recently refurbished lobby and Reception area, has stunning new marble floors and a stylish lounge adjacent to the modernized and transformed Reception desk. In addition, the contemporary Restaurant, serving breakfast every morning, has been superbly renovated to offer our guests a perfect setting overlooking the charming views of Princes Gardens, whilst indulging into our ample choice at the breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you to The Bayswater Inn Hotel and we wish you a very pleasant stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bayswater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswater Hotel London
Bayswater Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing