We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #477 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Nice folks in reception, excellent location (very close to the Tube station), good neighborhood (and you feel like you're in a neighborhood), terrific market on certain days of the week just a few steps away--although it is a bit dusty and the rooms (at least the one we had) can feel a bit cramped at times. No window in the bathroom, which also oddly housed a large but entirely useless closet which had no shelving or railing (although both would have been useful) and no washcloths with the toweling, which was a little sad. But good value for the money and a place I would return (hoping for a different and larger room).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I thank you for all of your feedback and would like to assure you that all guest comments, positive or not, are used to continuously improve the quality of service that we offer.

I sincerely hope that you will choose us again for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Our second or third stay in as many years and always pleased to return. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly; rooms are above average size for the class of hotel, and very well appointed with plenty of storage space, comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. The location is in a quiet, tree lined street with not a lot of passing traffic, making for a good, quiet night's sleep - something that not all London hotels can offer! Comfortable and quiet lounge and bar area. Very close to the busy Finchley Road, with shops, cinema, regular bus services to the West End, Hampstead, Camden Town, and very close to Swiss Cottage tube station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithShackleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having read previous reviews, I was expecting an average hotel experience. However, the hotel, its location, the accomodation and the staff made this a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

I had booked a singlr room, but for some reason I got a very large triple, with a big bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities were included. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean. Congratulations to the reception staff, who were very efficient, and to the croom cleaning staff, who were very friendly, and they performed a super job with a smile!

I will definitely be back the next time I am in London!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelPiraeus_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had a tiny single attic room with shower. It was clean but SO hot on one of our very rare HOT summer days this year! A fan would have been appreciated. Tea and coffee provided but I did not get breakfast. The room was quite big and could have had a small double or a three-quarters bed in it in order to make it less 'cell-like'! Decor was OK. The hotel is on a quiet residential street, so that was good, but some overhead plane noise could have been a problem. Lovely communal rooms - it would have been an Edwardian town-house at the turn of the 20thC. Very 'Upstairs, Downstairs'! Reception was fine and efficient but nothing special. I booked direct with the hotel and they were quite professional.

Room Tip: Avoid attic rooms if you are alone. Generally, rooms seemed quiet as it's on a residential stree...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyMargulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel but apologize if you found the room too hot, we do provide fans in most bedrooms and on a request basis if they are not present in the room, however I apologize if this was not made clear to you.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'd never been to this area of London before but booked this hotel as it was cheap and near the tube. I didn't realise how close! It's right next door to Swiss Cottage station, so ideal for getting to central London quickly, but it's on a sleepy residential street and is therefore nice and quiet. The service was excellent, the room spacious and clean and the bed comfy. The floors were a little creaky and thin, but it's an old building so that is to be expected. It is ideally-suited for a stroll up the hill to Hampstead or a ten-minute bus ride into Camden. All in all, a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We were tucked away on the ground floor in Room 1.08. Like having the hotel to ourselves!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arpster_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked this hotel "blind" - although generally, but not always, Best Western has a reliable standard. The exterior had scaffolding but when that is down, you will be able to see a lovely portico entrance into a small hall/reception area. Bar and lounge area delightful, with friezes and ceiling roses intact thank heavens - very much decorated to the period of the house. The breakfast room is downstairs - and the breakfast was excellent. This hotel does not do lunch or dinner (limited room service/bar menu) but as there are so many good eating places nearby, this is not a problem. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfortable, again beautifully decorated, (shower room small but quite adequate) and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean with a very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neann2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, your great comments have been noted and I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I sincerely hope that you will choose us again for a stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here with several others attending a wedding in Kent and ending with their stay in the London area. Very comfortable rooms with plenty of Old English charm and character! Ideally located close to the tube and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesofblue44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the character of the building and location and do hope that you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#606 of 1,072 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
0.5 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#630 of 1,072 in London
668 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#791 of 1,072 in London
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £78 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing