We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jubilee line gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #508 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Jubilee line gem”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were here for a week in mid-November and REALLY appreciated being able to dash from the subway to the hotel in bad weather. In that very short span of real estate you pass a sushi place, two theatres, and a daily outdoor market. Being on the Jubilee line, the combination of value and location is hard to beat in London (very easy to get to all touristy attractions). In addition, there is a laundromat less than a ten minute walk up Eaton Street.

Our room and bathroom were ridiculously spacious for London, we had an entire wall of windows that opened fully, and were happy with the cleaning services. While it was never an issue for us, we did hear people in other rooms talking at normal conversational levels. Also, the bed was quite hard; again, this wasn't an issue for us but it you are used to soft bedding then you might be disappointed.

We never made use of the in-house breakfast but found a Pret A Manger (a favourite of ours for breakfast) at the next subway station south (St. John's Wood), where there are also other shops and a few restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and do hope that you will return for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    273
    145
    64
    40
See reviews for
141
211
68
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Booked into this hotel at short notice as my normal hotel in the area was fully booked. Oh dear!
I had a single room and it was poor - not clean enough and the bathroom was tiny. The net curtains and blind in the bathroom were filthy which sets the tone.
Would've been 1 star had it not been for the good English breakfast.
Poor for a Best Western & not value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MatONtheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read some of your comments, rest assured this is not the usual standard and I will be addressing these issues with the relevant staff.

I appreciate you bringing certain matters to my attention.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A very old hotel with beautiful banistered stairwells & a nice collection of vintage artworks adorning the walls....complete with squeeking floorboards. Easy 150m walk to Swiss Cottage Tube. Rooms not too claustrophobic like others in London. Not much in the way of good restaurants in walking distance, but the Green Cottage Chinese on Finchley Road is up there with the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Dennis & Lynett... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel and do hope that you will choose us again for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

If you're looking for rock and roll then you're probably not looking at Swiss Cottage anyway.
This place is genteel, a little too quiet for my liking, but the hotel team seem good, and my room (203) is very big for London, and most comfortable.

Room Tip: I've only tried 203, but the whole place is away from main roads and wonderfully quiet for Lond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myntea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you will return for a future visit.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I do have a preference for the older hotel with a little character and this one fits the bill. The room was spacious for a Victorian style building and the bed was comfortable. A couple of downsides; The room smelt musty as if the carpet had not been dried properly, a congealed tray outside my door when I arrived at 5pm was not removed until the morning and no restaraunt meant a walk to the main street. Lounge area was nicely furnished and quiet enough to do some work. I noted during breakfast that were several guests that used the hotel regularly and I too (if the price stayed as competitive) would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Creaky floors on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the character and style of the hotel and that you would return.

I apologize for any issues encountered during your stay and appreciate the feedback.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed two nights for a working visit to London. I'd stayed there many years ago for the same reason and remember finding it very basic. It's had a good-quality redecoration since then although it's still an old building which creeks a bit in the upper floors, which didn't bother me. The staff were friendly and polite. I didn't have the chance to have breakfast or try the bar, but I got the feeling there's not much night-life here anyway. No dinner options although they happily encourage you to order takeaway, and there are plenty of places to eat round about. As other reviewers have said, its location is its greatest quality. After that, if you're just looking for a place to sleep rather than a hotel that adds to the experience of your visit, there's nothing wrong with this place at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had noticed our redecoration since your last stay which is ongoing. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the location which, although quiet, has an abundance of restaurants and pubs near-by.

I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here recently for a business trip. Great location in a nice part of town. Only a couple of yards to the underground. The room was a bit too hot and the bathroom stank pretty bad, but as we were only on a brief overnighter, we didn't mind too much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I have noted your other comments and we will endeavor to rectify these issues.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Langorf Hotel
#613 of 1,069 in London
663 reviews
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#609 of 1,069 in London
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#772 of 1,069 in London
973 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Property: Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing