We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel near Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #458 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 April 2014

An ideal bolt hole, steps away from the Tube and several bus routes. No restaurant for dinner, but London has many within a few minutes. The area seemed to be safe so it was not a problem arriving late at night. The hotel's floorboards creaked which might be a problem is someone was walking around in the room above. All in all, we'll be back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you will be returning for a future stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed here on three occasions now and have found the service to be excellent, making us very welcome. Although the hotel does not serve evening meals it is well located adjacent to Swiss Cottage tube for easy access into more central areas and has an excellent restaurant just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you are a returning guest and that you enjoy the service and location of the hotel.

I do hope that you will choose us again for a London stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I gave it an average rating based on the location. I paid for my room prior to my arrival but they made no effort to allow me to check in early. The room I slept in during my first night had no heat. The décor and furniture did not appear to have been updated since the 1960s. The 'gentlemen' who worked at the front desk were rude and seemed totally unaware of the meaning of customer service. Swiss Cottage advertises free water at this location -- it's in the basement but you have to locate someone to get if for you if you want it after regular business hours. I have never stayed in a Best Western before -- I expected so much more from an international chain. I never plan to use this chain again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PreferMarriott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your stay. If you would like to discuss the points raised in your review further, please do not hesitate to contact me via telephone.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel has a great location, one block from the underground station, is charming and comfortable. The rooms are spacious, but the elevator is the smallest I've seen in the UK, the kind you might find in small places in Paris. The bar is not staffed, so if you would like a drink in that very pleasant environment, you need to ask someone from the reception to leave their post and serve you. That might not be a problem, but if there are guests at reception requiring other services, then service at the bar is put on hold and that might take 15 minutes or more. This is a pity.
There is one big problem with the hotel, however, and that is its internet connection. We've stayed there twice and the problem has not changed: the connection breaks down every 15 minutes or so, we call the reception, they re-set it after 5 minutes, and then it breaks down again. This was repeated endlessly throughout our 4-day stay, on two occasions. If they fix this, probably by changing the equipment they have, or getting a better provider, we will gladly come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandoLanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the charm of the hotel.

I do apologize if you had any problems logging onto the WIFI at the hotel, I have not had any other reports of problems regarding this but I will investigate.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here whilst my husband was very poorly in the Royal Free Hospital and I have to say that the service I received was second to none - first class people on reception, (a huge thank you to them!) room very comfortable and spacious, central to so many London bus and tube routes to take you anywhere you want to go, would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I stayed in three rooms on separate occasions and all were very good. Excellent nights sleep in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniemarie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to my staff and do hope that you will choose us again for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Well placed with lots to do nearby with an easy tube journey into the city. Hot water issues and tardy room service, but on the whole a lovely hotel and good value for money. Note no lift to fourth floor. I would however recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found it value for money. I do also apologize for any hot water issues that you mentioned you experienced.

I do hope that you will choose us again for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
The Langorf Hotel
#648 of 1,081 in London
671 reviews
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#600 of 1,081 in London
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing