We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for what we wanted"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #501 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Adequate for what we wanted"”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked this via friend as we wanted somewhere with good Travel links to the O2. A 25 minute tube journey dropped us right on the doorstep. Swiss Cottage tube station is less than a five minute walk from the hotel.
Hotel itself is a little tired but it's set in a quiet area and a very warm night saw us turn in with windows open and we had an undisturbed nights sleep.
Room was a nice big room with double and two singles tea making facilities etc.
No restaurant as such but you can get lunchtime snacks and not much of a bar. But it served its purpose as a comfy bed for a couple of nights. I would use this place again as its away from the hustle and bustle of Central London

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and peacefulness of the area and do hope that you will return for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    277
    147
    63
    40
See reviews for
142
214
68
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed over night in this very tired, a little grumpy in places hotel. The location for me was great, close to the tube and three stops into town, or a brisk walk to Primrose Hill. It's a shame Great Western won't invest. The room plenty big enough, lumpy bed, dirty windows, dirty cup, kettle not good so couldn't make a drinkable coffee, shower was a mixer tap and quite noisy. The breakfast was ok. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. This cost me £160 for one night, outrageous.

Room Tip: Yes, stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35mark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us entirely, If you would like to discuss the points raised in your review further, please do not hesitate to contact me via telephone.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our experience with this hotel was very pleasant. The service was minimal but quite good whenever we needed it. The building and some of the furniture is pretty old and creaky in parts but that's not unusual at all in Europe. It was very clean and well kept. We had a delux room on the 4th floor that was large and airy and very comfortable. The neighborhood is mostly very quiet and the hotel is less than a block from the Swiss Cottage tube station and Finchley Road busses. The breakfast was very basic but good and there's a tiny but really pleasant bar on the main floor. By London standards, I would say this is a decent value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms are much bigger and have large windows that open. They are a little more but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you will choose us again for a future visit.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for two nights. Centrally located near swiss cottage tube station. We had a lovely spacious room on second floor. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. All staff very friendly apart from one chambermaid who couldn't even be bothered to acknowledge us even though I said good morning. Check out was ok but they really do need to sort out there credit card connection as took ages before it would connect. However a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had a largely pleasent stay. I do apologise if you found the member of Housekeeping unfriendly, I will be addressing this with the Housekeeping department.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you will return for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I wrote a very critical review of this hotel in July 2013.

Because of its very convenient position for my weekend course I stayed there again, this time with my wife. I booked a "superior twin" room on the first floor. I had decided to stay a day more than my original booking and I found the reception staff most helpful in arranging this, enabling us to remain in the same room.

The room itself was large and with a good sized bay window overlooking the street behind the hotel which apart from a small disturbance in the street at around 4.00 a.m. on the Saturday night was very quiet. The bathroom was clean with an ample supply of water to both bath and shower. The twin beds were large and comfortable with bedside lights adequate to read by - an often neglected point in hotel rooms. We don't all read off backlit screens!

As I mentioned before, there is no restaurant, just a breakfast room where the service and food were excellent. My only gripe was that it was not available before 8.00 a.m.

The bar appeared little used, a pity as the lounge is an elegant, comfortable room with some "old masters" on the wall. The selection of drinks was perhaps a little limited.

All in all, this felt like a different hotel to the one I stayed at the previous year.

Room Tip: It might still be wise to avoid the top floor rooms in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluterCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay.

I was very pleased to read that you decided to return and enjoyed your stay this time. It is very encouraging to read that where we perhaps fell short during your last stay, you can see an improvement.

Thank you again for your feedback, which I will be passing on to the relevant departments.

I do hope that you will return soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is centrally located very near the swiss cottage underground and it has it`s own parking space for your car.
It`s in a victorian building and there are a lot of corridors to walk untill you`v reached your room.
The rooms are small and have very little cupboard space, but the are clean with fresh bedlinnen and newly refurbished shower & toilet.
The breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Most rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RANI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and found the hotel and linen to be clean.

I do hope that you will return for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here on 28-29 May because the usual hotel that I use when I'm on business in London was full. First the positives - it's easy to find from the Tube and the decor and rooms (including the furniture are all original and individual - possibly from it having been a large Georgian house in the day and pretty large rooms for London. The bathroom was also well maintained large and modern and the WIFI worked very well and was easy to connect to.

The downsides are that it has no air conditioning which means that the rooms are very hot and sticky in the Summer/late Spring and the restaurant in the cellar even more so - so I couldn't enjoy my breakfast and overnight had to leave all of the windows open (which meant there was quite a lot of noise from the street outside, so I didn't sleep well). The lift also didn't work, which wasn't a problem for me, but if I'd been elderly or disabled it would have been.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and style of the hotel but do apologise if you found the temperature of your bedroom and the breakfast room too hot.

I do hope that you will choose us again for a future stay and I thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#599 of 1,069 in London
204 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#619 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#802 of 1,069 in London
983 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Property: Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing