We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some nice features but a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #490 of 1,089 Hotels in London
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Some nice features but a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Best Western took over this historic hotel some years ago and has not changed it too much. The hotel is located in a large Victorian terraced building and has some pleasant period features; the lounge and bar area are quite attractive. Transportation options are good, with Swiss Cottage Underground station just 3 minutes' walk away and many buses on Finchley Road. Our family room was large and had everything we needed, but the decor was a bit neglected: some wallpaper was ripped and needed replacing. Still, we had a good nights' sleep, everything was clean and well organized. We booked the B&B option, which is not much more expensive than a room with no breakfast, and it became obvious why this is when we went down to the dining room. The included breakfast is very basic, with lousy coffee -- basically they are hoping you'll order a cooked breakfast for extra money when you see the scant offerings. Next time I'd skip the breakfast here and go to one of the local cafés, which are fairly abundant in Swiss Cottage.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet road, so most rooms will be quiet. Be warned that the elevator is tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the character of the building and the location. I do apologise for the things that we didn't get quite right, we are taking your feedback on board.

I do hope that you hope that you will return for a future stay, thank you once again for your valued comments.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    259
    136
    61
    38
See reviews for
132
196
66
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The room was dated but clean. Free tea and coffee and biscuits in the room which was a nice touch. Quiet location and easy access to the tube. Hotel needs updating in the rooms, but fair price for the city with easy links via the tube to all areas of London.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank topcatcunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel clean and the location quiet and convenient.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights.......decor is clean and period Victorian in style. Staff friendly and approachable. Right beside Swiss Cottage tube and busy Finchley Rd with all its shops. Close to Regents Park. One tube stop from St Johns Wood and Abbey Road!
We had board only therefore can't comment on food.
We did come in one night and thought we would have a nightcap in the bar. Wasn't sign posted and we had a quick look but in the end.......went upstairs!

Room Tip: There is no air con but a fan is in the room. We didn't need it! Tea & coffee facilities, tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruitloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean and our staff friendly and approachable. I do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have stayed here on several occasions and found it to be very comfortable and the staff very helpful. The hotel is a short tube ride from all the main attractions but the price reflects that too!.

Breakfast Isn't the best I've had but okay. You might want to consider buying breakfast out.

I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you find the hotel comfortable and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and overall it was really quite good. Booked a superior double and when we arrived was pleased to find the room was clean, tidy and quite spacious. However the next morning we found that there was no hot water from the shower and what water there was could only be described as tepid at best. I thought I'd give it the benefit of the doubt and decided not to mention it but would see if the same happened the next day. Unfortunately it was exactly the same the following day so this was disappointing. I mentioned it to the chap at reception when we checked out and while he made a note of it, he didn't seem overly concerned so I'm not sure anything will be done about it! However, that was my only complaint. Overall the stay was good, a great location for visiting the sights of London and I think in view of the reasonable price, I would be quite happy to stay there again (just please sort the hot water Best Western)!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffcowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that over all you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise for any problems you experienced with regards to hot water, a note of your comments has been made.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, great location and a great price. Location was perfect for us, only a couple of stops away from the hustle and bustle of Baker St and you were in the slightly more suburban normality of Swiss Cottage and St. John's Wood.
Near the hotel we found some great places to eat and there was a farmers market on the day we left so we managed to stock up on great food for our journey home.
The hotel was clean, friendly staff, a wonderful quirky decor. But the location was by and far the main USP for us on this trip.
Room was big, comfy beds, clean and quiet

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giselle122, Manager at BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location.

I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.5 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#503 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
#792 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
Address: 4 Adamson Rd | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing